Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This time they got it right!
Stranger In Town is one of Bob Seger's all time best studio albums. But anyone will tell you that, and the proof is in the music: superb songs like "Hollywood Nights", "Feel Like A Number", and "The Famous Final Scene", as well as the perenially popular "Old Time Rock & Roll".
So how is the remastering? Wasn't the...
Published on September 25, 2001 by doublehighc

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bob Seger - Coquers The World
Seger had hit the big time with his previous two albums, "Live Bullet" and "Night Moves". He was now a huge rock n roll star who could fill arenas from coast to coast. The pressure was on for more hits and with "Stranger In Town" Seger delivered the goods. Many tracks from this album were (and still are) all over AOR / Classic Rock radio. "Hollywood Nights", "Still...
Published on March 15, 2011 by Steven Sly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This time they got it right!, September 25, 2001
By 
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
Stranger In Town is one of Bob Seger's all time best studio albums. But anyone will tell you that, and the proof is in the music: superb songs like "Hollywood Nights", "Feel Like A Number", and "The Famous Final Scene", as well as the perenially popular "Old Time Rock & Roll".
So how is the remastering? Wasn't the remastering of Live Bullet a disappointment? Yes, but there is a different team in place here. Robert Vosgien has done a superb job on this remastering, and the packaging includes the insert photos that were missing from the original release.
What you get in this release that was missing in the original CD are nuances and inflections - lots of them. Listen to all the things Bob does with the lyrics to "Brave Strangers". Hear the remarkable hi-hat work of Dave Teegarden in "Hollywood Nights." Delight in the resonance of the acoustic guitar strings on "Still The Same."
Yes, there is some tape hiss, but that is a good thing. This is the type of album where removing all the hiss would remove much of the music along with it. Thank goodness that mistake has been avoided here.
What we have is a classic rock album, in all senses of those words, restored to all its magnificent glory. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Album........, March 24, 2002
By 
Jon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
If I were to compile my Top 100 all-time favourite albums, then this Bob Seger effort would definitely appear in the upper echelons of that chart. Sadly, Bob Seger never received the recognition he deserved for this, or any other album he released in the UK, so chances are most people don't know much about the man who was running head-to-head (Stateside) in the popularity stakes with Bruce Springsteen in his pre-"Born In The USA" days.
If people compared Seger to Springsteen, "Stranger In Town" likened Seger to the Eagles. The music on this CD was maybe not as 'country rock' as the latter was better known for, but it's certainly similar in style and in mood - qualities that saw Seger guest appear with the Eagles on tour in the 70s. In other words, "Stranger In Town" typifies the musical genre known as 'middle of the road'.
Quite remarkably for a studio album - and I don't normally say this except for a 'greatest hits' collection - there aren't any substandard tracks on this CD. It's a rather short album, but the nine songs featured have stood well against the test of time - and are all bona-fide 'classics' on your favourite 'easy listening' radio station.
'Hollywood Nights' kicks off the CD - a track taken from the same musical mould that produced The Eagles' 'Life In The Fast Lane' - a tale of living the high life in 70s California. Other upbeat radio-friendly rock tracks follow with (the classic) 'Old Time Rock And Roll', 'Feels Like A Number' (another Eagles-like song) and 'Ain't Got No Money'.
But it's the ballads that really make this album. 'Still The Same', 'Till It Shines' and 'Brave Strangers' were all destined to elevate Bob Seger into the mainstream. However, there's two tracks that should've elevated Seger into superstardom. 'We've Got Tonight' - probably the best known song on the CD - is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful ballads I've ever had the pleasure to listen to. With all it's heart-wrenching emotion, sung and performed to such perfection, it seems almost blasphemous to listen to any of the countless - and let me say, inferior cover versions that have been recorded over the years.
My own personal favourite track on "Stranger In Town" is the one used to end the album. 'The Famous Final Scene' - a song about the end of a relationship - ranks alongside Meat Loaf's 'For Crying Out Loud' as one of the most thought-provoking ballads that will tug at the heart-strings of even the most cold-hearted person on the planet. And the last few seconds of the song are guaranteed to send a shiver down your spine!
The Eagles had their "Hotel California", Springsteen had his "Born To Run". For Bob Seger, his definitive studio album was "Stranger In Town". Forget about his 'Greatest Hits' CD - a collection that didn't do the man justice - if you want to hear the real talent behind this criminally ignored artist, then this is the album you need to buy. I promise you won't regret it.
Jon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome, Stranger, November 29, 2000
By 
Eric V. Moye (New York, by way of Dallas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
You just cannot have a full collection of rock & roll without this early offering from one of the last great rockers. He was doing (here, and elsewhere) what some call 'blue collar rock' before The Boss made so wildly popular.
This album is a killer. "Still The Same", "Famous Final Scene" are harbingers of his potential. His rendition of "We've Got Tonight" is a sweet song of seduction. The masterpiece, however, is "Hollywood Nights" which may be one of the greatest hard driving pure unadulterated rock & roll songs ever laid down. Play this in the car, and get another 10 m.p.h out of any vehicle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bob is no "Stranger", November 1, 2001
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
Bob Seger followed up his classic breakthough 1976 album "Night Moves" with the solid "Stranger in Town," which solidified his position as the best blue collar American rock and roller not named Bruce Springsteen. A number of these songs have become classic rock staples, particularly the anthemic "Old Time Rock and Roll," "Hollywood Nights," "Still the Same," and the ballad "We've Got Tonight." First rate album cuts also include the rocking "Feel Like a Number," "Ain't Got No Money" and another good ballad in "The Famous Final Scene." Though it is a bit more polished (and therefore not a powerful) as "Night Moves," "Stranger in Town" is still a first rate album that will be enjoyed by any classic rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Rock, December 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
This album deserves 5 stars for Hollywood Nights alone, IMO the best rock song of the past 30 years. Seger could sing circles around Springsteen and his lyrics had a wonderful sincerity. Feel Like A Number is one of the best songs about the anonymity of modern life ever written. True working class rock. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is some great music, May 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
I give this 4 and half stars, I had this as a 8 track in 1978 , loved listening to it in my car then with the music playing loud as I could get it, from Old time Rock and roll to the famous final scene, beautifull music which I think deserves more attention that it seems to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a stranger, this is one of Bob's best, August 1, 2000
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
While "Night Moves" might get the edge as Bob Seger's best album, "Stranger in Town" might actually be a more consistent collection of songs. From the opening classic of heartbreak in La-La land "Hollywood Nights," to the superb breakup ode that closes the album "The Famous Final Scene," there is not a bad song in the mix. Other classic Seger performances here include the overplayed "Old Time Rock and Roll," and the excellent ballads "Still the Same" and "We've Got Tonight." Bob also rocks on "Feel Like a Number" and "Ain't Got No Money." This is an excellent album that deserves to be in any classic rock fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold Mine, April 22, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
Seger combines intelligent lyrics with great rock and this may be his best work. There are lots of hits here, including "Old Time Rock 'n Roll", "Still the Same", "Hollywood Nights". As much money as those songs made Seger, however, the best songs are lesser known. "Feel Like A Number" is outstanding and in the car w/the stereo blasting it's a rock and roll experience everyone should enjoy at least once. "Till It Shines" is wonderful and "The Famous Final Scene" may be the best song ever written about a good relationship that is ending. Bittersweet and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detroit Rock & Roll's Woody Guthrie, June 10, 2002
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
This is the album where Bob Seger, as Bob Dylan once did, brought it all back home: the blue collar angst of a changing American economy, and the desolation of seperating from old, traditional values. Seger had made "Night Moves" before he was a success. "Stranger In Town" was made by someone who, after striving for years to attain fame, isn't sure if he can handle it.
My favorite songs here are ones that haven't been played to death on the radio: "Feel Like A Number" is just as timely in 2002 as it was in 1978, and "The Famous Final Scene" still speaks volumes about the self-generated drama of a romatic breakdown.
In the liner notes for "Bob Seger's Greatest Hits," it's interesting to note that the songs from this album still bring back strong emotions, memories of speed (escape) and restless nights. Although I personally like "The Distance" better, this may be Bob Seger's finest album - a must for any collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Great 1970s Rock Albums, August 8, 2006
By 
The JuRK (Our Vast, Cultural Desert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger in Town (Audio CD)
I've always been a huge Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band fan since they first put these albums out. The songs had their meanings then and they have their meanings now--and they still sound great!

I can still remember cruising around Ohio back then and listening to "Stranger in Town" on 8-track tape. To this day, I still think of a girl named Joyce when I hear "Brave Strangers" and I haven't seen or heard from her in over twenty-some years. Listening to "The Famous Final Scene" as a teen, I anticipated having to live that one someday--and I did. A couple of times, actually.

Although everyone probably associates "Old Time Rock & Roll" with Tom Cruise dancing around in his underwear in RISKY BUSINESS, I'll remember it as the only modern rock song that every single lounge singer in Las Vegas added to their playlist through the 1980's (and some of those renditions were definitely Bill Murray-ish).

I have the CD of this now and it comes in handy whenever I make it back to the Midwest to cruise around in a car. It takes me back to the beginning when we were "young and strong."

With Bob Seger's music, it's never a far trip to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stranger in Town
Stranger in Town by Bob Seger (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.