Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource
I am a doctoral student currently enrolled in an SEM class and I found this book to be invaluable. Our class exclusively used LISREL software and this book provided clear explanations of the syntax and output files. Byrne's writing is clear and understandable, plus the chapters are full of worked examples. I highly recommend this book to anyone learning about SEM or...
Published on April 26, 2009 by Stacy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point
This book is a good starting point for someone desiring to learn SEM in Lisrel. Theoretical/statistical concepts have been explained in a simple manner and explanation of Lisrel is thorough. Useful as a course book. Not a good book if you already know SEM and are looking for in-depth understanding.
Published on November 12, 2007 by Mahima Hada


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, November 12, 2007
By 
Mahima Hada (Greater New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simplis: Basic Concepts, Applications, and Programming (Multivariate Applications Series) (Hardcover)
This book is a good starting point for someone desiring to learn SEM in Lisrel. Theoretical/statistical concepts have been explained in a simple manner and explanation of Lisrel is thorough. Useful as a course book. Not a good book if you already know SEM and are looking for in-depth understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bryne is a must have "Brand" in reference texts on SEM, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simplis: Basic Concepts, Applications, and Programming (Multivariate Applications Series) (Hardcover)
Dr. Byrne provides clear well organized simple explanations of structural equation modeling, especially if you are using LISREL. Would recommend to LISREL users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book has some appeal., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simplis: Basic Concepts, Applications, and Programming (Multivariate Applications Series) (Hardcover)
About 20 years ago, I carried out a number of projects involving analysis of SEM models with LISREL7. The syntax of this language does not differ much from that of LISREL8. In this regard, I did not benefit much from the book by B.Byrne. However, I do not regret having bought it.

The style of the book is prolix. Virtually all the topics discussed in the book are included in the LISREL8 and PRELIS2 users' guides by K.Joreskog and D.Sorbom. The presentation of material is much more compact in the manuals than in the book. In my opinion, this more concise presentation is better and a reader can assimilate easier relevant information.

I believe that the approach adopted by the author can appeal to many readers. A positive feature is an extensive list of references related to various disciplines, including: business, education, marketing, medicine and sociology. The SIMPLIS command language is described much more extensively in the book than in the manuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, April 26, 2009
By 
Stacy (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simplis: Basic Concepts, Applications, and Programming (Multivariate Applications Series) (Hardcover)
I am a doctoral student currently enrolled in an SEM class and I found this book to be invaluable. Our class exclusively used LISREL software and this book provided clear explanations of the syntax and output files. Byrne's writing is clear and understandable, plus the chapters are full of worked examples. I highly recommend this book to anyone learning about SEM or learning to write LISREL syntax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simpli, May 5, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Structural Equation Modeling With Lisrel, Prelis, and Simplis: Basic Concepts, Applications, and Programming (Multivariate Applications Series) (Hardcover)
Offer different softwares(LISREL8, PRELIS2,SIMPLIS) and cover single, multiple groups analyses and provide MTMM model, I thought Dr. Byrne's book one of the most useful resource to apply structural equation model for social science research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.