Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2003
If a series can get me to watch all the epsiodes back to back than that definetly says something. Street Fighter II V has definetly done that.
The plot behind Street Fighter II V is that Ryu goes to America to visit Ken. While there they get into a fight with a group of Air Force troops. After Ryu and Ken victory they get...handed to them by Guile. They then travel the world to learn new martial arts techniques and later unlock the power of the Hado. Whie traveling they befriend Chun Li, Fei Long, Sagat, Dhalsim, and eventually Guile. However they face deadly opponents such as Vega, Bison, Cammy, Zangief, and more.
The story is surprisngly very good, and when an Anime series last up to 30 episodes that says something (considering most barley make it to 10). THe Animation is great, the story is great, and this is hands down the best video game to series (anime and Live) available. Also look for background cameos from Akuma, he appears frequently in the most unusual places.
44 comments26 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2005
When this first starts, you're not exactly sure where it's going to go. You're enjoying it, but can't tell if it's going to get better or just kind of stay the same. What in fact happens, is Ken and Ryu travel to different parts of the world, and before you know it you're hooked and can't believe how good it is. It contains some of the finest moments I've ever seen in anime, and feels like it's going to climax to one of the most amazing final battles ever seen. After the third disk, there is only one more and you are fully pumped and ready for the end. However, everything goes wrong from here. The second episode on disk four has a twelve minute recap, which hints at the fact that the money has run out. Then Ryu takes about four episodes to charge his fireball which gets extremely tedious, unlike the fast pace of the earlier episodes. Before you know it, you're only two episodes away, the animation seems to have dissapeared, and the drawing style has changed. It's not even that the style has turned crap, but the animation is crap too. While earlier on, the series had moments of amazing animation, the end has awful re-used moments, that aren't even that good to begin with. It all feels like money is being saved for the final episode, the final fight, and although money comes back a bit for the final one, there is so much re-hashing of previously seen frames that you're just completely dissapointed. It drops down in quality completely, and is nothing like you expected it to be. Plus, at the end of it all, there are loose ends which are not tied up. But, if this doesn't bother you, seeing as 22 of the 28 episodes are nothing short of brilliant, and there is a final fight at the end of it all which is the ending you want for Street Fighter anyway, then by all means buy it. I would buy it just for the first 22, I just won't be watching the last 6 ever again.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2006
Street Fighter 2 is one of my favorite games of all time. I have yet to see an anime that has done it justice. The Animated movie came the closest, this series is second, First of all, having Ryu and Ken (and Chun Li) as teens (completely ripped and skilled at that) was a bit of a put off, but I got over that quick enough. The main problem is that they exhaust most of their good ideas early on and it starts to become a redundant mess towards the end. Guile and Charlie endless running up and down those stairs. Chun Li getting choked and Bison grinning and laughing for like, 3 whole episodes. Ryu needs a whole DVD to charge his fireball. Sagat is a good guy. Cammy's scene takes too long. Etc, etc. They get bogged down and things get stretched out DBZ style for far too long and too many characters get neglected. Ryu, Ken and then later Guile and Fei Long get the best fight scenes. Chun Li only gets one and she's not even in her right mind when it happens. The other characters are only touched upon, and a few, like E. Honda and Blanka are absent. You can tell money was getting tight towards the end, because there is a whole lot of standing around, repeated scenes and recaps. Probably only deserves a 2, but it is Street Fighter after all.
22 comments15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2006
On the heels of the success of Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie came Street Fighter II V! A series of 30 minute episodes recounting the adventures of a teenage Ken Masters and his friend from Japan Ryu.

While not directly connected to the popular animated film, it could've easily been a prelude to it as many of the things that happen during this series later happened in the film or were recounted in the film (by film I mean the animated movie, not that awful Van Damne live action flick from 1994)!

Anyway, back to the series, Ken and Ryu meet up for the first time in years when Ken invites Ryu to come to America to see him. From there, they embark on a worldwide journey to meet the best fighters and learn from them. Along the way, they learn what it means to be a true martial artist and that it doesn't always mean having the best punch or the fastest kick. I am not much on the moral stuff but some good life lessons are noted here. Nothing preachy but noted.

We also meet a very young but still pretty Chun Li and her childhood friend Fei Long (while I do like the character of Fei Long, no one is going to tell me he ISN'T copy of the late Bruce Lee, abeit a VERY GOOD copy). We also meet Sagat prior to his days of working for Bison and Shadowlaw as well as Dhalsim, Balrog, Vega, Zangief and Cammie. Guile also makes an appearance and we see why he hates Bison so much in this piece. We've heard the story of why he has it in for the Shadowlaw leader but this is the first time (that I know of) that it is actually shown. I won't give it away for those that haven't seen this version of the series but it is very telling.

As for the action, it is very good! Not quite the level of the animated movie but still very good! Overall, a very good buy!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
Let's face it, you'll(and I did) go into this anime with 1 or 2 expectations.
1.It'll be a decent tribute show, true to the game, but nothing special.(Like Street Fighter 2 the anime movie)
2.It'll butcher the game, and be a steamy pile of garbage.(Like both Street Fighter live-action movies)

Well, you and I would be wrong on both accounts.See,whether Street Fighter game fans want to admit it or not, Street Fighter has almost no story. And the story it does have is weak. Really, the characters are great, but all we know about them is their nationality. The creators of this show realized this and made something truly special. Not only is there a very nice story here, but incredible characters, great animation, and bone-crunching action.

We start off and meet Ryu, who looks totally different from the one in the game. (I feel this was done to seperate from the game, and it works.)He receives an invitation from Ken, in America and goes, and they think they are all tough, then they get the crap beat out of them, then realize that there are stronger fighters everywhere and they should travel the world. There's also a big conspiracy with Shadowlaw, and yada yada, its good stuff.Comedy, romance, action, action, ACTION!

The characters are what I was really impressed with. I went from playing a game with 1 dimensional characters to see them come to life in this show. Bison went from Cobra Commander to Darth Vader. Vega went from that random guy I fought in a cage who is jumping around, to suave bull-fighting psychopath.You get the idea.

The music is awesome, albeit repetitive.

The animation and artwork is awesome. I love the unique character designs, and the fights just look amazing.

I'm not saying this is the greatest anime ever, but if you like martial arts shows, this is a must-own and you can get it for very cheap now. For a Manga release, it has surprisingly good picture quality.

Thanks for reading.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2005
This is the Definite Street Fighter and the best video game adaption of all time.The fight between Guile and Ryu is my favourite in the film.Guile puts in a far better performance than in Street Fighter:The Animated Movie although Ryu,Ken,and Chun Li are the main stars.4 things prevent me from giving this a 5 out of 5.Firstly the translation has been changed from the VHS versions and I think they are vastly inferior to the VHS.Secondly when M.Bison enters the scene the quality drops slightly in the 2nd half of this boxset.Thirdly the opening theme song and end credits are different here then in the VHS Version and once again its poorer.Finally If this is supposed to be a prequel to The Animated Movie.How Come Guile and Ryu don't know each other when they meet.I doubt Ryu would have 4got a battle like that.Generally though its excellent despite the minor niggles.They travel all over the world and most of the major characters appear except E.Honda,Blanka,DeeJay,and T.Hawk
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2009
This is a great dvd for the older people that used to own a super nintendo (before all these other game systems came out) and played streetfighter. Most of you would remember the characters such as: guile, ryu, ken, chun Li, vega and others. The dvd tells you how some of those characters from the game met and started fighting. I got this as gift to my brother and he hasn't been able to put it down.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2004
THis is what real cartoon series are all about i don't know what the other people who wrote those reviews are on but this boxset is hot,firstly i have to compare it to the fist of the north star boxset and in comparison its better in a number of ways the soundtrack is rocking and the storyline is much stronger im not a real street fighter fan and after that awful van damme street fighter film i was never gonna buy this series but im glad i did because its just stunning so if you want a manga cartoon series that you can watch again and again then this is it !!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2008
Even though its not very faithful to the storyline. I stilled liked it alot as a fan. Nice action scenes and good ending. My biggest problems are too many needless episodes and scenes. And some of the fight scenes repeat alot. I would have given this 5 stars but my second watch wasn't as great. StreetFighter fans should see it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2005
When you think of Street Fighter you think of Ken, Ryu, Guile, Bison, all those classic characters you loved to fight as. Well now with Street Fighter 2v, fans get a chance to see the development of Ken and Ryu's powers as they are the main characters in the series. You see all the fighters from the game make appearances and you see in depth the relationship between Guile and Charlie Nash as well as Nash's iminent death at the hands of Bison. Fans also get an explanation as to the origin of the Hadou power that Ken and Ryu both posses. Fans of Chun-Li will be happy to see that she also develops a close friendship with Ryu and Ken and becomes a more prominently featured character especially towards the end of the series. Dont get your hopes up when it comes to dialogue however, because the translation from the Japanese to English doesnt do the storyline justice. But ultimately, Street Fighter 2v makes an impressive attempt to put a new and fresh aspect to the Street Fighter legend. Worth buying on DVD. My favorite episodes are the middle of the series when Ryu and Ken visit Dhalsim in an attempt to learn and master the Hadou art. The struggle that Ryu goes through to contain and master the Hadou-ken is the deeper storyline and the main one to keep an eye on. Well I'll let you viewers find out for yourselves. Go out and buy Street Fighter 2v and you will see what I mean. Gonna burn some muscle!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.