Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Street Sleepers: The Art of the Deceptively Fast Car
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 17, 2011
I have been waiting for a book on "Sleeper" Cars,cars that you would never expect to harbor sinister intentions,a Bigblock or juiced up small Block,NOS or nitrous,turbo or supercharged.Not just fox bodied mustangs but The Beautiful Cover Car,A Faded Green Nova with Dish caps,or how about a Corvette Powered Volvo Station Wagon? Maybe you'd be surprised by a Cadillac Escalade Powered Mercury Zephyr(The Ford Fairmont's twin)that looks just like a bland grandma grocery getter or a beat up car?Diesel Trucks? Gotcha covered,4x4 Pickup?Done.A Beautiful Black Buick Skylark which despite it's muscle car looks deceives with it's dogdish caps?Or a 1977 Buick Le Sabre Fullsize two door Stock?That is powered by something to give anyone a run for their money.Or A Green Grand Prix,cars that look mundane to some that can leave you in the dust.My only compliant is when is the next book coming out?Hopefully a Volume 2 and/or A Factory Sleepers book?You can't lose with this unique and beautifully done book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
Sneaky, fast cars, have always seemed to have more "Cool" factor than ones that have had cubic dollars spent on them while they strut their stuff. This book had some good sleepers in it from many different areas of the motorsport crowd. American Muscle, Diesel, Import / Tuner, and even Grandmas old car and Grandpas old farm truck. Although some of the material is now dated in the book, it is still a good read and kinda makes you want to go out and build something yourself to earn a little extra cash with. Not that I would EVER street race for money, but the thought was entertaining non the less..... ; )
Purple in Phoenix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
This book is a well done conglomeration of sneaky cars. I was excited to see so many cars that I actually have seen in person before. Many have been on Hot Rod Power Tour and Hot Rod Drag Week. This book shows the cunning and skill of the builders, and there is a very amusing section about what makes a sleeper, and why somebody would want to do that. It was eerily accurate regarding the sleeper owner I know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
Very well written with excellent photographs throughout. Interesting reading for all types of car enthusiasts. I highly recomend this book to everyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Super-fast cars that don't look worthy of a first glance, let alone a second... This book shows you what goes into making such high performance, and how it is hidden so well by the experts - very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2011
I had seen a preview of this book, and must say I was impressed! I saw the Wheel to Wheel built Nova on PowerTour in 2007, so I was not surprised in the least when it made it into this book. For those that love the innovation and sneakiness that is involved in building sleepers, you will love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
Better quality paper and content. However this is still casual reading. Good fun for the money but don't expect to learn too much new info
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
My husband loves it, I purchased it for his birthday in June, He is a gearhead and is working on making our buick a sleeper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
What an awesome book on street race style sleepers. I've been waiting for a book like this for a long time. Thanks Mr. Byrd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
Kindy quirky, no rhyme or reason to cars picked, but love variety. "sleeper rating" a little gimmicky, but love the text and accompanying pictures. Entertaining, worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.