Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and helpful for papers
I had to purchase this book to take a class for composition. My skills are definitely not in the writing side of life, but this book was easy to use. It helped me to put together essays, critiques, and other forms of writing to get me through not only that class, but others that require writing skills. Definitely recommended for those who need some guidance!
Published on July 30, 2007 by K. J. Dery

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step by step
This book was surprisingly helpful and easy to follow. Step by step instructions, paragraphs, and plenty of examples. A short paragraph is written about each featured writer to help the reader better understand the stories. Makes English class a breeze!
Published on May 4, 2002 by csbrown7


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and helpful for papers, July 30, 2007
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
I had to purchase this book to take a class for composition. My skills are definitely not in the writing side of life, but this book was easy to use. It helped me to put together essays, critiques, and other forms of writing to get me through not only that class, but others that require writing skills. Definitely recommended for those who need some guidance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategies for Successful Writing, May 14, 2002
This is a book that you will use over and over again. I started using this book because it was a required textbook for a Writing Class that I just finished. The book talks about the purposes of writing, your audience for writing and qualities of writing. The book was especially helpful for planning and drafting your first essay. It shows you how to write using Illustration, Comparison, Cause and Effect and Arguments. It also gives you examples of these writing styles. At the end of each Chapter, you have discussion questions and suggestions for writing. It is full of possible topics for you to write essay's on.
A wonderful book full of ideas and resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, May 3, 2010
By 
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This is an assigned text for my English course. The book contains a lot of solid information: relevant chapters addressing various facets of writing; a section on grammar in the back which offers a very informative review, and a wide variety of essays as exhibits of the various styles of writing presented in the book.

I wasn't that fond of some of the topics they chose for the essays; some were graphic and somewhat controversial. Some essays were not well written (maybe that was the point), and I prefer to read skilled writing so I can see examples of what the authors are trying to explain.

Also not fond of the clay-based paper, which is not forgiving when exposed to moisture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars College used book purchase, February 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
The book I purchased "Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) was an e-book from school. I would rather have a book in hand to read whenever and where ever I may be. I was able to purchase this book from Am,azon.copm for about $22 with shipping and the book was FANTASTIC. I loved it, was in good condition and still is. I will pass it on to the next student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategies for writing, March 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This product is an excellent resource for the writing process. I use this book in conjunction with my class book for my English class in college. This is also a helpful guide for the everyday life to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars writing and research guide a success, September 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This text is very usable and easy to read. It holds all the information for one to compose college level documents with examples of styles of writing, along with APA and MLA systems for preparing papers. This is the everything about writing textbook! Great reference guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step by step, May 4, 2002
By 
This book was surprisingly helpful and easy to follow. Step by step instructions, paragraphs, and plenty of examples. A short paragraph is written about each featured writer to help the reader better understand the stories. Makes English class a breeze!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Dandy, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This book was bought for college and has that real loving typical college textbook feel. It will help you pass if you are not proficient in essay writing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide,Reader and Handbook (8th Edition), February 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
I scored Distinctions in the Cambridge University English and Literature Examinations for High School Graduation in 1972, and I believe I was taught by some of the best teachers. I needed a book of a very high caliber( with a similar cache of information), to give my sons who are all in University at various levels. I scoured the internet and I found this book...Excellent..none of my boys get less than a B on their essays.The material is timeless, especially now when Gordon Rules Rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Strategies Book, April 12, 2009
This review is from: Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition) (Paperback)
Strategies for Successful Writing is a book that will give the reader a solid foundation on how to write a research paper. It allows the reader to know how to properly site sources. The book will help one improve one's grammar as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5ac50f0)

This product

Strategies for Successful Writing: A Rhetoric, Research Guide, Reader and Handbook (8th Edition)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.