Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent prints on these flicks.
Both of these movies were released by columbia in 1979 and 1980 respectively. And they look fantastic! Columbia kept great prints of these two because they are not filled with lines and specks! That's saying alot for two vintage films this old! both films played at theatres accross the country and were not drive in superlow budget flicks at all. These were offerings from...
Published 23 months ago by Michael Dobey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Babysitter's worst day
It's great to finally have "When a Stranger Calls" on Blu-Ray. This would have been a better double feature if it had included the sequel to this film "When a Stranger Calls Back" instead of "Happy Birthday To Me". Hence the 3 star rating.
Published 9 months ago by R. Hanley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent prints on these flicks., January 18, 2013
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Both of these movies were released by columbia in 1979 and 1980 respectively. And they look fantastic! Columbia kept great prints of these two because they are not filled with lines and specks! That's saying alot for two vintage films this old! both films played at theatres accross the country and were not drive in superlow budget flicks at all. These were offerings from a major studio during that era. Many much bigger hit movies from this era don't look as good as these two do on this blu ray. Both movies did pretty well at the boxoffice and they both influenced movies that came after them, including scream and other slasher flicks. There are fine actors in these movies too , because like I said these were big studio affairs and not made by some small company. Glenn ford , charles durning and carol kane are among the a listers in these efforts. Horror fans should be grateful that we get these two movies in such fine shape here. It could have easily been a disaster with scratched up prints. Instead we get two good horror movies from columbia studios and they just shine here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent transfers for both movies, March 14, 2013
By 
nolaboy2003 (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I picked up this set from wal-mart for $5.00. I mainly got this to replace my "Happy Birthday To Me" 2009 DVD release with original score. Almost didn't get this set, because it has the artwork from the 2004 disc set with cheezy disco score replacing the original score. I thought it would not have the original theatrical score, but it absolutely does. The blu-ray transfer is much nicer than even the 2009 DVD edition, and having When A Stranger Calls is a nice bonus as well. These do have captions which is a must for me as well. Great set all around. Just wish it had the original artwork for Happy Birthday To Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Birthday To Me fans will be happy!, January 16, 2013
By 
Lee McCoy (Medical Lake, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First off, this title is actually available now at Wal-mart. Anyway, on to the review.

I watched both films today and I must say the transfer is really good for 2 movies that are over 30 years old. They are both on 1 disc btw. I have never seen either movie.

Now I've seen the remake of When A Stranger Calls and it is a much better paced film imo. They chose to keep the killer more of a mystery and kept the story around the single night of babysitting. The original covers that night in the first 30 minutes of the movie, then we are carried 7 years in the future for a lot of unneeded exposition. The last 10 minutes truly save the picture imo.

I actually enjoyed Happy Birthday To Me quite well. The acting is really bad, I must say, but the multiple twists (yes, multiple) really keep you on your toes. The Scream franchise really owes a debt to this film. I was reading up on the history of the home video release, and fans will be happy to know that the ORIGINAL SCORE IS IN TACT FOR THIS BD RELEASE.

Definitely a worthy buy for any slasher horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Babysitter's worst day, March 28, 2014
By 
R. Hanley (Chandler, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's great to finally have "When a Stranger Calls" on Blu-Ray. This would have been a better double feature if it had included the sequel to this film "When a Stranger Calls Back" instead of "Happy Birthday To Me". Hence the 3 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific quality...what is it about Mill Creek?, July 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This isn't the first Mill Creek BD I've purchased, and so far either I've been lucky or they really do care about what they do (take notes, Echo Bridge). The only place this seems like a budget disc is in the cover art, which leaves a little to be desired; the movies themselves look and sound very good ('When a Stranger Calls' especially). No attempts to smear out the film grain or otherwise mess with these older, low-budget productions--they're simply good prints, very well transferred. Both movies share one disc, but don't suffer from heavy compression or other signs of cost-cutting. That you can get this kind of quality for about $3 a movie is unbelievable!

The soundtracks are 5.1 (for 'Happy Birthday to Me') and 2.0 (for 'When a Stranger Calls'). Both of these movies were originally mono if I'm not mistaken. These stereo/surround mixes sound kind of like they went back to the stereo recordings of the music, and just added them to the mono dialogue/effects of the movies. I'm not complaining; the levels are spot on and these aren't the kinds of mixes where the clearer-sounding music drowns everything else out.

And yes, 'Happy Birthday to Me' is presented with the original score, NOT the apparent temp track that ended up on Sony's earlier DVD. Yay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two well-made thrillers...., May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I originally saw When a Stranger Calls in a movie theater when it first came out. I had forgotten what a classy suspense movie this is. I am not an expert in Blu-ray transfers but from what I observe this is very good for a vintage movie. The colors are rich and detail is sharp. It looks excellent, take my word for it. This also has a really superb music score by Dana Kaproff that has inspired me to seek out a copy of the soundtrack. I recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror/suspense type movies.
I had not seen Happy Birthday to Me, but again it looks to be a fine transfer. This one has a bit more blood in it than When a Stranger Calls, but still is another worthy addition to the horror thriller genre. And again, a very good music score which I don't believe has been released in any form. I understand that earlier video releases of this movie used a different but unpopular music score. There is also a nice rendition of the song "Happy Birthday to Me" sung at the end of the movie (during the credits) by Syreeta.
I recommend both of these movies and especially at the very reasonable price at which they are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Double Feature Buy, November 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was seeking "Happy Birthday to Me" and found this double feature as a better value. The movies are presented in widescreen and are fresh, sharp images. "Happy Birthday to Me" starring Melissa Sue Anderson (from Little House on the Prarie fame) remained my favorite with some good story twists. Not an excellent movie but a good throwback to yesteryear. "When a Stranger Calls" was overall good but the story did become slow in the middle. I had not seem this version before.... only sequels/remakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad For The Price!, April 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For those of you who enjoy early 80s horror/thriller and/or collect these types of films, this one is for you! Two films for a very low price! Happy Birthday to Me - 80s slasher film, and When a Stranger Calls - Suspense/Thriller/Horror. The Video quality for 20+ year films is outstanding! Both these films were not considered big budget films, so to have a movie this old with spectacular video quality is a plus. While both films story-line's have been copied over and over again, its really a great deal for the price! The only reason and is a very big reason I did not give it 5 stars is because its a great price - there are NO EXTRAS. Not even a trailer! Common now, you can find one on Youtube, its not like the distributors would have to find it or anything! All in all, for barely $10 dollars you get two "decent" films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two good movies, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Both movies were good. The second time I saw When a Stranger Calls, I enjoyed it even more. Carol Kane from Taxi is in it. And Happy Birthday to Me has Melissa Sue Anderson ( Mary from Little House on the Prairie ) in it. Which , As far as I know , Is the only horror film she did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Please release these two movies separately, June 20, 2014
This review is from: When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love these two movies, but Double Feature stuffs never have the artistic value that I always treasure . If the bluray is released alone , the front cover and poster design is simply truth to it's own, that's what a movie fanatic truly wants. Really hate to see so many great movies published directly into Double Feature because the producer company fear that publishing them alone won't gain profit.
I , myself , the biggest fan of HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME will be so happy to see this movie be released in it's bluray edition, I really would like to own it just to itself, not a Double Feature .
The other good movies such as KILLING ME SOFTLY and THE HOT SPOT will be a great delight if they could release individually in bluray , not Double Feature which is now on the market .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

When a Stranger Calls / Happy Birthday to Me (Double Feature) [Blu-ray]
$9.98 $5.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.