Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 2, 2011
This book has nothing new that has not been said in most Personal Finance article a hundred times over. A college Personal Finance 101 text book has much more to offer. The book cover and paper grade quality is very very poor. I am surprised a columnist from the Wall Street would sign his name to a book like this. Do not waste your money on this book!!
11 comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 3, 2011
Hmmm, I am surprised at the negative reviews of this book; I saw it on the library shelf and have not purchased the book. I did enjoy reading it however. The major point of the book is after the 2008/2009 market meltdown, that the conventional buy and hold strategy OR the conventional diversification advice (stocks, bonds) of the past decades has now been repudiated. (This seems obvious of course, however the book is good at explaining the nuances in the change in mindset.) Instead, we need to consider diversifying into alternative investments. And in place of buy and hold, we need to rebalance, ie, sell the winners and buy the losers. These new paradigms may seem self-evident now, and unoriginal but his thesis stands against considerable conventional and previously successful wisdom (e.g. John Bogle on Vanguard funds). I have read numerous investment books, and I think this tome deserves a positive review. It also has a nice pictoral of the period of time during the financial crisis.
I am not an unsophisticated investor and have read many investment books. I suppose if the book had come out before the 2008/2009 debacle, then it would have been prescient and much more helpful. However the major change in investment philosophy is that one has to be much more prepared for financial accidents than was previously thought and the author gives ideas on strategies in this regard. The major complaint I have that the book is too light on details and is a small paperback. A more substantial effort on the details would have taken more time, effort and had been a larger work and would be in order. I think I will give the book 3.75 stars if Amazon allowed numerical ratings.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 24, 2013
I rented this book from the library and feel that it offers good advice for the new investor... or someone desiring expand beyond a 401(k). The author's explanations about the different areas to invest in was clear and the recommendations were supported by logical conclusion and many charts. I was able to walk away with a better understanding of how investing works and some general strategies.

First off, this book is only 180 pages written in simple, clear language. I was able to read it on one cross-country airplane flight. The writing was enjoyable and top quality. No descriptions were over my head. No words needed to be looked up in a dictionary. No theories names after people where used. All in all, it was a very well-written book for any adult. I think the author did a great job marking something complex like investing very easy to read about and understand.

The author didn't push any particular theories or strategies, rather he encouraged sound judgement supported by the general trends that the major areas (stocks, savings accounts, real estate, commodities, and foreign markets ) have taken over the last 100+ years. By using graphs he shows how and when the different market are strong and weak. This helps the investor know what to expect and where he/she can shift more money into, depending on the changes in a country's economy.

Diversification seems to be the author's most important advice. He talks a lot about diversifying away from stocks, stating that in the last 3 decades, stocks were the main focus of the media. So people likely diversified within the stock market, but neglected the other areas of investment. One area (like stocks or like real estate) generally moves up or down together. By diversifying into different areas, then if one goes down, others will be going up to balance it.

Finally the author cautions against risky and greedy investments - such falling victim to the recent real estate mania or gold mania. A balanced, level-headed approach is his winning ticket.

Other investment advice books may be more focused and much more in-depth. But they may also push a limited view on the reader. Dave Kansas seems to preach a "slow and steady wins the race" mentality, which will help any investor sleep better at night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
This book operates in about the same plane as a "for Dummies" book or a "Complete Idiot's Guide." But since those names are taken, I guess the Wall Street Journal decided to best way to market the book was to describe pretty common advice as "New Rules." That makes the title misleading more than it make the book bad.

What makes the book bad is its price and its subject matter. Spending $10 or more on this book is a pretty bad personal finance decision. I guess if you think this list price is fair, you do need financial help. If you must read this, find a cheap used copy somewhere or borrow it from your library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
Saw the add in the Wall Street Journal before the book was actually out, had it ordered before publication.
Overall I was expecting much more.
It is a very general guide to an individual's overall financial plan, not much beyond that...but a possible good starting point for someone just starting out trying to get their finances in order.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 5, 2011
The book will grab hold of your attention, and show you the problems facing our country. The author makes it clear that if you continue to follow the mind set of the past three decades of Wall Street, you will probably go broke. The book brings you back to the basics and shows you how to take control of your financial future. Mixed with data, tips, and useful techniques are suggested reading resources to gain additional information.

The book may be elementary to an expert trader, but for the average investor the information and resource recommendations will be invaluable. I would suggest you take advantage of the "look inside" feature, and see if the information is too fundamental for your level of investing. In my opinion, the book is well worth the price, if you use it as the first step in a multi-step process of changing your financial planning. However, you will need to take the advise of the author and purchase additional books he suggest to enhance your financial plans.

James Garton
Author of 25 Ways to Make Money Online
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2016
As with any advice it should be taken with a grain of salt. Don't rely solely on any one source, do your own research. I do like and agree with many of the authors ideas. Sound advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
An easy read with clearly-defined concepts. This book is an excellent resource for retirement planning for young and old alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
This book gives very good basics but is frighteningly light on details. For example in reading the chapter on debt, no guidance is given on how much debt is acceptable nor does the author even address the increasingly amazing costs of a secondary education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
This book will be a good help to those who are starting a financial education. It covers some basics but nothing more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse