Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dividend investing is wise
Peris makes a series of excellent points on dividend investing. His historical basis in Graham, Williams, Smith, Arnott and Berstein is well presented. The case for investing in dividend paying companies is made with factual strength. More than 90% of the Total Return of the S&P 500 is the result of dividends paid and reinvested. While correlation is not causality, as he...
Published on July 24, 2011 by John H. Graves

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, but the book could be better
As a beginning investor, I have recently read a lot about the stock market in general and dividend investing in particular, which is what led me to this book. Peris writes well and the book is easy to read, but I didn't feel like I got much value from it. The book is about 160 pages, which is fairly short, yet I think most of the key information in it could be expressed...
Published on August 1, 2011 by VD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, but the book could be better, August 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a beginning investor, I have recently read a lot about the stock market in general and dividend investing in particular, which is what led me to this book. Peris writes well and the book is easy to read, but I didn't feel like I got much value from it. The book is about 160 pages, which is fairly short, yet I think most of the key information in it could be expressed in about 100 pages if a lot of the redundancy were avoided. In fact, the main investing strategy outlined in the book can be summarized in a single sentence: Invest for the long term in dividend-paying stocks with good yields and consistent dividend growth because such stocks have been shown historically to provide solid returns. I think this is good advice, but one doesn't really need to read this book to figure it out. Prior to reading this book, I had already determined that long-term dividend investing was a good strategy based largely on what I gleaned for free from various blogs, websites, etc. I didn't get much in the way of new insight from the book, except perhaps for Peris' take on the current "Trader Nation" mentality that de-emphasizes dividend investing.

[Brief digression: Speaking of free information from websites, two sources that I've come across that are very helpful for finding good dividend stocks are: (1) The Dynamic Dividend at [...] It not only provides up-to-date news about dividend stocks, but it has a great list of "Dividend Dynamos" -- companies that have paid consistently increasing dividends for many years. (2) The "Dividend Champions" list at the DRiP Investing Resource Center at[...] It is a detailed list of dividend stocks that includes information about recent dividend payments and growth trends. Note that I am not affiliated with either website; I simply want to point out that they are good sources for finding stocks to implement the strategy described in this book.]

One might say a weakness of the book is that it does not say a whole lot about how to actually find good dividend stocks (i.e., how to go through the search process in an efficient manner). In Peris' defense, this may not be necessary because he recommends that individuals get a broker to do all the research and dividend investing for them. For people who are completely naive about the stock market and finances, this would be a good option. However, in the age of the Internet, there is so much easily accessible information online (e.g., see digression above) that I think many people are capable of doing competent dividend investing on their own, provided they can devote a bit of time and effort to it -- and it doesn't have to be a lot; Peris advocates a long-term buy-and-hold strategy, so it's not like you have to do obsessive, daily research and analysis to invest successfully on your own.

Two other things that I was disappointed not to find in the book: (1) More detailed comparisons of dividend-paying stocks. For example, let's say I find a handful of stocks in the same sector or industry that have good yields and consistent dividend growth. How should I compare them further to determine which is the best investment(s)? (2) From a beginner's perspective, it would have been nice to see a "starter" dividend portfolio involving actual companies; e.g., how one might go about investing $10,000 to get a solid, diversified portfolio. Maybe these things could be incorporated into a new edition of the book down the road; building on the preceding paragraph, this would be a way of catering to readers who want to do dividend investing on their own.

I also feel compelled to comment on the Kindle version of the book, which is what I read. The pros: (1) I did not encounter any text formatting issues. (2) There were chapter links in the table of contents. (3) Endnotes were easily accessed by selecting the linked numbers, then pressing the back button to return to the main text. The cons: (1) The tables and figures were almost impossible to read, even in landscape mode. They really need to be redone in a different format. This issue might be motivation enough for most people to opt for the print version of the book, despite the higher cost. (2) The index is completely useless because there are no links to the text (in place of page numbers), which is an inexcusable oversight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy this Book for Kindle, July 31, 2011
By 
Bruce (Austin, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Strategic Dividend Investor is an excellent guide to investing in stocks. Dividend paying stocks outperform non-dividend stocks by a wide margin and this book does an excellent job of explaining why. However, I am deeply dissatisfied with the Kindle edition of the book. Much of the value of this book is in the research and data that Mr. Peris has developed. Most of this information is presented in the form of detailed graphs and tables that are completely unreadable on the Kindle. So buy the physical book; it is well worthwhile. But don't buy the Kindle edition. My 3-star rating is an average of 5-stars for the book and 1-star for the Kindle edition that I made the mistake of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dividend investing is wise, July 24, 2011
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
Peris makes a series of excellent points on dividend investing. His historical basis in Graham, Williams, Smith, Arnott and Berstein is well presented. The case for investing in dividend paying companies is made with factual strength. More than 90% of the Total Return of the S&P 500 is the result of dividends paid and reinvested. While correlation is not causality, as he observes, it is good reason to dig deeper. Significant examples are worked through. The examination of the cash flow statement from publicly traded firms is thorough without being intimidating.
The bibliography could be more extensive, but it is representative.
Brief, to the point and strongly argued, it will be very difficult to refute such strong arguments in favor of the wise investor vs. the inconsiderate speculator. Enjoy the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belongs on every investor's bookself, May 22, 2011
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
Peris makes a clear-cut case for dividend investing in a writing style that is engaging and accessible. Whether you live on Main Street or Wall Street, this is a great bet for anyone looking for actionable and effective investment advice. This book helps to narrow down what can be a dizzing array of investment options and helps readers with a game plan that will likely benefit their portfolios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written, sound advice, April 12, 2011
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
"The Strategic Dividend Investor" is a well written and informative guide to a rock solid investment strategy that has, unfortunately, been largely overlooked for the past two decades. Peris takes the time to educate the reader on the fundamentals of company valuation without bogging down in analytics. A pleasure to read without ever being campy or dumbed-down, "Strategic Dividend Investor" fills an obvious void in the realm of money management publication: a book sophisticated enough in content to satisfy the needs of the investment professional while being witty and accessible to those managing their own money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Book/Lousy Kindle Translation, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is more a review of the Kindle version than the book itself. From what I can tell, the book is well written and a good summary of the subject. (I'd probably give the book itself a 4-5 star rating.) That said, the Kindle Version is less than disappointing. The charts and tables are virtually illegible. Forget about the footnotes. From the page breaks and illegibility of the tables it's pretty clear than no one actually looked at this before releasing it in its digital form. I have stopped reading the Kindle version and will order the hard copy because I think it's worth reading, but I'm not real happy about buying the same book twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not your father's stock market any more--or is it?, May 19, 2011
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
I read "The Strategic Dividend Investor" from cover to cover in two sittings, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Peris makes the case for a disciplined approach to dividend investing with vigor, clarity, and wit. One of the better books I have read on investing (and I have read many)--highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strategic dividend investor, December 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
This is a book for anyone who is serious about investing should read whether one has ten thousand dollars or ten million.
The author clearly outlines a sensible longterm strategy. I strongly recommend this book for the new investor as well as the
Seasoned investor. The book might be considered too basic for some but the message is so on target that it should be read by all
The writing is simple,clear, and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chase the Dividends, Not the Capital Gains, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
A superbly simple explanation of the folly of casino style speculation, which now passes for "investing." Buy low, sell high, and repeat often is not the path to wealth it seems. Better to latch onto a reliable dividend stream at a good price and ride the flow. This book explains in layman's terms why, and how, you should do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basis for Investing, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strategic Dividend Investor (Hardcover)
This is a great basis for any serious investor and gives good support to his approach to wealth creation. Although there are many books on making money on the stock market I consider this to be one of the necessary reads for anyone who really wants to sleep at night and make money. Investing is a life long study but in this book the author has done well to put a core approach clearly to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Strategic Dividend Investor
The Strategic Dividend Investor by Daniel Peris (Hardcover - April 18, 2011)
$22.00 $17.66
In stock on January 1, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.