Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to actually tear off
short version:
Love this book

Longer version:
As an enthusiast Strobist I find the book to be a good stepping stone to lighting setups. It is amazing to learn that sometimes a great image is lit very simply.

The diagrams and text provide good info on how to approach a similar situation (well, no point in replicating an already existing...
Published on December 27, 2010 by Udi

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pictures, no information on how to even take them
While Zeke Kamm features a particular photo with a diagram to along with it... that's all you get. There are no camera settings, i.e. Speed/Aperture/Iso/lens type/distance to describe how the picture was taken. It's the equivalent of buying a cookbook with lots of pretty pictures of dishes and containing a list of ingredients- but no instructions on how to mix them or...
Published on March 10, 2011 by MichaelPhoto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pictures, no information on how to even take them, March 10, 2011
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
While Zeke Kamm features a particular photo with a diagram to along with it... that's all you get. There are no camera settings, i.e. Speed/Aperture/Iso/lens type/distance to describe how the picture was taken. It's the equivalent of buying a cookbook with lots of pretty pictures of dishes and containing a list of ingredients- but no instructions on how to mix them or even the ingredient quantity.

Nearly all photos are the standard "key light flash at 45 degrees with a fill light on the other side and another flash behind the subject" setup. The photos all look like they were enhanced in Photoshop as a good bit of photos I looked at are not in camera shots.

Without any specifics, all you are getting is a picture book with some hints... with the rest for you to figure out. You'll learn a lot more by going to Flickr and searching for "Strobist", which will give you the same pictures AND camera settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Great Photos...But Lacking Real Info, May 4, 2011
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
I was browsing through the pages and the photos were pretty amazing. Included were diagrams showing how the lighting was set up.

but one big problem....about 99% of the descriptions were lacking technical information such as the shutter speed, aperture and ISO. I have other photography lighting books and they usually mention what these technical data were used to get the shot. I know each situation would dictate different data but what we want to know is what it took to get THAT shot. Necessary info like "Was High Speed Sync used to darken the skies?", "Was that particular aperture used to allow a lower ISO?" or "Was high ISO used to bring in more ambient lighting?"

I guess i got this one when it was a gold box deal but still...money is money.

Maybe I can resell this book to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pass it by..., May 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
This author's writing style is self-serving and lacks depth. From the standpoint of someone that has read all of his books, my best suggestion is to stay away from his works.

Kelby does a much better job and offers more tips in one chapter than the Strobist offers in an entire book.

All fluff. No real helpful content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Waste of Money & Time, January 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
This is seriously one of the biggest rip-offs I've been dumb enough to purchase this year, hands down and one of the worst books I have ever seen claiming to give instruction for something others want to learn more about.

1 - the book is not even of normal size, it's tiny and not even enjoyable to read, it's slightly larger than an index card, seriously.

2 - the pages are made so you can tear them off like they are math flash cards or something.... this is not only extremely stupid (who would do this rather than keep the pages in the book where they belong?) but also, the text that goes with the photo you are looking at, is on the back of the photo, so it's very confusing to read about a particular image that you can't even see until you flip the page - in fact you are looking at a different photo lined up with the wrong text, it's just a ridiculous layout all together.

3 - you would think at the bare minimum aside from a light diagram, each photo would have some details as to what the camera settings were for shutter speed, ISO and aperture, but nope..... nothing at all!

I cannot believe I spent money on this item and hope others will think twice before they do what I just did. Some of the photos are nice and they print well on the book, but due to lack of proper layout, meaningful instruction and settings, it's worthless.

By the way, the real trade secret (title of the book) is that you just lost your money lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A WASTE OF MONEY, February 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
This book is a complete waste of money. I cannot believe what I sucker I was for buying it. I still don't know what secrets were revealed. What you get is a very small book that you can read in less than 15 minutes. The pages are small (about the size of a receipe card) with a photograph on one side and a short description of what lighting was used on the reverse side. There are no secret tips or tricks revealed. I think I could learn more by spending 10 minutes talking to a janitor at a camera store. I wish I would have read a negtive review before buying the booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing more than a small overpriced picture book. Very little specific information!, December 26, 2010
By 
B. Cadotte (ME, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
I am extremely displeased with this book. The book is laid out with a diagram on the left page and a picture on the right page (when the book is opened). The diagram on the left is for the picture on the previous page. This diagram and about a paragraph of description is very limited in information. They only reveal what items were used and their position. But no information on flash power, or distances used. Very limited information. And since the diagrams and pictures are not even lined up, you have to keep flipping back and forth. I would have to think the layout of this book was actually a printing mistake!

You will learn more from the strobist site in 10 min than from anything in this book! The diagrams are nice presentations, but only provide basic equipment positions. The pictures chosen are good work. But more detail could have been given to the reader to the settings and distances used. This is basically a small Picture book! I am sending this back. Very disapointed in this book. I think its unfortunate that Strobist put their name on this book as it does their fine site a diservice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to actually tear off, December 27, 2010
By 
Udi (Right Here) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
short version:
Love this book

Longer version:
As an enthusiast Strobist I find the book to be a good stepping stone to lighting setups. It is amazing to learn that sometimes a great image is lit very simply.

The diagrams and text provide good info on how to approach a similar situation (well, no point in replicating an already existing photograph), and makes me want to test if I can bring each and every one of the setups to life using my own materials.

The only "con" I find to the book is that it is too nice for me to actually tear any of the cards off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable Tutorials That Sit In Your Back Pocket, December 26, 2010
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
The whole Trade Secret series is great.. Really, REALLY great... Well designed, well laid out, and extremely well thought out books and cards that sit in the gear bag, backpack, or back pocket. Myself, I enjoy looking through the images -- trying to reverse-engineer the individual lighting set-ups -- and then flipping over the cards/pages to see just how close I'd come to figuring out the actual lighting schemes.

The portrait series is my favorite of the whole series, and I've certainly used quite a few of the images in this set as inspiration for my own work.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Volume 2 continues where Volume 1 stopped, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off) (Paperback)
Interesting how one book can get you to thinking and its follow up book can just smack you in the mouth to keep you focused... ! I highly recommend both to any strobist library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense, to the point., October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great little book that cuts the nonsense and serves as a practical guide to dramatic portrait lighting using essy to understand diagrams and examples shot using only minimal equipment and common sense.
Highly recommended for those photographers willing to learn quality lighting when short on time or requiring to come up with effective lighting solutions while on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Strobist Photo Trade Secrets, Volume 2: Portrait Lighting Techniques (One-Off)
$24.99 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.