Kindle Price: $3.49
Read this title for free. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Strangewood Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.49
Leather Bound
"Please retry"
$68.00
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Length: 320 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Christopher Golden is the award-winning, L.A. Times bestselling author of The Ferryman and Of Saints and Shadows. Working with actress/writer/director Amber Benson, he co-created and co-wrote Ghosts of Albion, an animated supernatural drama for BBC online. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. He is currently at work on his new novel, Hollow. There are more than eight million copies of his books in print.

Product Details

  • File Size: 775 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Daring Greatly Corporation (June 14, 2012)
  • Publication Date: June 14, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008BNNM4O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #561,963 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the New York Times bestselling author of such novels as Snowblind, Tin Men, The Myth Hunters, Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, Strangewood, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has also written books for teens and young adults, including Poison Ink, Soulless, and the thriller series Body of Evidence, honored by the New York Public Library and chosen as one of YALSA's Best Books for Young Readers.

Golden co-wrote the illustrated novel Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire with Mike Mignola, which became the launching pad for the cult favorite comics series Baltimore. As an editor, he has worked on the short story anthologies Seize the Night, The New Dead, and The Monster's Corner, among others, and has also written and co-written comic books, video games, screenplays, a BBC radio play, the online animated series Ghosts of Albion (with Amber Benson), and a network television pilot.

Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. His original novels have been published in more than fourteen languages in countries around the world. Please visit him at www.christophergolden.com

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book is one of those books that must be read to be explained, it's that good. Part Horror, part Dark Fantasy Strangewood is the story of a writer's creation come to disturbing, very real life. When Thomas Randall's son falls prey to an inexplicable coma he finds that his son has been taken (well, in spirit, I guess) to the "fictional" world of Strangewood. A world that is supposed to be a figment of Thomas Randall's imagination. But Strangewood is real. Strangewood is at war. Strangewood is dying. And only Randall can save this world from collapse. Only Randall can save his son from a fate worse than death.
The idea of a writer having to face the very reality of his/her creation has been done before, but in Strangewood the story is so expertly crafted, the characters so startling in their vibrancy that you forget the idea that the plot has been done before. Because in this case it hasn't. The world of Strangewood (and its inhabitants) would itself make a very entertaining fantasy series (and in case you haven't heard of Harry Potter there is a market for this). Christopher Golden's talent is excruciatingly apparent in this novel and while I read this I kept thinking to myself "man, this is a fun read" which it was. Probably one of the most memorable and enjoyable reads of 1999 and a book I can't recommend enough. For fans of Horror or Dark Fantasy this is a book for you!
Comment 18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I would nitpick and say this book was more dark fantasy than horror. However, a visit to the world of Strangewood is fascinating and worth the time spent reading it.
The characters of Strangewood are well drawn and quickly became more vivid to me than the "real life" characters. I found the romance in the book (Joe and Emily) to be jarring, less interesting and eventually tiresome. Perhaps I just hated spending time on the romance when I was so fascinated with what was happening in Strangewood. I also enjoyed discovering the relationships between the Strangewood residents and the "real life" folks who were able to visit them. The characters in the story struggled against things they could not control and against their own weaknesses while in a world of suprises and mysteries.
The story is engrossing and Golden is a writer I will look forward to further books from.
Comment 10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
An incredible book, one which will stay with you for a long time after you put it down! Strangewood has one of the most imaginative premises ever conceived of in any genre, but particularly in the horror-fantasy arena where so many new books are just hackneyed rewrites of old novels. Christopher Golden has an amazing gift for creating not only a roller-coaster ride of a plot, but characters to whom you are instantly drawn and about whom you care from word one. The climax of the book will leave you drop-jawed with disbelief. I can't wait for Mr. Golden's next book to come out!
Comment 7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The serious battle of good vs. evil has never been so much fun. In this book, some very real humans interact with some very twisted storybook characters. The result pleasantly recalls childhood memories, and slyly releases thoughts of what might have been. The tale includes some personal truths that are thought-provoking without being too "preachy."
The author has an expert handling of genre blending that makes the reader appreciate the real talent on display here. Elements of fantasy, horror, and good old-fashioned human drama all contribute to some pretty impressive suspense. The page-turning plot cleverly built to a logical conclusion, but still left enough room for guesswork. All of characters created for the land of Strangewood are lovable in their own way. You'll become attached to all of them just as easily as you'll relate to the central family whose emotional drama constitute the story's backbone.
Simply put, Strangewood is a grand tale that is a great pleasure to read. It is escapist fiction at its best.
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Allie Kat on September 20, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
It took me a while to get into this book about a child's fantasy land gone bad, and I never did develop much fondness for the real life characters. Thomas Randall's `divorced father angst' was reiterated until it got tiresome, and Emily's sexual neediness seemed over-emphasized and out of place, which had the effect of making her mind-numbingly boring. The fantasy land characters were far more interesting and better delineated. Some of the conflict at times became comic book-like, which may please you or not, depending on whether you like your action fast and snappy or descriptive and complex. The plot is imaginative and the story does eventually redeem itself and overcomes some of the weak points. Given the poor quality of the horror genre at the moment, this is one of the better books of its type that I've read recently, and it's nice to see an author trying for creativity rather than another `formula' story.
Comment 7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Christopher Golden's Strangewood is a book that stays with you. At times lyrical, funny, tragic, thrilling, the novel touches the reader on a number of levels. The characters are well-drawn and I'm especially happy with what has to be one of the best written descriptions of a divorced couple that I have ever read. My only real complaint is that I really wish the book had been longer. At times the jumps between scenes happen so rapid-fire I couldn't help but think how much more time I wanted to spend with these characters. Overall, though, a really wonderful book.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?