Play album in Library Get the free Amazon Music app for iOS or Android to listen on the go.
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.55
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Strung Out On Something New: The Reprise Recordings

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, November 16, 2010
"Please retry"
$61.98 $61.98

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

When Lee Hazlewood passed away in August 2007, he was saluted and revered as one of pop and country music''s true iconoclasts. The roots of his offbeat, maverick genius are celebrated on Rhino Handmade''s new 2-CD compilation, STRUNG OUT ON SOMETHING NEW: THE REPRISE RECORDINGS, spotlighting Hazlewood''s seminal output for the label from 1964 to 1968. Included are stand-outs from his solo albums, select rare singles and sides he produced for other artists.


"[L]eft-of-centre in delivery thanks to Hazlewood's mournfully expressive voice; his dry twang is perfectly suited for a cover of 'Ode To Billie Joe'..." 4 stars out of 5 --Record Collector Magazine

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. First Street Blues - Lee Hazlewood
  2. I Had A Friend - Lee Hazlewood
  3. I'm Gonna Fly - Lee Hazlewood
  4. I Ain't Gonna Be - Lee Hazlewood
  5. Have You Made Any New Bombs Today? - Lee Hazlewood
  6. Everybody Calls Me Something - Lee Hazlewood
  7. Save Your Vote For Clarence Mudd - Lee Hazlewood
  8. I Might Break Even - Lee Hazlewood
  9. Just Bluesin' - Lee Hazlewood
  10. Friday's Child - Lee Hazlewood
  11. Hutchinson Jail - Lee Hazlewood
  12. By The Way - Lee Hazlewood
  13. Four Kinds Of Lonely - Lee Hazlewood
  14. Houston - Lee Hazlewood
  15. Sally Was A Good Old Girl - Lee Hazlewood
  16. Since You're Gone - Lee Hazlewood
  17. A Real Live Fool - Lee Hazlewood
  18. I'm Blue - Lee Hazlewood
  19. The Fool - Lee Hazlewood
  20. That Old Freight Train - Lee Hazlewood
  21. Me And Charlie - Lee Hazlewood
  22. Just Bluesin' - Sanford Clark - Lee Hazlewood
  23. She Taught Me - Sanford Clark - Lee Hazlewood
  24. Houston - Sanford Clark - Lee Hazlewood
  25. A Stranger In Your Town - The Vanguards - Lee Hazlewood
  26. Ode To Billie Joe - Lee Hazlewood
  27. Charlie Bill Nelson
  28. Rainbow Woman
  29. I Am, You Are
  30. Love And Other Crimes
  31. Morning Dew
  32. She Comes Running
  33. Rosacoke Street
  34. She's Funny That Way
  35. The House Song
  36. Wait And See
  37. Forget Marie
  38. Pour Man'
  39. Love And Other Crimes
  40. Zapata - JACK NITZSCHE
  41. What Are We Gonna Do In '64? - THE WILDCATS
  42. 3625 Groovy Street - THE WILDCATS
  43. The Whisk - THE WHISK KIDS
  44. Bo-Dacious - THE WHISK KIDS
  45. Not The Lovin' Kind - DINO, DESI AND BILLY
  46. The Rebel Kind - DINO, DESI AND BILLY
  47. (I Won't Cry) So Be On Your Way - THE ILL WINDS
  48. Our Man Flint - THE RING-A-DINGS
  49. This Guitar Was Made For Twangin' - DUANE EDDY
  50. Baby I See You - DEANA MARTIN
  51. California Sunshine Boy - DONNA BUTTERWORTH
  52. Monsoon - DUANE EDDY
  53. Guitar On My Mind - DUANE & MIRIAM EDDY
  54. This Town - DUANE EDDY

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 16, 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Rhino Handmade
  • ASIN: B001BVAQP6
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #224,745 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Lee Hazlewood Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I came to Lee Hazlewood's music through the back door, so to speak. A long time ago, I was blown away by Thin White Rope's cover of "Some Velvet Morning." Now fast forward to the present--aside from digging a few Nancy Sinatra singles and some later covers of "Some Velvet Morning" by Slowdive and Primal Scream, among others--I hadn't thought about Lee Hazlewood for years.

Then I ran across Lee's last album, Cake or Death. When I saw yet another version of "Some Velvet Morning" was on it, everything came rushing back. And not long after that, I found Strung Out on Something New.

Rhino Handmade, as usual, has done an outstanding job. This compilation provides a good overview of Lee's work for Reprise with cuts from three albums and a number of singles, including songs performed by Jack Nitzsche, Duane Eddy, and Deana Martin. The CD jacket recreates the look and feel of 60's record albums, with paper sleeves for each disc (which include the promos for other artists which were always on inner sleeves back then!) and reproductions of the album covers and liner notes. A detailed essay by Lenny Kaye is the highlight of the booklet.

The music on the discs flows well, moving from stripped down songs with just Lee and a guitar to tracks recorded with a full band. Personally, I like the twangy, ultra-reverbed stuff with Duane Eddy best, but every track is worth listening to--even if you're not a big fan of countryfied music (I'm not).

Bottom line: great packaging, nice remastering, tastefully compiled songs. All in a limited edition (5,000 copies) set. Get it while it's still available! 4 stars.
Comment 9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Lee Hazlewood was best known as a producer and songwriter, and also for singing duets with Nancy Sinatra. But he also recorded quite a bit of solo material. This 2 CD set collects all the songs he recorded for Reprise Records (but not the duets with Nancy). He recorded three albums for Reprise, which are all included here.

The first album was The N.S.V.I.P.'s, which stands for "Not So Very Important People". Each song here begins with Lee telling a humorous anecdote about somebody he knows (although they aren't real people), which is followed by a song that comments on the story he just told.

The second album was Friday's Child, which is a more traditional singer-songwriter album. This is my favorite of the three albums, with a lot of clever songs.

The final Reprise album was Love And Other Crimes. These are all love songs, but many of them are about love gone wrong. Good songs, but not as much of Lee's sardonic sense of humor this time around.

The collection also features both sides of two non-LP singles Lee released. That still isn't enough material to fill up two CDs, so 19 rare singles that Lee wrote and/or produced for other performers are included. The only one of these songs that was any kind of a hit was "Not the Lovin' Kind" by Dino, Desi & Billy. But all the songs are at least somewhat interesting. This is a very nice collection to have if you like Lee Hazlewood.
Comment 12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Have always enjoyed folk music and IMHO there are few better singer/songwriters than Lee Hazlewood. This 2-disc 36-track album is not only value for money but contain some excellent thought-provoking material; Go Die Big City and Love And Other Crimes for example. Recommend him? Definitely!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in