Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZAKK'S BREW HA-HA
I thought Mr. Wylde couldn't get any heavier than he did on his BLS Sonic Brew masterpiece, but Stronger Than Death proves me dead wrong. Much heavier this is an awesome CD. Lyrically, Zakk's best, while not a strong songwriter in the past, this is Zakk's best lyrical and musical solo CD yet. Sounding a bit like Ozzy on a few tracks most notably the opener, Zakk lays...
Published on April 19, 2000 by cd-heaven

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Follow Up
The fact that this album was written and recorded less than a year after BLS's "Sonic Brew" might have something top do with its unfinsihed sound and unfocused songs. Zakk Wylde just probably didn't have enough time. "All For You" opens in good Sabbath form, but after that there are problems. The vocals in "Phony Smiles" and "13 Years Of...
Published on July 13, 2003 by coalblacksky@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZAKK'S BREW HA-HA, April 19, 2000
By 
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
I thought Mr. Wylde couldn't get any heavier than he did on his BLS Sonic Brew masterpiece, but Stronger Than Death proves me dead wrong. Much heavier this is an awesome CD. Lyrically, Zakk's best, while not a strong songwriter in the past, this is Zakk's best lyrical and musical solo CD yet. Sounding a bit like Ozzy on a few tracks most notably the opener, Zakk lays down some blazing solos and maximum riffage to put all those so called new meatllites to shame. Great tracks include All for You, title track, Superterrorizer and Counterfeit God. Black Label Society is the new metal band of the millenium and is Stronger than DEATH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy metal, March 4, 2005
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Zakk Wylde is one of the few respectable names left in the pure heavy metal scene. This is no nu-metal crap, the album is full of strong riffs and excellent solos. "All for You" kicks the album off, an adreniline-pumping opener with a fret-burning guitar solo near the end; this song is amazing! "Stronger Than Death" is strong too, with backing vocals at the end by baseball player Mike Piazza. The rest of the songs are gauranteed to please Zakk's fans as well, because many have powerful riffs and all of them have at least one guitar solo. I wish Zakk would convince Ozzy to put out material like this. I feel that Zakk's vocals leave much to be desired (they sound like a mix between Phil Anselmo, Layne Staley, and Scott Stapp), I long for Ozzy's glory days of "No More Tears." Zakk should form a full time band dedicated to playing true heavy metal and kicking rap-metal like Limp Bizkit out of the music scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRUTAL, April 21, 2000
By 
BUDDY HICKS (Broussard, LA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Different people are put on this Earth to do different things. Zakk Wylde was put here to make the heaviest, bone crushing music around. "Sonic Brew" was a monster CD in it's own right, but "Stronger than Death" is quite possibly Zakk's finest collection to date. The cd kicks you in the teeth from the beginning with the heavy groove of "All For You". "Phoney Smiles and Fake Hellos" sounds like a cross between Sabbath and Pantera. The lead work throughout the entire cd will leave you in awe. Zakk has finally shed all remnants of his Ozzy years and created a masterpiece in HIS own style. If heavy metal is truly on the rise again, then Zakk Wylde has issued a challenge to all 80's guitar heros to wake up and do what they do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hard album Ozzy fans have waited for, April 19, 2000
By 
John P. Altgelt (taylor, mi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
If you are looking for an album which blends the music of Pantera, Black Sabbath, and Corrosion of Conformity, here you go. Zakk has listened to what his fans have always wanted and has delivered an album full of thick heavy riffs and exploding solos. Yes there are a couple slower songs "Rust" "Just Killing Time", but they too are impressive for this one time Ozzy hacker. I doubt that any radio station will have the balls to play any of these songs, but I know I will be cranking this cd over and over. The stand out tunes are "Superterrorrizer" "Counterfeit God" and the epic "Love Reign Down". Go get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zakk Wylde, keeping metal alive, April 22, 2000
By 
Serrell Ross (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
I am very happy to find out that Pantera is not the only group keeping hard heavy music in the mainstream. Zakk Wylde and Black Label Society pound out some of the heaviest songs I have ever heard. The main thing I like about this album is, much like Pantera, there is no fear of a guitar actually being heard. Guitar solos are not back, they never left. Zakk proves this throughout this CD. When Zakk said that this album was to dismiss all the "boy bands" he wasn't kidding. All you have to do is hear Counterfeit God and it will all be very clear. Just buy this CD. I cannot say enough good bout it. Except that he is one of the best "real" musicians around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLACK LABEL SOCIETY ARE HEAVY MUSIC GENIUSES, October 31, 2000
By 
Justin Grams (Los Angeles ,CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
I first heard Black Label Society on the 2000 ozzfest tour and my mouth dropped at Zakk Wylde's ungodly guitar playing. I will make a BOLD statement here and say that he is on par with Jimi Hendrix and Angus Young. He is a master of guitar. He could blow away ANY LIVING MUSICIAN alive today on guitar. HE REALLY COULD! I saw the band perform at the troubadour (a small club) here in L.A. last weekend and he BLEW the place away. Mouths dropped! His bandmates just watched him during a nearly 10 minute guitar solo! STRONGER THAN DEATH is the best CD recorded the past few years. It blows away every metal release in existence. Its pure metal. Hard as hell. Words cannot describe how powerful this CD is. You must BUY IT NOW! You will love it. Dont listen to anybody. Just buy it and you will be brought to your knees in awe! This deserves 10 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Metal God, July 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Zakk Wylde again proves he is worthy of Guitar God status. He is, above all, a wonderful musician who takes the listener on a rollercoaster of alcohol-fueled emotions. For guys, it's a beer-drinking CD that you should listen to with some old buddies who like to headbang, but also appreciate intelligent lyrics and awesome guitar. I only hope that more people appreciate this CD after Zakk appears in "Metal God" starring Mark Wahlberg and the song, "Counterfeit God" appears in on the soundtrack...if you can find a woman who likes this CD, marry her. The guitar is rich, fast, and furious with riffs that I describe as chunky. I recently read in another publication that the vocals were raw (and they described this as a negative). I, however, think it's a positive. Having heard Zakk live, that is how he sounds...there is no electronic manipulation of his vocals. What you hear is what you get, and it is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stronger than Mainstream, July 5, 2000
By 
Theresa Gaffney (Astoria, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Wow is all I can say! It's hard not to be impresses when you like pretty much every single track on an album. BLS has hit a peak with this album, as I wholeheartedly call Stronger than Death their best to date. Zakk disappoints us in no way! The greatest thing about the album is the heavy, brutal riffs that sound characteristically Zakk...you can always tell when he's playing somewhere, whether it's in Ozzy or BLS because of the little twang in the guitaring. FYI--Mike Piazza from the NY Mets does a little guest growling in the track, Stronger than Death! How great is that? FYI2--BLS was featured on WWF TV late in '99 when the Undertaker wore their teeshirt loud and proud on Smackdown. Cool, huh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD Of 2000, next to Pantera's!, July 4, 2000
By 
Pearl (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Zakk has created a monster on this new cd! You want hard driving music that gets your blood pumped, get this cd. This is heavy stuff, so if you expect the style of his Pride and Glory days, think again. I do not see how anybody can write negative comments about this cd. It is such greatness. There is a not a weak link to this cd. Zakk is an amazing musician, and puts on a heck of a show in concert! Let us pray to the man upstairs for blessing us with the greatness of Zakk Wylde and BLS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, although not completely my thing, June 23, 2001
By 
Chris 'raging bill' Burton (either Kent or Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stronger Than Death (Audio CD)
Although I'm into faster metal than this such as death and black (eg. Satyricon, Cradle Of Filth, early Entombed) or the more melodic power metal (Iron Maiden, Blind Guardian, Queensryche), I do still like this album. I wouldn't say I listen to it a great deal due to personal taste, but it certainly is an album I felt I should review. If it's great guitar work you want, then you're looking in the right place. Zakk Wylde is a guitar god - without a doubt one of the best, not just of his generation, but in music ever. He can play unbelievably fast, AND he can do all of this stuff live when he's jumping around. Being a mere mortal, I find it hard to recreate even a relatively simple riff when I'm pogo-ing around, never mind a lead that is faster than most can do sitting down.
Then there's the songs. As I said, they're not particularly fast, so it that's what you're looking for then look elsewhere. But if it's sludgy stoner metal you want, then Zakk serves up exactly the right menu. The best songs include Phoney Smiles And Fake Hellos, 13 Years Of Grief and Counterfeit God. There also two really good ballads, Rust and Just Killing Time. It seems that most people prefer Rust, but I would have to go with amazingly touching Just Killing Time. But if you want ballads, you may want to look at Book Of Shadows, my personal favourite of Zakk Wylde's albums, and also by far his most different. But that said this is different as well compared to what he did with Ozzy. You wouldn't find a song like No More Tears or Desire on this album, neither would any of these tracks have Ozzy on vocals. Oh yeah, Zakk has a great voice as well, gruffy yet powerful. But again, I feel that this quality really comes out in Book Of Shadows.
So there you have it. Definately his heaviest so far, but not neccessarily his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stronger Than Death
Stronger Than Death by Black Label Society (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.