Strangewood and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Strangewood Paperback – September 7, 2004


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$66.70 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Check out The Amazon Book Review, our editors' fresh new blog featuring interviews with authors, book reviews, quirky essays on book trends, and regular columns by our editors. Explore now

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Christopher Golden is the award-winning, L.A. Times bestselling author of The Ferryman and Of Saints and Shadows. Working with actress/writer/director Amber Benson, he co-created and co-wrote Ghosts of Albion, an animated supernatural drama for BBC online. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. He is currently at work on his new novel, Hollow. There are more than eight million copies of his books in print.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Children's Easter Books
Visit the Children's Easter Bookstore to find sweet stories to enjoy with family and friends.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 3 and up
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Roc Trade (September 7, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451460030
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451460035
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.3 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,829,441 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as The Myth Hunters, Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, Strangewood, Of Saints and Shadows, and (with Tim Lebbon) The Map of Moments. He has also written books for teens and young adults, including Poison Ink, Soulless, and the thriller series Body of Evidence, honored by the New York Public Library and chosen as one of YALSA's Best Books for Young Readers. Upcoming teen novels include a new series of hardcover YA fantasy novels co-authored with Tim Lebbon and entitled The Secret Journeys of Jack London.

A lifelong fan of the "team-up," Golden frequently collaborates with other writers on books, comics, and scripts. In addition to his recent work with Tim Lebbon, he co-wrote the lavishly illustrated novel Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire with Mike Mignola. With Thomas E. Sniegoski, he is the co-author of the book series OutCast and The Menagerie, as well as comic book miniseries such as Talent, currently in development as a feature film. With Amber Benson, Golden co-created the online animated series Ghosts of Albion and co-wrote the book series of the same name.
As an editor, he has worked on the short story anthologies The New Dead and British Invasion, among others, and has also written and co-written comic books, video games, screenplays, the online animated series Ghosts of Albion (with Amber Benson) and a network television pilot.

The author is also known for his many media tie-in works, including novels, comics, and video games, in the worlds of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Hellboy, Angel, and X-Men, among others.

Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. His original novels have been published in more than fourteen languages in countries around the world. Please visit him at www.christophergolden.com

Customer Reviews

It is escapist fiction at its best.
Vincent Bernatowicz (monkey@datatone.com)
Part Horror, part Dark Fantasy Strangewood is the story of a writer's creation come to disturbing, very real life.
Ryan Costantino
Awesome piece of fiction, but its a little sketchy in parts, however some very memorable characters!
Bookman

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Ryan Costantino on November 11, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book is one of those books that must be read to be explained, it's that good. Part Horror, part Dark Fantasy Strangewood is the story of a writer's creation come to disturbing, very real life. When Thomas Randall's son falls prey to an inexplicable coma he finds that his son has been taken (well, in spirit, I guess) to the "fictional" world of Strangewood. A world that is supposed to be a figment of Thomas Randall's imagination. But Strangewood is real. Strangewood is at war. Strangewood is dying. And only Randall can save this world from collapse. Only Randall can save his son from a fate worse than death.
The idea of a writer having to face the very reality of his/her creation has been done before, but in Strangewood the story is so expertly crafted, the characters so startling in their vibrancy that you forget the idea that the plot has been done before. Because in this case it hasn't. The world of Strangewood (and its inhabitants) would itself make a very entertaining fantasy series (and in case you haven't heard of Harry Potter there is a market for this). Christopher Golden's talent is excruciatingly apparent in this novel and while I read this I kept thinking to myself "man, this is a fun read" which it was. Probably one of the most memorable and enjoyable reads of 1999 and a book I can't recommend enough. For fans of Horror or Dark Fantasy this is a book for you!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Ann Linder on November 16, 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I would nitpick and say this book was more dark fantasy than horror. However, a visit to the world of Strangewood is fascinating and worth the time spent reading it.
The characters of Strangewood are well drawn and quickly became more vivid to me than the "real life" characters. I found the romance in the book (Joe and Emily) to be jarring, less interesting and eventually tiresome. Perhaps I just hated spending time on the romance when I was so fascinated with what was happening in Strangewood. I also enjoyed discovering the relationships between the Strangewood residents and the "real life" folks who were able to visit them. The characters in the story struggled against things they could not control and against their own weaknesses while in a world of suprises and mysteries.
The story is engrossing and Golden is a writer I will look forward to further books from.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By WendyfulLife on December 12, 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
An incredible book, one which will stay with you for a long time after you put it down! Strangewood has one of the most imaginative premises ever conceived of in any genre, but particularly in the horror-fantasy arena where so many new books are just hackneyed rewrites of old novels. Christopher Golden has an amazing gift for creating not only a roller-coaster ride of a plot, but characters to whom you are instantly drawn and about whom you care from word one. The climax of the book will leave you drop-jawed with disbelief. I can't wait for Mr. Golden's next book to come out!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Vincent Bernatowicz (monkey@datatone.com) on October 21, 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The serious battle of good vs. evil has never been so much fun. In this book, some very real humans interact with some very twisted storybook characters. The result pleasantly recalls childhood memories, and slyly releases thoughts of what might have been. The tale includes some personal truths that are thought-provoking without being too "preachy."
The author has an expert handling of genre blending that makes the reader appreciate the real talent on display here. Elements of fantasy, horror, and good old-fashioned human drama all contribute to some pretty impressive suspense. The page-turning plot cleverly built to a logical conclusion, but still left enough room for guesswork. All of characters created for the land of Strangewood are lovable in their own way. You'll become attached to all of them just as easily as you'll relate to the central family whose emotional drama constitute the story's backbone.
Simply put, Strangewood is a grand tale that is a great pleasure to read. It is escapist fiction at its best.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Allie Kat on September 20, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
It took me a while to get into this book about a child's fantasy land gone bad, and I never did develop much fondness for the real life characters. Thomas Randall's `divorced father angst' was reiterated until it got tiresome, and Emily's sexual neediness seemed over-emphasized and out of place, which had the effect of making her mind-numbingly boring. The fantasy land characters were far more interesting and better delineated. Some of the conflict at times became comic book-like, which may please you or not, depending on whether you like your action fast and snappy or descriptive and complex. The plot is imaginative and the story does eventually redeem itself and overcomes some of the weak points. Given the poor quality of the horror genre at the moment, this is one of the better books of its type that I've read recently, and it's nice to see an author trying for creativity rather than another `formula' story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Mark Hammermeister on January 2, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Christopher Golden's Strangewood is a book that stays with you. At times lyrical, funny, tragic, thrilling, the novel touches the reader on a number of levels. The characters are well-drawn and I'm especially happy with what has to be one of the best written descriptions of a divorced couple that I have ever read. My only real complaint is that I really wish the book had been longer. At times the jumps between scenes happen so rapid-fire I couldn't help but think how much more time I wanted to spend with these characters. Overall, though, a really wonderful book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?