Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding treatment of the subject
There is no question that for a graduate course in business strategy, either in an MBA or a PhD program, that this book serves as an excellent textbook, covering all aspects of businees strategy in a global economy. All strategies are covered, along with each advantage and disadvantage. Strategies for expansion and survival into foreign markets, as well as locally are...
Published on May 2, 2010 by Jeff

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good to know
This book is easy to read and interesting for a textbook. This paperback edition, however, does not include the case studies. If you need the case studies for class get the hardcover edition.
Published on September 13, 2010 by Joni


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good to know, September 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is easy to read and interesting for a textbook. This paperback edition, however, does not include the case studies. If you need the case studies for class get the hardcover edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missing content, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle version does not contain the case studies. For my class they require a strategic audit based on one of the case studies and I am SOL. Buy the hardcover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding treatment of the subject, May 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is no question that for a graduate course in business strategy, either in an MBA or a PhD program, that this book serves as an excellent textbook, covering all aspects of businees strategy in a global economy. All strategies are covered, along with each advantage and disadvantage. Strategies for expansion and survival into foreign markets, as well as locally are fully covered. Of course, the requirements for competetive advantage and how to get there is given thorough treatment.

For the person in business who wants to review or read about business strategies, this book is also an excellent reference tool.

The case studies throuout the book are very illustrative of the points being made.

One thing to be aware of is that the publisher's website does not always deliver to the student all that is promised. If a new edition is published even within weeks of an older edition, then the student who purchased the older edition finds him or herself wihtout much of the promised information available. This happened to me. The ninth edition was published right before my semester started, and the school had already purchased the 8th edition. I contacted the publisher over this, and basically I was S.O.L.

I shall use the text as a reference for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Case Studies, January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A heads up, If you are buying this book for a college course and case studies, it doesn't have any of the cases
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG BOOK IN PICTURE, May 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not the Strategic Management book that is pictured. It is the Strategic Management THEORY book that does not contain the case studies. Amazon should change the photo because it is misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expires before semester ends, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
book expired 3 days before finals,, wanted me to rent again just to use for 3 days ..im sure they planned the dates like that to extort more money. Was unable to study for final ..The LAST textbook I get from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategic Management Theory: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
First of all, there are two different editions of the book that have the same exact covers and titles and authors, but are completely different. I accidentally bought the wrong one and didn't figure it out until I couldn't find what the instructor was talking about on page 220. When I did obtain the correct version with many case studies in the back appendixes, there were lots of typos and grammatical errors that made some of the examples confusing. The only reason I'm giving the book 2 starts instead of 1 is that the examples were pretty interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Case Studies, April 11, 2013
By 
Joshlin (LAWRENCE, KS, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Case studies are only in hardcover book. Check your syllabus to find out whether you need them or not before purchasing paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars textbook - strategic management, October 19, 2010
By 
Raoul (Beaverton, OR) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The textbook is well structured, easy to follow, has excellent formatting through interspersing real world examples throughout each chapter.

The information presented maps well to my base of knowledge on this subject. The book has offered quite a few enlightening perspectives on how and why businesses and their management teams make the good and bad decisions that they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just okay, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategic Management Theory: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
This textbook was in okay condition, however it did not state in the description whether or not the book included case studies. I had to return the product because it did not include what I needed. It would be very helpful if this information could be included so that I wouldn't have to order textbooks through trial and error until I order the proper version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Strategic Management Theory: An Integrated Approach
Strategic Management Theory: An Integrated Approach by Gareth R. Jones (Paperback - February 21, 2012)
Used & New from: $7.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.