Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripes (Extended Cut) DVD 2005
Nope! It's NOT just the same movie - simply put:
You haven't actually seen Bill Murray's 'STRIPES' until you obtain this 2005 re-release DVD!

The bonus scenes featured DOES INDEED answer various inquiries we once had re this comedy:
e.g. - why are those 2 guys ALONE sitting against the EM-50 in Italy before they take it for a spin?....and when in...
Published on June 7, 2005 by TW Shock

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Flick (Wish it Could be 6), 3 for the DVD
This is one of my favorite films of all time. I saw it with a boatload of fellow geology students at the end of a gruelling summer field camp in Montana and when Harold Ramis made his crack about passing 2 semesters of geology in one night it brought the house down. You don't have to be a geologist to appreciate this flick though, it's got laughs galore. Great stuff...
Published on January 8, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripes (Extended Cut) DVD 2005, June 7, 2005
This review is from: Stripes (Extended Cut) (DVD)
Nope! It's NOT just the same movie - simply put:
You haven't actually seen Bill Murray's 'STRIPES' until you obtain this 2005 re-release DVD!

The bonus scenes featured DOES INDEED answer various inquiries we once had re this comedy:
e.g. - why are those 2 guys ALONE sitting against the EM-50 in Italy before they take it for a spin?....and when in Germany Russell flat-out refuses to rescue the captured troops with the other three in the EM-50, what made him change his mind? - (to mention a few)..

Another one of the deleted scenes is the (talked-about) 7-minute "South America" segment
where we DO see another side of Harold Ramis - while Murray is truly hilarious!

A BETTER print with superior STEREO 5.1 dolby sound now vs the previous mono DVD, including a great feature in two parts -"Stars & Stripes" - that will leave you dazzled in understanding this entire film: how it was made, rare image stills, and how the actors (a good number of them)
felt in doing the film along with Murray himself, being interviewed from of all places - TOKYO!

This new DVD gives you 2 movie options:
1.) the EXTENDED version featuring the deleted scenes-
(with added option of audio commentary from the director and head writer)
2.) the ORIGINAL theatrical version-
*BOTH WS*

There's also the option of seeing all SIX bonus scenes - one after the other -

The EXTENDED version does a fine editing job inserting the deleted scenes at the right places,
- even indicating (via small permanent text) where these bonus scenes START and END -
-an extremely smooth flow minus any pauses or audio dropouts...

However on this strange ORIGINAL version, there ARE crude pauses/slight audio drops only at the marks where the deleted scenes were MEANT to be placed (or were previously removed),
it's as if they didn't (wouldn't or couldn't) simply EMPLOY the main original print for this DVD -
-unsmooth/choppy at these marks, esp when the guys drive to Germany and meet the girls -

e.g. - Murray hugs P.J. Soles with the line: "I Brought The Magic Suitcase"..
- That very scene literally disappears - thus disappoints on this ORG version -

One Major Blunder:
A bonus scene w/P.J. Soles (there's MORE of her) & Murray in a hotel bedroom from Germany
is in fact the EXACT same bedroom set in a PREVIOUS short scene where she pulls Bill out of the trunk at General Barnacy's house; When you compare the two you'll believe they intended this to be START of the 'Barnacy Bedroom' segment..

But overall (the pauses & blunder notwithstanding), they did a great job
in christening this DVD as: "The ULTIMATE Stripes"
- definately worth forking over (at best) a Hamilton and an Abe for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Flick (Wish it Could be 6), 3 for the DVD, January 8, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stripes (DVD)
This is one of my favorite films of all time. I saw it with a boatload of fellow geology students at the end of a gruelling summer field camp in Montana and when Harold Ramis made his crack about passing 2 semesters of geology in one night it brought the house down. You don't have to be a geologist to appreciate this flick though, it's got laughs galore. Great stuff.
My objective in writing the review is to beef about the DVD. The big fat mono soundtrack is pretty dismal. I have to crank the volume to the max to watch it, then it sounds distorted and hissy. My biggest beef is with the "widescreen" version of the film. It appears to be just the fullscreen version with black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. I discovered this by examining the shower scene that Captain Sillman watches through his telescope. On the fullscreen side you can see the one of the girls' head and legs down to the knees. On the "widescreen" version you have extactly the same width of view and her head and buns are cut off by the black bars. Boo-hiss.
A classic flick like this deserves a much better DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, the ultimate Bill Murray flick, June 6, 2000
This review is from: Stripes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Absolutely one of the funniest movies ever made. It would definitely have to be highly ranked, if only for the fact that it is possibly the most quoted movie of all time. Who among us has never said "Lighten up, Francis" or "You can't leave, all the plant are gonna die! ". Bill Murray is at his best, and Harold Ramis is the perfect straight man for him. Add in a supporting cast that includes John Candy, Judge Rheinhold, John Laroquette and Sean Young, and you have something pretty special. Also, gains points for the fact that it doesn't start to fade out at the end, like many comedies do when the decide to get "message-y". It just keeps up the energy and humor right up to (and including) the credits. To this day, the only movie I have ever enjoyed so much that I went right back to see it the very next night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie. Extended Cut not worth it., January 31, 2007
This review is from: Stripes (Extended Cut) (DVD)
Not worth the extra added scenes plus they are explicitly marked as added scenes. Kinda cheesy. The good news is that the original movie can also be played. The movie is a 5+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extra footage....., February 24, 2014
This review is from: Stripes (Extended Cut) (DVD)
Having just learned of the passing of Harold Ramis, I remembered this film which starred Bill Murray, John Candy and of course the writer, director and actor Harold.

This is just one example of the expertise of Mr. Ramis and his sometimes almost over the edge humor - not quite but almost! We certainly had a lot of laughs with his writing and acting.... "Animal House" comes to mind first and then "Stripes" and last but not least "Ghost Busters"... Plus, much more....

Each and every one of his movies are hilarious. RIP, Mr. Ramis...

Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Murray's Best, June 11, 2001
This review is from: Stripes (DVD)
In one of his funniest comedies, Bill Murray takes on the U.S. Army, and without question, with guys like this on the front lines, we can all sleep a little easier at night. "Stripes," directed by Ivan Reitman, is the story of John Winger (Murray), who in one day loses his girl, his job, his car and his apartment. So what's a guy to do after that, but join the Army? But he doesn't go alone, oh no-- he also talks his best friend, Russell Ziskey (Harold Ramis) into joining with him. And just like that they find themselves at boot camp, face to face with one of the most formidable Drill Instructors every to grace the silver screen, Sergeant Hulka (Warren Oates), and surrounded by as motley a group of raw recruits as anyone could imagine. Among them, there's Dewey Oxburger (John Candy), known as "Ox," who plans to emerge from boot camp a "lean, mean fighting machine"; and "Cruiser (John Diehl)," who joined up to beat the draft (Hulka: "Son, there isn't a draft, anymore." Cruiser: "There was one?"); and Francis Soyer (George Jenesky), known as "Psycho" ("Call me Francis, and I'll kill you. Touch my stuff, and I'll kill you. Touch me...and I'll kill you." Hulka: "Lighten up, Francis...").
The pressure is on for Hulka and his men, when Colonel Glass (Lance LeGault) informs Captain Stillman (John Larroquette) that the "General" is looking for a squad of crack new recruits to man a special project, and Hulka's boys have been chosen. The project involves a secret weapon, an "urban assault" vehicle, that is to be unveiled on their base in Germany shortly. But first, Hulka has to get his troops through basic, which will be a minor miracle in itself, even though Winger goes "Out on a limb," and offers to be their leader. And things proceed just as badly as you would expect, not only on the obstacle course, but off, when Winger and Ziskey get mixed up with a couple of female M.Ps., Stella (P.J. Soles) and Louise (Sean Young), and Ox gets coerced (by Winger, of course) into taking part in a female mud-wrestling event at a local night spot.
Along the way, Reitman sets up the situations for some serious laughs, and keeps it all on track with a good pace and excellent timing. Murray is terrific as Winger, with a performance that puts a generous helping of "dry" in the expression "dry humor." He plays it all so straight, so serious, from his quips and one liners (watching a TV promo for the Army, "This looks pretty good--"), to his full blown inspirational speech to the troops on the night before their final test at basic training ("We're all very different people. We're not Spartans, we're not Watusi, we're Americans, with a capital `A.' That means our forefathers were thrown out of every decent country in the world--"), that it makes it all the more hilarious. He never tries to be "funny," or fish for laughs, which is really what makes this movie work so well. Murray is perhaps the best in the business at playing this kind of humor and putting it across (Ben Stiller would be a close second).
Harold Ramis and John Candy also make invaluable contributions that make this one fly. Watch Ramis, reacting to what Candy is saying as "Ox," as explains why he joined the Army; it makes what Ox is saying twice as funny. And Ox, talking about what a "shy guy" he is, and how "You may have noticed, I have this weight problem--" And Oates, as well, gives a singular performance that makes Hulka a real person, beyond the typical stereotype of the hard-nosed D.I. His portrayal, taken out of context, is one that would stand up even in more serious fare, like Kubrick's "Full Metal Jacket."
The supporting cast includes Judge Reinhold (Elmo), John Voldstad (Stillman's Aide), Roberta Leighton (Anita), Antone Pagan (Hector), Fran Ryan (Dowager in Cab), Dave Thomas (M.C.) and William Lucking (Recruiter). From beginning to end, "Stripes" is a fun-filled laugh riot that's filled with memorable scenes and a plethora of lines you'll be quoting forever. This is one you can watch over and over again, with a bunch of characters you're never going to forget. Winger and Ziskey, Ox, Psycho, Cruiser. These are the guys who Demi Moore, as Galloway in "A Few Good Men," could have been talking about when, in response to the question of why she likes these guys so much, replies, "Because they stand on a wall, and they say nothing is going to hurt you tonight, not on my watch..." It kind of makes you think. Or, as Cruiser might say, "Yeah... About what?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can't go...all the plants are gonna die!", June 25, 2005
This review is from: Stripes (Extended Cut) (DVD)
Stripes was one of my favorite movies as a kid, and I'm happy to say that I still find it just as funny today. This extended cut adds several deleted scenes, some good, some not-so-good. My personal favorite is one where Harold Ramis' character reaches the breaking point and he and Murray go AWOL, hitching a ride on a cargo plane and parachuting into South America. This scene gives Harold Ramis a chance to shine, and is very funny, but during the commentary track it is mentioned that it was cut from the film (despite being a favorite of the studio execs) because it didn't seem to fit in the film from a pacing aspect (it is suggested it would've gone well over the end credits, but this was before such a thing was common).

Speaking of the commentary track, it isn't mentioned on the packaging, but it's there, and includes director Ivan Reitman and writer/producer Dan Goldberg. And apparently, the extended cut wasn't Reitman's idea -- some of the deleted scenes he prefers to not have in the film. The DVD also includes a nice 2-part documentary which includes interviews with the cast.

A great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighten up, Francis..., June 21, 2004
This review is from: Stripes (DVD)
I'm a bit perplexed by the reviews criticizing this movie because of its unrealistic depiction of the Army. Do these same people complain that "Animal House" doesn't accurately display college life or that "Vacation" isn't what a family trip across the country is really like? (Hey, I live in St. Louis and could easily take exception to the outright offensive inaccuracies in "Vacation", but I still love the movie!) This is a comedy, folks. It's not "Saving Private Ryan" or "Band of Brothers", and it never claims or tries to be. It uses exaggeration and absurdities to make us laugh. It isn't striving for realism, although to its credit, I have heard plenty of people say that this is the best movie they've ever seen at giving you the feel for what its like going into the service, and that their own drill instructor was identical to Sgt Hulka.
The first half of this movie is just about the funniest comedy ever made. Bill Murray and Harold Ramis are the perfect slobs with shiftless lives who try to maintain what's left of their dignity by enlisting in the Army. Their chemistry is wonderful and they truly are believable as out-of-shape but likable losers. Virtually every line and every character is memorable (Psycho, Ox, Cruiser, that lady in the cab, John Laroquette, and of course Russell and Winger), and this has to be the most quotable movie in history. No, John Candy would not have spoken to a superior officer that way when he gets off the bus (or at least not have gotten away with it), but that's what's so funny about it! And speaking of Sgt. Hulka, Warren Oates should have been given an Oscar nomination for this role. He's the high point of the movie for me, and his intense, over the top performance reminds me of Robert Shaw in "Jaws"- some actors are so good that they can chew scenery and get away with it. So for the first half of the movie, there's not an unfunny moment. Maybe basic training isn't like this, but the scenes are so well-done that a generation of adolescent guys has grown up thinking that it is and have no doubt gone into the military with this movie in the back of their minds.
The second half of the movie sort of devolves into a bearable but not great action movie, with its contrived plot about the stolen military RV and the rescue mission across the Czech border. Still, the same characters are present and continue to sustain the movie until the end. Great music, too- I don't think this has ever been issued as a soundtrack but it contains one of the most memorable themes ever written for a movie.
The DVD itself is passable- no extras, somewhat grainy video, unspectacular sound. But we surived watching it over and over again on basic cable with plenty of edits and subpar picture quality, so I can't complain too much. I suppose someday it will be given a "Special Edition" with a commentary and a retrospective from the stars, but the movie stands on its own without anything fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlist Stripes, November 22, 2002
This review is from: Stripes (DVD)
Stripes is yet an comedic tour-de-force for Bill Murray. He stars as a John Winger, who is a basic loser. After his girlfriend dumps him, he sees a commercial on television for the army. He convinces his friend, Russell (wryly played by Harold Ramis) to enlist with him. The fellow soldiers in their troop include John Candy, Judge Reinhold, John Diehl and as their leader, Sgt. Hulka, Warren Oates. Hulka is a by the book, strict drill sergeant and the clashes between he and Winger are a scream. The high moment of the film is where the members of the troop introduce themselves to one another. A young Sean Young plays the love interest of Russell and Mr. Candy excels as Ox, who joined the army as a way to lose weight. The supporting cast is great, but this is Mr. Murray's film all the way. His eats up every scene he's in and fast and furious pace forces you to keep up with him. The film is proof that Bill Murray is one of the funniest men alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still funnier without the deleted scenes, June 10, 2005
This review is from: Stripes (Extended Cut) (DVD)
The deleted scenes, viewable in an extended version of the film or as separate pieces, are added to this DVD as a fun bonus, but it is easy to see why they were ultimately cut from the theatrical release. They slowed down the pacing, pure and simple. The film is tighter and funnier in its "simpler", original version.

Those of you who are fans of the FX series "The Shield" may still have trouble believing that the John Diehl who played crooked police chief Ben on "The Shield" and the John Diehl who played Cruiser in "Stripes" are one and the same!

Is it a priority to own this version if you already have the original version on DVD? Simply, you could just rent it for a couple of nights to hear the commentary tracks and see the deleted scenes. Chances are you would only hear/watch them once if you owned this new Special Edition anyway, right? Granted, the picture is a bit cleaner in the new version, but most folks aren't so bowled over by stuff like that to sit up and take note. So that's the real question, isn't it?

If you DON'T own any version of "Stripes" on DVD, by all means get this one. But is it worth the $$ for the upgrade (as opposed to a 3-night rental) if you already own an earlier copy? That's for you to decide. But the price of this newer version is not too high, so that could help a bit.

********* Other Special Editions are coming down the pike this year! Keep your eyes out for a Special Edition of Walter Hill's "The Warriors" scheduled for November 2005!! ***********
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stripes (Extended Cut)
Stripes (Extended Cut) by Ivan Reitman (DVD - 2005)
$15.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.