Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Strawberry Shortcake: Puttin on the Glitz
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I loved Strawberry Shortcake as a little girl and even though this DVD features the new Strawberry Shortcake (more modern, hip, colorful, older) it is still cute. My 2 year old son actually loves this DVD and when its just him at home he always picks this DVD, I think it is all the bright colors and fun that Strawberry and her friends have. "Puttin' On the Glitz" features a few episodes of Strawberry and her friends in their little town. I like the episode where the girls learn that its okay to do your own work - they receive machines that basically take over their jobs and while it is great to have free time they realize that a personal touch is worth it and they want to be useful. This DVD is appropriate for young kids and not just girls, although my husband would disagree! It is cute and fun and of course teaches some great lessons!

Mom and More Disclosure: I was sent this DVD to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
Even though the episodes on this DVD are not new they are worth watching.The first episode teaches Lemon technology both solves and
creates problems.She and her salon customers learn sometimes a personal touch is the best.
The second episode shows that there are reasons for rules,but rules must be reasonable.
Lastly Glamicures teaches that sometimes you must tell others if something is not quite right,even if you're afraid of hurting their
feelings.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
For those of you who, like me, are interested in which episodes of "Strawberry Shortcake's Berry Bitty Adventures" are contained on this DVD, here is the list:
01. "Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow" (October 15, 2010) - Lemon orders a new high-tech machine to do salon service faster, but then worries she is no longer needed.
02. "Too Cool For Rules" (October 22, 2010) - Plum implements some wacky rules at her studio to prove that rules are silly.
03. "Nice As Nails" (November 9, 2010) - Lemon creates Glamicures, but the girls begin to dislike them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2011
The new 2010 version of Strawberry Shortcake is my over all favorite version. I love the new modern looks of the characters and their jobs while still reflecting some of the best stuff from 1980s classic series like having the girls be super tiny and friends with talking insects who delivery their mail and travel distances when needed. As much as I loved the first three movies released to DVD, Putting on the Glitz has some of my top favorite episodes from the series on it. This DVD mainly has a Lemon and her salon starring theme to it as the title suggests. The first story dealing with Lemon buying a salon o matic because she can keep up with her work. Once she buys it however she finds she has too much time on her hand and don't feel like she's needed any more. True friends they are Strawberry and the other girls try to help her feel wanted. Its when the machine malfuntions and attack Mr. Long Face the Catapiller's game course that makes the girls work together shows how much Lemon is really needed. The second story stars Plum and only reflects Lemon by the fact that Plum doesn't tie up Lemon's boat that she tried as a knew job when she felt in the previous story. Plum thinks rules are silly and don't see why she needs to follow them. Lemon and her friends try to teach her a lesson about rules which turn into a silly rules war between them. When Plum suspends all rules at her dance studio to get her friends to come to her dance she learns why some rules are needed. The finally story is one of my top favorites of the series as Lemon invents the Glamacuries. Musical manicures that play music whenever the girls move their fingers. Something they love at first but soon keeps them awake and get on their nerves. They try to find ways to put up with their Glamicures because they don't want to hurt Lemon's feelings.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
Hahaha...ahem...yes, sorry, I just couldn't resist.

Anyway this is a nice little DVD for the kids or for anyone who grew up with Strawberry Shortcake and is in a nostalgic mood. First and foremost the stories are fun, featuring the girls goofing around, working, having fun with fashions and manicures and just enjoying each other's company. As a bonus you get a few "lessons" which reinforce good social behavior, honesty and even the benefits of honest work. I was especially impressed with the story about the girl who had a machine that would do all her manicure work for her, leaving her more time to laze around. In the end she learned that having a meaningful job is more fulfilling than having a lot of empty leisure time. Work (i.e. your chores) doesn't have to be a bad thing especially if you have a good attitude and look for the fun in what you're doing. It really emphasizes the importance of friendship and how friends can resolve issues and still be friends.

Some shows for kids are fun and some try to send a message but are unfortunately deadly dull. This Strawberry Shortcake DVD combines fun with a decent little message or two. I love it for kids and while I think that little girls will enjoy it the most there is no reason why little boys can't watch it either. (Although they'd probably rather watch Transformers)
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
My 4 and 2 years old girls love this movie. Thanks to the movie my girls now are into manicures, and getting glamorous (they play pretend doing their nails, their hair, etc). This movie is very good for little kids because it has not bad language and teaches about respect and the importance of following rules. Also, It gives a nice message about how to be truthful with your friends. My oldest daughter always gets scared with the bad characters of the Disney movies among others, however this movie does not have anything to be scared about.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
My 8 and 9 year old girls love this video. Thank you for keeping it clean and wholesome. Just good lessons to learn about life, no ridiculous evil characters. My girls have every version of these videos so far. Look forward to more coming out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
My 3 year old grand daughter absolutely loves the Strawberry Shortcake DVD's. She has played this particular one so much it is beginning to skip. Thanks for the very quick delivery and great DVD. L. Dinges
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
My almost 4-year-old daughter asked for this DVD from Santa and she was not disappointed. She loves the Strawberry Shortcake movies and I feel that they are "wholesome" compared to a lot of the shows they can be exposed to at this age. I try to keep her away from shows that are inappropriate. The Strawberry Shortcake series is cute and entertaining for both my daughter and myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
This DVD has several episodes of the strawberry shortcake show (but no commercials like on tv). My daughter (3) loves these shows. They are fun & you don't have to worry about the content or any inappropriateness. I would highly recommend them for anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.