Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little light.
This light works well and the magnets seem to be powerful enough to keep the thing in place. However, the light seems to be a bit more cheaply-made than I expected. Note: I recently found the light at a big-box home improvement store for less than half the price.
Published on September 2, 2009 by C. Bullman

versus
126 of 132 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept...ruined by cheap plastic switch
I love the concept of this little light. However, a cheap plastic switch kills the reliability. I switched mine on, it worked. Switched it off, then switched it on again. Dead! The light will only stay on if I apply constant pressure on the switch. I was excited to receive this product but was immediately disappointed. Product lifetime = less than one minute...
Published on August 4, 2009 by Richard G. Vincent II


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 132 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept...ruined by cheap plastic switch, August 4, 2009
I love the concept of this little light. However, a cheap plastic switch kills the reliability. I switched mine on, it worked. Switched it off, then switched it on again. Dead! The light will only stay on if I apply constant pressure on the switch. I was excited to receive this product but was immediately disappointed. Product lifetime = less than one minute.

I give the product a 2nd star only because the company, Risk Racing/Striker, was willing to send me a new unit without requiring that I send back the bad one. I look forward to receiving the replacement, but even so, I have doubts about the durability of this product and its reliability in a rough environment.

I guess you can't ask for much, given the price. Honestly, it is such a unique and cool concept that I would have spent more than double the $7 I spent to own a unit that is more dependable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This thing is great BUT!!!, September 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The switches cand be fussy, (I own 8 of them) But they make a heck of a lot of light and the magnets are pretty darned strong. BE AWARE that if you beat them up the magnets will come off, but I work with them on an oil rig so go fugure. They are great but its best to have a few of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little light., September 2, 2009
By 
C. Bullman (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This light works well and the magnets seem to be powerful enough to keep the thing in place. However, the light seems to be a bit more cheaply-made than I expected. Note: I recently found the light at a big-box home improvement store for less than half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Supercute... but how do you replace the batteries?, April 15, 2010
By 
Nuknuk (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a bit disappointed with this LED light. First of all it is a great gift and a great novelty item. It looks like the sea mines that you see in the movies that explode when it touches the hull of sea vessels. They are supercute. I am a sucker for LEDs and magnets, and that is the main reason why I have to absolutely get it. I ordered 2 of them, one for myself and one as a future gift when I get to one of those instances when I could not think of anything to buy as a present. It is a conversation piece. I showed it to some of my co-workers and right there we spent out the window some productivity time. It attaches itself to PC towers, refrigerators, microwaves and might be nice to have when we do electrical surveys on panelboards.

The switch is tight, you have to push it carefully for fear of flipping off the plastic slider switch. It has a single white LED light. I guess it is bright, but that is subjective, I have a lot of LED gadgets around the house and I don't notice that it is very much brighter than the others.

My biggest gripe which nobody has mentioned yet in the reviews, is how to replace the batteries. As of now, I am still trying to figure out how to pry this clamshell open, this mine thingy, without blowing up on my face. There are a couple of ridges that looks like you press a penny to open it, but no success there. Neither there is any instruction in the package. It uses 3 LR44 button batteries. Made in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Magnets will come loose nearly immediately., December 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If this is purchased as a novelty - it's a clever idea. However, it's the kind of item I would want to toss in a toolbox. This light is not up to that kind of treatment.

I removed mine from the packaging, turned it on and off a couple times, then used the magnet to attach it to a metal frame near my desk. After a week there I took it down to package it as part of a gift. Surprise, the magnet that was holding the light to a horizontal metal surface- stayed on the horizontal metal surface. I would seek a replacement, but I doubt it would be resolved before I need it.

Oh, and I've now seen it for almost half of this price at a local retailer. Not sure why we pay a premium here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No way to change dead on arrival battery, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great item but needs to be made so we can replace the dead battery. Unfortunately, mine had been shipped with the switch in the ON position and the battery DOA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Glad I bought it ", January 27, 2010
A Kid's Review
I saw this item advertised on television and purchased three of them. I bought them as Christmas gifts for my two son-in-laws and myself. Both of them looked skeptical when they saw their gifts, however snce then they both have informed me of how they have used their Magnetic light mines, (they both thought they would never use their gift) !
I used mine yesterday while working in my car checking out wiring under my dash. I am sure it will continue to come in handy, "I'm glad I bought it"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars STRIKER MAG LED LIGHT, January 2, 2011
By 
Techawk (Stanwood, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very cool and innovative led light. Very bright light and magnets make it easy to place in a good position. But, it does not allow the batteries to be replaced. This is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. Would be 5 stars if the batteries could be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much smaller than I realized., November 1, 2010
By 
MommieXThree (New England, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was surprised at how small this magnet light was. It's about the size of (maybe smaller) than a golf ball. In addition the magnets are not all that strong. The LED light is bright though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Little Light, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I received this, I was surprised at how small it is, and so didn't expect much.
But when you turn it on, it's unbelieveably bright (you can't look right at it!) The overall quality is very good, and the magnets are exceptional! Whoever designed this, really put a lot of thought into the almost unlimited uses it provides.
I read all the reviews about being cheaply made, bad switches, etc. and I can say from my experience..."not so"! I am considering purchasing more of these as they are incredibly handy anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Striker 00141 Magnetic Light Mine Stocking Stuffer, 5-Pack
$34.95 $28.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.