Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First
This is the first book I have read from Corey Mitchell, and based on the strength of this one, I will be purchasing his other true crime stories. Mitchell has a gift. Even with presenting what could be dull facts, he keeps the pages turning. His writing is clear and concise, and never gets boring. The story of Anthony Shore is interesting and the author really details...
Published on April 10, 2008 by RG69

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably bad
I can't quite figure out if those who have such great things to say about this book were reading a totally different book than I did. There was hardly any information about any of the people in this book - yes, Anthony Shore was a sociopath and there was great detail about his interactions with people so the reader could understand that, but interactions with others was...
Published on March 31, 2011 by Linda A. Widmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First, April 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I have read from Corey Mitchell, and based on the strength of this one, I will be purchasing his other true crime stories. Mitchell has a gift. Even with presenting what could be dull facts, he keeps the pages turning. His writing is clear and concise, and never gets boring. The story of Anthony Shore is interesting and the author really details his life nicely. You can never really know what makes a talented musician and very intelligent guy turn into a murderer, but Corey Mitchell lays out all the facts and gives you everything you need to get into the twisted mind of this killer. Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book., April 18, 2008
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
"Strangler" is another excellent offering from true crime author Corey Mitchell.
This is the second book from Mr. Mitchell that I have read. Like "Evil Eyes" it didn't disappoint.

The author includes transcripts from Anthony Shore's confessions.
The reader gets a chilling insight into the mind of an incestuous serial killer. He sensed that he would be discovered after submitting a court ordered DNA sample. Mr. Mitchell gives accounts of some of Shore's disturbing activities as a youth.

Corey Mitchell does a great job of detailing the investigation and prosecution of Anthony Shore.He writes about the crime lab scandal and that makes the independent DNA lab very important as a part of the prosecution's case. Add to that the tragic suicide of one of the homicide detectives,and the revolving door of relationships that the killer had and you have a very chaotic period.

The author provides a fast-paced but focused book on virtually every aspect of theses murders,from the victims,their families,Shore's family,the detectives determination to solve the cases,and the Assistant District Attorney who successfully prosecuted the killer.
A great read from one of the best true crime writers of the day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably bad, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't quite figure out if those who have such great things to say about this book were reading a totally different book than I did. There was hardly any information about any of the people in this book - yes, Anthony Shore was a sociopath and there was great detail about his interactions with people so the reader could understand that, but interactions with others was pretty much all the reader was given. The dialogue was horrible. The story skipped around all over the place. This book was a jumble of dialogue and boring interactions between people that went nowhere. I felt like the author was trying to fill up pages by giving the reader verbatim testimony of the killer's two daughters when they took the stand in court. It's like he had nothing else to say so he just filled up the pages with court testimony..word for word. There was a lot of information about the prosecuting attorney and her life as well - another way to fill up pages. The killer was captured before the story about him was told and that was awkward as well. The storytelling was horrible. I have to say that the one star description of "I hated it" is an apt way to describe how I felt about this book. It hurt my eyes to read it. It was pretty horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!!!!!!!, January 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
I opened the book on a Friday morning and didn't put it down until I finished reading the very last page later that night. Corey's detailed descriptions of the victims and their crime scenes made me think I was reading a script for a movie - surely horrific crimes such as these only occur in the movies - but it was very real. Corey's words painted a vivid picture of a truly evil person.
IMHO - Corey's best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vile Crimes, February 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
Few crimes are as vile as crimes against one's own children. Although apparently brief in terms of number of victims, the crimes of Anthony Allen Shore are among the most disturbing in nature. Crimes against children have a heightened ability to raise the ire of the public. For this reason, "Strangler" is certain to disturb readers.

Although a man of superior intellect and a musical prodigy, Tony Shore's behavior was seemingly out of control. This made the unusual ending of his crime spree that much more bizarre. Bouncing in and out of relationships, Allen possessed a lust for young girls. The two girls from his first marriage were frequent victims of his abuse. Yet the nature of his murders outside of his family reflect distorted views. Particulary as the details of his crime against his youngest victim emerged through his confession, it is difficult not to be disgusted.

While many books in the true crime section promise "eight pages of shocking photos, the pictures are primarily candid shots of the criminal and detectives. The pictures included by Corey Mitchell are graphic beyond any that I have seen in a paperback. I commend Mitchell for not shying away from that which may be unpleasant to some for the sake of honest storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a truly shocking photo!, July 20, 2008
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
I like the way Corey Mitchell writes, this book is excellent as is Evil Eyes. Both held my attention throughout with plenty of interesting details and juicy bits without sensationalism. After having read stacks of true crime books that declare they contain pages of "shocking photos" this book actually contains a really disturbing picture, I love it! Corey Mitchell writes true crime that almost takes you there. I dont pretend to read this stuff for purely intellectual reasons. I want to experience what the crime scene technicians and profilers experience. While I am very interested in what may separate a homocidal maniac from Joe America and I want to know warning signs and patterns and all of that. I admit I want a thrill of the forbidden and the chase. Corey Mitchell gives you the feeling of looking over the shoulder of the killer in my opinion and I like that. This is a really good book; but, I think Evil Eyes is even better. If you feel like I do, you probably should look into buying both of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling account of Anthony Shore's murderous career!, March 8, 2008
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a chilling account of cold blooded killer, Anthony Shore, who was as calculating and cruel as Ted Bundy. Though he spared their life, his daughters were not off limits as they were sometimes targets of his anger. Anthony Shore went on a killing spree in the Houston area, while maintaining a "normal" image on the outside. Corey Mitchell gives the reader a true account of the murders, the victims, and a little bit of the killer's background so that his audience feels as though they know Anthony Shore. Some true crime authors write more on the accused's life growing up and not as much as the crimes itself, which I find very boring, but not Corey Mitchell. Most of the book is focused on the murders and then his trial. This is a scary story, especially if you've lived in the Houston area at the time of the murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gifted & Talented Wasted On Such a Demented Mind, September 4, 2007
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
The brutual killings by Anthony "Tony" Shore, as outlined in this most recent release from Corey Mitchell, are absolutely horrendous; especially since Tony Shore was considered a musical savant and tested in the highly intelligent range.

Mitchell's account takes you through each killing committed by Shore beginning with the last murder that led to his capture then back to the "known" beginning of his crime spree. What was most interesting in the capture of Shore was that, essentially, he led Police to his last victim. While seeking to attention for his last killing, Shore outwitted himself!

This book is fast paced, a very interesting read. Additional background information on Shores' two wives would have been a nice bonus. While given some information on Gina Shore, information about Amy Shore was limited.

I highly recommend this book. Strangler by Corey Mitchell is most definitely destined to become a top favorite among true crime readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this book down!, March 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in only a few days because I couldn't put it down. The way the author went into the backgrounds of not only the victims but some of the detectives, lawyers, etc. was really nice and cool. It helped remind me where I had heard some of the names before. Last night I was only gonna read to one part and as I was reading that mark kept changing until it was 5:45 AM and I was at the end :) A must for any true crime reader! Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Spectacular Book By Corey Mitchell., March 8, 2008
This review is from: Strangler (Mass Market Paperback)
When you read these books you realize how easily you too could fall into an evil minds trap. It is sad that stories like these have to be written, but there is no better storyteller then Corey Mitchell. He keeps your attention with words throughout the book. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Strangler
Strangler by Corey Mitchell
$5.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.