Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Strictly Business
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 3, 2007
A romantic comedy that doesn't give enough credit to the co-stars Tommy Davidson (In Living Color), Anne Marie Johnson, & Samuel L. Jackson. Joseph C. Phillips and Halle Berry deliver the theme of the story well - Phillips playing the role of a "square" investment banker who is smitten by a beautiful nightclub entrepreneur(Berry). Phillips feels Berry is out of his league and feels he's not hip enough to attract her, so he seeks the advice of his friend (Davidson) who works in the mailroom, on how to dress-to-impress, and to ultimately be introduced to her. Phillips has another problem though - he already has a girlfriend (Johnson) who is a domineering, vain, controlling, self serving, arrogant yuppie who plans to marry him for appearances and for all the other wrong reasons. Samuel L. Jackson delivers humor in a short-lived way as the hard-nose mailroom superintendant. To add more substance to the romantic comedy, the story shows how you can loose yourself, your identity, and ultimately your friends & your woman by trying to live a double life, climbing the corporate ladder, all the while safeguarding against corporate backstabbing and sabotage. A fun, funny and entertaining movie.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2010
Two people from totally different worlds hook up. Just makes you realize that it isn't a person's career as much as his/her outlook on life and positivity that makes a relationship flourish. Tommy Davidson is hilarious. Buy it! This one is definitely worthy of being on the shelf with your collection. I'm not a real big fan of Halle Berry, but I do love her innocence and honest-hearted endeavors whenever she portrays her characters. I saw this one way back in 1991 when it first came to the theatres (back then I don't think there was a such thing as a DVD) But I'm glad I waited until they started making DVDs to buy it. I'd never owned the VHS version.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2012
It's interesting that back in 1991 the selling point of "Strictly Business" was Tommy Davidson who was a featured player on "In Living Color" and Joseph C. Phillips who was a later cast member on "The Cosby Show". Naturally today the focus would be on Halle Berry, one of the most glamorous women to ever grace the silver screen, and Samuel L. Jackson, one of film's greatest actors. On the surface the film is a reworking of the old uptown versus downtown theme. What gives the film luster is that it is an interesting microcosm of the State of African-American Union of it's time. It's not dated just a specific commentary on what was going on in 1991. The cast is uniformly engaging. Berry in probably one of her earliest films is more than just a pretty face as the urban flygirl who catches the eye of a corporate climber (Phillips). Jackson is effective in the brief time he's on screen as the hard-nosed stockroom supervisor. I debated whether to give this four or five stars but felt it was just a tad conventional to merit the full five star treatment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
One of my favorite old school movies. Who doesn't like Halle Berry. Even though he wasn't the star of the movie Tommy Davidson was funny. There is an underlying message about judgement between perception of young black men. This movie came out during the time Hip Hop was becoming more and more mainstream thus a lack of understanding the culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 18, 2016
Strictly Business is a swell joint from back in the day. I dug it for several reasons: for that echo of How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, and for that reverse twist on Pygmalion, and for a stunning Halle Berry early in her film career. In brief, the plot concerns a mailroom clerk (Tommy Davidson) who scales the corporate ladder by coaching an unhip workaholic in wooing a fine-ass restaurant hostess/club promoter (Berry).

More details. Work-obsessed Waymon Tinsdale III (Joseph C. Phillips) is the golden boy in the prestigious New York real estate firm of Drake, Gearson & Burke. Styling them Brooks Brothers, at ease at power lunches, in firm command of multi-million-dollar presentations, Waymon is this close to landing that partnership, if only he can close the very lucrative Savoy Tower deal. He's got it going on, or so he thinks. Never mind that his work friends make racist jokes behind his back. Never mind that his uptight, toothpick-shaped girlfriend Diedre (Anne-Marie Johnson) treats their relationship like a corporate merger and that, when they have sex, she orders him around like a drill sergeant, and, afterwards, she hands him a wipee. "For the thing," she says. Ugh.

And then one day Waymon's orderly world is upended as he catches sight of Natalie (Berry) in a restaurant. And, just like that, the very lucrative Savoy Tower deal gets put on the back burner. And there's Bobby Johnson's foot in the door.

Bobby is a street-savvy night owl and a serial party animal. He's also a mail room clerk who's always tardy and so gets shade from his mean boss (Samuel Jackson). Yeah, it makes sense that Bobby hasn't made headway in getting into that training program to advance himself. A co-worker sneers at him: "You ain't nothin' but a late-in-the-house dreamer."

Ah, but if Bobby can pull a Professor Higgins on Waymon and help him snag the girl, then Waymon promises to hook him up with that training program.

It's not easy as pie. As Bobby remarks to Waymon, "You know what, G? You are straight-up whiter than the whitest white man!" For Waymon is a yuppie of the first order, more square than four 90 degrees put together. For goodness' sake, his drink of preference is a club soda with lime. When he ends up in a Harlem nightclub, he goes for a casually cool greeting: "Hey, home dudes, what is going on?" C'mon, Waymon, at least use contractions.

For those seeking further dramatic conflict, there's a sub-plot about an envious colleague of Waymon's who dives into dirty shenanigans. But don't worry. This is a feel-good story.

Funny, checking out the "trendy" wardrobe circa 1991 and how I used to strut around in those. Today, those threads probably won't be caught dead on anyone other than maybe Russell Westbrook. But, back then, boy were you a fly clotheshorse. Strictly Business, whenever it comes on the telly, compels me to stop and watch. It's a cool flick. It presents a neat love story that skirts the confines of life styles and income levels and stereotypical thinking. It rolls out a terrific positive message that, if only given a chance, anyone of us possesses drive and talent to succeed in life. This movie hearkens back to my younger days when I thought I was hip. Davidson, Phillips, and Berry are all very watchable and likeable and provide some genuine laughs, although the guffaws probably come strongest when Anne-Marie Johnson is on screen. The soundtrack is catchy as hell and rife with musical artists that were happenin' in the 1990s. Remember Father MC and Guy and Jodeci and Troop and Levert? Old schoolers Big Daddy Kane and Heavy D also represent. And LL Cool J does the title track. But LL isn't the reason to watch this sucker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2009
I dont care what anybody says. Not many movies can capture the essence of the 90s like Strictly Business. See back then it was about having fun so the comedies we watched were just fun. Plus this one was pretty funny and had a slight sense of awareness(some comedies had that even Boomerang). Nowadays what passes for comedy is sheer garbage just like these overrated movies that Hollywood oversells to death. At any rate..

The story: Waymon Tisdale(Joseph C. Phillips) is a bank investor that is not too happy about his love life with his swishy and domineering girlfriend Diedre(Anne-Marie Johnson). He meets a beautiful girl named Natalie(Halle Berry) and ends up falling for her. He calls upon the help of a mailroom clerk named Bobby(Tommy Davidson)to aid him in getting her.

Tommy Davidson is funny as hell in this movie. So is Joseph C. Phillips. He is pretty good as the square but likable Waymon Tisdale. Halle Berry was just gorgeous here as Natalie and to tell you the truth I like her 90s movies better than the junk she's in now. There are too many funny situations to name them all and Strictly Business perfectly captures everything about the 90s urban culture whether its the music or the fashion.

Pay no attention to pompous and sheep-minded critics that cant even write real reviews and dont even have the decency to open up an account(still hiding behind the customer review option huh? Lazy punks). If you want a 90s comedy that's fun to watch then look no further. If you want something overrated beyond belief then follow these easily manipulated puppets but prepare to be disappointed if you do.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
This is a funny movie if you're a fan of Tommy Davidson. This is one of his better films. Halle Berry is also in this movie. She never seems to age! She is still a very attractive woman. There are many good reasons to buy this DVD, it is a good comedy by director Kevin Hooks. There is also a good message in this movie. This movie came out in 1991, it never grows old or dated.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
Movie was as I remembered with a few exceptions. I didn't remember all the cursing would be the only issue. One of the movies that made me a fan of Halle Berry and Tommy Davidson. I didn't remember that Anne Marie Johnson and Samuel L. Jackson were also a part of the cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
Very good movie. Funny and entertaining without a lot of cursing and violence. Can be a little corny but still a classic.
Good clean romatic comedy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
I saw this movie along time ago so getting this movie in my
collection from this store was great. Also the quality was fine
and i recommend anyone whom hasn't saw Halle Berry in an
past movie would need to know that she gave a great performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.