Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collector's item.
I found this album in a used CD store many years after its release and was shocked at how good it still sounds. Fuggedabout the lyrically bankrupt emcees you see atop the Billboard 100--Dray and Skoob pioneered the streetcorner, tag team, battle-rhyme style and clearly had a profound influence on cats like Meth and Redman.
My personal favoites on this album are...
Published on February 8, 2000 by L.C.

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS BEWARE!!!!
I just ordered this cd from Amazon and it is edited! WHAT THE HELL? Why did I not get the original unedited version? I'M PISSED!
Published on April 25, 2008 by J. McCoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collector's item., February 8, 2000
By 
L.C. (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
I found this album in a used CD store many years after its release and was shocked at how good it still sounds. Fuggedabout the lyrically bankrupt emcees you see atop the Billboard 100--Dray and Skoob pioneered the streetcorner, tag team, battle-rhyme style and clearly had a profound influence on cats like Meth and Redman.
My personal favoites on this album are "Check it Out and "Baknaffek"; songs in which Das Efx's creativity is magnified by their high-octane delivery. And songs like "Kaught in Da Ak" display their storytelling ability--something that was overlooked during their heyday. These are not your average emcees rhyming the last syllable of each sentence as they talk about money, women and guns. Instead, this is a collection of sreet ciphers of the highest caliber created back when hip hop was... (you fill in the blank).
Also worth mentioning are the production skills of Solid Scheme (Chris Charity and Derek Lynch). Expert sampling of hip hop classics, some skillful scratching and funky beats complement the two emcees by creating a sonic landscape that's as grimy as the tracks of the 1 and 9 train lines that bisect the Bronx. Cop this joint ... and treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of das efx, March 13, 2005
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
I loved dead serious and was expecting something different to this before I heard it. Hip hop was large in '93, and there was so much stuff out. Then this dropped and it was the definition of heavily rippin sh#t on the mic over some mad beats, it was all fun and nothing too serious like hip hop should be. They made some good witty and funny lyrics flow with humour and just general reference metaphores that were light and worked perfect with the tracks. The production was highest grade with perfect mixing and mastering. I think most of the tracks except 3 were tight over and over again. And 'check it out' was heating my amp and damaging my speakers when I first heard that beat. Altogether I would say it was definately a classic album and one worth getting. I liked das efx more until just after their 2000 album where I felt they were not that raw anymore and had lost a lot of what I liked about their style. But anyways, for now If you are thinking of getting this or buying some real hip hop classics. Make sure you get this album. Hope I helped. Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sewer Music (4 Stars), January 22, 2005
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
Das Efx made the world wait 2 years for their follow LP after dropping Dead Serious in '91. Skoob and Crazy Drayz were two of the illest around at that time and their absence was very apparent. I remember watching The Box (or Video Jukebox back then) and seeing the video for "Baknaffek". Again, I ran out to the store and copped the album with no questions asked. Dray was the first MC that I ever wanted to be like. He had skills, he had presence, and he was confident. Basically, he was everything I wanted to be as an MC at the time and I imitated his every move. Straight Up Sewaside was definitely worth the wait even though it was largely ignored due to lack of promotion and the fact that they were going through the break up of the EPMD - led Hit Squad (EPMD, K Solo, Redman, and Das). What people will notice most about this album is that Das Efx decided to drop the "iggity" from their rhyme scheme. But after 2 years of people blatantly biting their style, can you blame them? This album is what good rap music is supposed to sound like: two ill MCs spittin' over hot beats. There's no fluff, no getting jiggy, no B.S., just two cats gettin' busy on the mic. People talk about how Dead Serious is their best album, but I think this album is just as good (hell, maybe better). Honestly, there's LESS filler on this album than the first album. If you think about it, the same things being said about their 1st album all apply here too. "Freakit" and "Baknaffek" are classics. Hands down. "Kaught In Da Ak" is pretty good story telling from these two, and "Gimme Dat Microphone" takes you back to their Dead Serious album. Even the interlude and interview were on point. All of the production is handled by the duo Solid Scheme (Chris Charity and Derek Lynch).

If you want to find some dark areas on this album, you'll have trouble, but there are a few things. For the most part, there are no bad songs. But there are songs on this album that drag and are somewhat skippable like: "Check It Out", "It'z Lik Dat", and "Host Wit Da Most (Rappaz Remix)"

Overall, this album is dope. Think about it, what other rap artists or group do you know of that changed their style and their production team on their second album and still manage to make an album just as good (if not better than) their first banger? I'd highly reccomend this album to anyone.

Standout Tracks: Rappaz, Gimme Dat Microphone, Kaught In Da Ak, Freakit, Krazy Wit Da Books, Baknaffek (My Favorite), and Wontu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST DAS!, January 25, 2005
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
This was a classic Das-EFX release. Almost every track was a hit, not like their debut. This group is still making music, just got to look in the sewa! (HIT SQUAD IS THE S**T)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Straight Up Classic, November 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
To me this Cd represents every thing great Hip hop should be about. Two hungry MCs that weren't about the bling, or having 20 million guests, or fakin' the funk, but had great chemistry and whose word play was of the first order. Also this CD kicks up their previous release Dead Serious. For one I couldn't stand that Wigedy, Wigedy nonsense, which, due to every one & their dog biting their style, they dropped. Also mad props should go to Solid Scheme for their great underground grimy production. When I listen to this I remember why I feel in love with Hip Hop in the first place.
My top toons on here are: The Glorious 'Freakit', 'Baknaffek','its Lik Dat', 'Host Wit Da Most (Rappaz Remix),'Check It Out' and 'Undaground Rappa'. RUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in Hip-Hop Music, November 9, 1999
By 
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
This is a must-have for those of you who collect definitive works of rap music. These two artists established themselves in the hip-hop arena as bonafide lyricists with this album. Das Efx are the original innovators of the "diggity das, no diggity" sewer style, commonly copied by other rappers. These guys are about throwing tight lyrics over basic hard beats. Even though this album came out in '94, it still holds its own in the rap music of today. Ask your friends who listen to true hip-hop, and they will mention Das Efx. These two rappers are among the likes of hip-hop gurus KRS-ONE, Public Enemy, De La Soul, Jungle Brothers, Ice Cube, and A Tribe Called Quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Abxoloot" true meaning of skill with A-plus beats, May 21, 2000
By 
abx (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
Straight up the sewerside is Das EFX's best album. I don't know what Entertainment weekly is talking about! How many albums have you heard where every verse and beat on the tape is hot(Won tu)? The only thing that could make it better is if they actually rapped off the "Interview" beat (what a miss oppotunity!)instead of just talking. I own tons of rap music, but I still haven't heard anything that can touch this(honestly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge fan, April 10, 2000
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of das efx for about a year now. I first heard them in a skateboard video and went right out and bought Dead Serios. Straight up Sewaside is the second best album out by them. There will never be another Duo that can even compare to these two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, January 28, 2006
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favorites. Grimy production and great lyrics highlight this overlooked release. A definite classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'Dead Serious', March 29, 2005
This review is from: Straight Up Sewaside (Audio CD)
Yeah it is better, even though 'dead serious' is a dope album this is just better, released in 93, dre and skoob make another sick album. the beats are by pmd and sound a bit like the beats on redman's 'whut thee album' the standout tracks are 'undeground rappa' 'kaught in da ak' 'krazy with the books' 'check it out' buy it now

KrayZ187
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Straight Up Sewaside
Straight Up Sewaside by Das EFX (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.