Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy
A romantic comedy that doesn't give enough credit to the co-stars Tommy Davidson (In Living Color), Anne Marie Johnson, & Samuel L. Jackson. Joseph C. Phillips and Halle Berry deliver the theme of the story well - Phillips playing the role of a "square" investment banker who is smitten by a beautiful nightclub entrepreneur(Berry). Phillips feels Berry is out of his...
Published on September 3, 2007 by Pembroke

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feel-Good Formula Movie
It's clear that this movie isn't going to win any awards, but if you want a simple formula movie, Strictly Business is good way to spend an hour and a half. I read Leonard Maltin's review and its strikes me as funny that he would even mention anything having to do with money or how easy it is to make. Did anyone question the reality of Richard Gere marrying a street...
Published on August 12, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy, September 3, 2007
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
A romantic comedy that doesn't give enough credit to the co-stars Tommy Davidson (In Living Color), Anne Marie Johnson, & Samuel L. Jackson. Joseph C. Phillips and Halle Berry deliver the theme of the story well - Phillips playing the role of a "square" investment banker who is smitten by a beautiful nightclub entrepreneur(Berry). Phillips feels Berry is out of his league and feels he's not hip enough to attract her, so he seeks the advice of his friend (Davidson) who works in the mailroom, on how to dress-to-impress, and to ultimately be introduced to her. Phillips has another problem though - he already has a girlfriend (Johnson) who is a domineering, vain, controlling, self serving, arrogant yuppie who plans to marry him for appearances and for all the other wrong reasons. Samuel L. Jackson delivers humor in a short-lived way as the hard-nose mailroom superintendant. To add more substance to the romantic comedy, the story shows how you can loose yourself, your identity, and ultimately your friends & your woman by trying to live a double life, climbing the corporate ladder, all the while safeguarding against corporate backstabbing and sabotage. A fun, funny and entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes going to work look fun, April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
Two people from totally different worlds hook up. Just makes you realize that it isn't a person's career as much as his/her outlook on life and positivity that makes a relationship flourish. Tommy Davidson is hilarious. Buy it! This one is definitely worthy of being on the shelf with your collection. I'm not a real big fan of Halle Berry, but I do love her innocence and honest-hearted endeavors whenever she portrays her characters. I saw this one way back in 1991 when it first came to the theatres (back then I don't think there was a such thing as a DVD) But I'm glad I waited until they started making DVDs to buy it. I'd never owned the VHS version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly classic, May 24, 2009
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
I dont care what anybody says. Not many movies can capture the essence of the 90s like Strictly Business. See back then it was about having fun so the comedies we watched were just fun. Plus this one was pretty funny and had a slight sense of awareness(some comedies had that even Boomerang). Nowadays what passes for comedy is sheer garbage just like these overrated movies that Hollywood oversells to death. At any rate..

The story: Waymon Tisdale(Joseph C. Phillips) is a bank investor that is not too happy about his love life with his swishy and domineering girlfriend Diedre(Anne-Marie Johnson). He meets a beautiful girl named Natalie(Halle Berry) and ends up falling for her. He calls upon the help of a mailroom clerk named Bobby(Tommy Davidson)to aid him in getting her.

Tommy Davidson is funny as hell in this movie. So is Joseph C. Phillips. He is pretty good as the square but likable Waymon Tisdale. Halle Berry was just gorgeous here as Natalie and to tell you the truth I like her 90s movies better than the junk she's in now. There are too many funny situations to name them all and Strictly Business perfectly captures everything about the 90s urban culture whether its the music or the fashion.

Pay no attention to pompous and sheep-minded critics that cant even write real reviews and dont even have the decency to open up an account(still hiding behind the customer review option huh? Lazy punks). If you want a 90s comedy that's fun to watch then look no further. If you want something overrated beyond belief then follow these easily manipulated puppets but prepare to be disappointed if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
Very good movie. Funny and entertaining without a lot of cursing and violence. Can be a little corny but still a classic.
Good clean romatic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strictly business, October 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
This is a funny movie if you're a fan of Tommy Davidson. This is one of his better films. Halle Berry is also in this movie. She never seems to age! She is still a very attractive woman. There are many good reasons to buy this DVD, it is a good comedy by director Kevin Hooks. There is also a good message in this movie. This movie came out in 1991, it never grows old or dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Business, December 31, 2009
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
A good lighthearted movie about business situations, actions and eventual outcome. The resultant side businesses and cooperative efforts prevail to a successful end. Tommy Davidson and Joseph C. Phillips are very funny in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strictly business, September 3, 2011
By 
Taylor (PHILADELPHIA, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
One of my favorite movies. The case and disc, was in mint condition. I love Lorenz Tate. Its definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, June 17, 2011
By 
T.W. "Success" (Jacksonville, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
I love this movie, its so funny! They dont make movies like this anymore, back than Halle Berry was one of my favorite actress's*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie inspired me, September 9, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
Strictly Business is NOT a throwaway movie as some reviewers would have you believe. I found this movie very entertaining in spite of the weak plot. The ideas are good ones but the concept and execution are lacking.
The main reason to buy this movie is Samuel L. Jackson. He's in this movie credited as "SAM JACKSON", and in the few moments he's onscreen as a mailroom boss he gives such an amazing performance that it makes all the other actors look like amateurs. He shows us that a great performer can overcome the weakest material by making a strong effort. While this movie will be remembered as one of Halle Berry's earlier movies (it's one of her better ones) Samuel L. Jackson's performance is worth the purchase of this DVD alone.

The weak plot revolves around a streetwise guy (Tommy Davidson) helping a straight-laced Wayman Tinsdale (Joseph C. Phillips) get with Club promoter Natalie (Halle Berry) in exchange for a spot in a training program. Its too bad Natalie wasn't a better-developed character. I wonder if she would have picked Wayman had the writers given her a personality and a story. The story assumes she'll go out with him because he wears flashy clothes, big money and a nice car. Shallow, Shallow, Shallow.

My biggest beef with this movie are that the female characters and aren't fully developed; they have stereotype personalities. They seem to be there just for Wayman and Davidson's character to drool over or argue with. I wish some African-American filmmaker would show some courage and depict strong female leads next to their male leads. All those flaws aside I still love this concept and think it could work if done properly.

Watching this movie inspired me to write my own story based on the African-American workplace. I fleshed some things out so it has fully developed, well-defined characters (especially the women), and a plot revolving around the actual workplace, not social situations. I hope to get the manuscript published one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, love Joseph C. Philips and Tommy Davidson in this movie., March 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strictly Business (DVD)
I love this movie. I know a lot of people think it's lame but I loved it. I just like movies with Joseph C. Philips in it, I like his acting style. I would recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Strictly Business
Strictly Business by Kevin Hooks (DVD - 2010)
$5.97 $4.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.