Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Streetwise Brussels Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Brussels, Belgium (Streetwise (Streetwise Maps))
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 23, 2005
Came in very handy during my 10 days in Brussels. Durable and quick to fold/unfold; fitted in the front hip pocket of my travel shorts. Shows all the little streets, main tourist sites and hotels, although the small print can be hard to read. Includes a street index. Street names are in French only (contrary to what the previous reviewer said), but that's adequate, as Brussels scrupulously signposts every street in both French and Flemish, and the predominant spoken language is French. The lamination is suitable for sticking on tape flags or even scotchtape for writing notes on.

Shows Metro stations as color-coded dots but doesn't explicitly show the lines connecting them, so I had to refer to a transit map initially to be certain how the Metro lines ran. However, Brussels' transit network is complex enough that you will need to carry a separate transit map anyway if you plan to use the trams or buses as well as the Metro.

The city tourist office gives out a free map of the city center that is actually easier on the eyes, but covers a much smaller area, lacks a street index and doesn't show Metro stations.
-----
Update April 2012: The map has been revised since I wrote my review above. I notice the current edition shows the Metro lines explicitly.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2003
I bought several Streetwise City Maps and this one is the best -- about the size of an envelope (accordian folded with 9 sections/folds). It is very detailed in the city center, public transport, and the larger urban area. Highly reccommended.
Most place names are in French + Flemish.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
I like these laminated street maps and have them for several European cities. They are small enough to carry in a handbag or pocket and easy to consult while moving about a city. Unless you need great detail, they will suffice for most tourists or business travelers. This one came in very handy on a recent trip to Brussels. It was detailed enough to get us around to all the places we wanted to visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
When visiting any city...this is the only map you are likely to need. They are laminated, handy for the rain. fold nicely, handy for the pocket or purse and very easy to read. An added bonus, in cities with a subway or metro system a small system map is part of the package! The streetwise maps tend to concentrate on the central part of town...where most tourist will be so if you are planning to drive in and out of a city they won't fill the bill. For the money, they are the best navigation system around!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
Years ago I bought the Amsterdam map from Streetwise and it worked great. Just got back from an Amsterdam-Brussels trip, and this thing worked wonders. I've already got the Paris map ready to go! A question to the Streetwise staff if you see this: Any plans for a Seoul map anytime soon? Keep up the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
This is a very good map of Brussels. It is laminated and is not likely to get wet or crumpled. However, it is a little large and will not fit into a pocket. I think that I will have to carry it in a small back pack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
I purchased this map prior to my trip to Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany. Great map and was very useful to plan my trip and ger around once I got there. Would hightly recommend to others planning to travel to Belgium. Fast shipping. Great seller. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
This name brand of maps is great. They aren't paper so no easy ripping. We use map markers on them and they wipe right of like dry erase markers. Points of interest are in 3d on these maps. Awesome map.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2012
The first thing I like about the Streetwise Maps is that they are laminated. No need to worry about getting them wet, dirty, smudgy and having to replace them. When you buy one for a particular city, it should last for years. It's even possible to use a dry erase marker and simply wipe clean.

The map includes all pertinent details of the city, including of course, the streets, hospitals, shopping malls, businesses, museums and landmarks that you would otherwise not know about using a GPS system. If you have a GPS in your car, it's not much good if you're flying to different cities. These maps can be ordered ahead of time and just put them in your briefcase. I recommend this map to all travelers either for business, vacation or even if you live in the city.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
This map is nice to review and mark for planning a trip (e.g. relation of hotels and sights to train stations). A plasticized map is useful in the rain and mist, but the scale of this one limits its value for sight seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse