Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light the Blonde on This Really Cool Book!
The film industry, especially being on the set, is near and dear to my heart. Being with the crew (the people who make the movie possible) was always one of my favorite things in life, which is what drew me to this cool book.

The industry has a language all of its own. Due to saving time, especially during long shoots, the lingo actually saves time (and money)...
Published on March 3, 2006 by Barbara Rose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital format misses the boat
Exactly what I expected: a dictionary of terms. Since it's in a digital format, it would be five stars if most of the terms had hyperlinks to images: screen direction, for example, could be explained more completely through images.
Published 14 months ago by Jeff Woods


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light the Blonde on This Really Cool Book!, March 3, 2006
By 
Barbara Rose (BornToInspire.com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
The film industry, especially being on the set, is near and dear to my heart. Being with the crew (the people who make the movie possible) was always one of my favorite things in life, which is what drew me to this cool book.

The industry has a language all of its own. Due to saving time, especially during long shoots, the lingo actually saves time (and money) to get things done properly, without a long explanation. Thus this book is awesome to learn the lingo shortcuts when you're on the set.

Any actor, producer, writer, film student, new Inde production company should have this in their library, both for reference, and to know what the crew are actually talking about while on the set. It saves time, and if you're in the industry, you really need to know what the terms mean.

A good analogy would be a medical student in training to be a surgeon would need to know the lingo in an operating room. It's that important.

I loved reading this awesome and incredibly accurate book. It made me feel super nostalgic wanting to be on the set again. Being on the set is either in your blood or not. If you love the industry, you'll definitely LOVE this book!

(FYI) "Kill the Blonde" means to turn off the 2,000 watt spotlight. That's why I titled this review: "Light the Blonde on This Really Cool Book!" It's awesome!

Barbara Rose, Ph.D. author of Stop Being the String Along, Know Yourself, and If God Hears Me, I Want an Answer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strike the Baby ... is a dictionary of film making slang., March 13, 2006
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
I just love the title. It takes some guts to buy this in a bookstore as the checkout person might think you're a bit wierd. I recommend that if you are sensitive to this sort of thing then buy the book on the Internet.

The book is a clever, wonderful listing of terms in alphabetical order and each term is defined by the author in a style that is slightly flippant, which I find sometimes annoying, but also seems to bring some real life experience to the definitions that an academic would never impart. The book lacks pictures of the items being defined but that inclusion would increase the book size and cost. This book sells for a very reasonable cost. Who is this book for? Any film student or PA that wishes to break into the film industry should memorize almost all these terms. Above and below the line people, now in the industry, might find quite a few terms that they did not yet hear or understand. For some film professionals, some of the terms may be part of their passive vocabulary and now one can now discover how close or distant their prior understanding was to the book's more "exact" meaning. This book should be a second text for some film classes. Instructors in those classes should require definitions be understood as part of the course in filmmaking. For the non-professional film buff that wants to dabble in understanding this field, this book should be within easy reach of the porcelain throne for brief reads. I think the level that this book is written is at high school level. I strongly recommend that high school or even middle school students consider this book to impress their peer group. For everyone else, the book is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dictionary for filmmakers., April 28, 2006
By 
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
Anyone who works in the industry knows that they and their co-workers live in their own little world. Film is filled with things specific to the industry... The average person probably thinks that N.Y.P.D. Blue is just a TV show, has no idea what a stinger is, thinks a lollipop is just a piece of candy on a stick, and "C47" most likely means nothing to them.

I found this to be one of the most valuable books I've ever purchased. It's a handy reference manual that I keep in my tool box at all times - Proving itself to be a priceless addition.

A lot of people will find it cheesy - And to a degree, some of the things covered are, but it's 10% cheese and 90% awesomeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful if you're writing stories involving movies, TV shows, etc., May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
I'm working on a couple of book series that are related to TV shows. So, I wanted authentic dialogue and production insights. This book -- plus Tony Bill's "Movie Speak" -- delivered everything I'd hoped, and more. (If you're buying just one book for this purpose, either is very good.)

If you need to know what people say when they're working on movies or TV shows, this is an excellent book. Easy to use. Fun to read. Nicely explained for beginners, with some good details for those who've been around productions in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide to Speaking Film Industry Lingo - Insider's Guide to Film Slang, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
I bought this as a Xmas gift for my daughter who works in the film industry. It was written in 2005 so I personally got a kick out of some of the slang that identifies the now "old fashioned" film. Today's industry uses digital so I don't know if my daughter will hear some of the terms unless she works in restoring old film reels. Overall, however, it is a good and very informative A-Z styled guide to making a movie and what one will hear on set. It is written by Dave Knox, a veteran of the film industry and a top camera operator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Digital format misses the boat, December 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Exactly what I expected: a dictionary of terms. Since it's in a digital format, it would be five stars if most of the terms had hyperlinks to images: screen direction, for example, could be explained more completely through images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Advertised, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
The book was advertised as a definition (dictionary)of movie slang. It is exactly that and a very good one as well. Arrived on time and in perfect condition. It don't get no better. As a matter of fact I haven't received a bad product since I have been purchasing thru Amazon. So far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Humorous Education, July 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
A very well written glossary of movie industry terminology, if you like your doses of information concise and loaded with humor! I liked it well enough that over the past few years I've bought 11 copies as gifts for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice and timely, May 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
great, it came in a timely manner and was in great condition, packaging was appropriate. overall good performance. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars terminolgy, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Paperback)
Full of terminology concerning film. Great book for those who what to Pursue a career in Film Industry. I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang
$14.00 $11.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.