Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd Love to be Serenaded by a Prince if I'd Just Lost My Job
The title for this review is a reference to the scene in the movie in which Prince Karl's antics in a restaurant result in the dismissal of the heroine, Kathie Ruder, from her job as a waitress. After she turns in her uniform on that clear night, she subsequently has a hostile encounter with the Prince in the street, and shortly afterwards, he breaks into Romberg's...
Published on October 1, 2001 by Deborah Earle

versus
87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Student Prince
The quality of the movie, The Student Prince is legendary, beyond criticism. The quality of this product however, leaves a lot to be desired. The color is faded and changes variably throughout. The color bleeds from the edges and the images are fuzzy. You feel like trying to keep focusing the projector, but to no avail. The sound is clear, and the songs sound pretty much...
Published on April 28, 2008 by Ken Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Student Prince, April 28, 2008
The quality of the movie, The Student Prince is legendary, beyond criticism. The quality of this product however, leaves a lot to be desired. The color is faded and changes variably throughout. The color bleeds from the edges and the images are fuzzy. You feel like trying to keep focusing the projector, but to no avail. The sound is clear, and the songs sound pretty much as they should, but the film is re-recorded with an awful automatic volume control. All sounds have the same intensity. On silent passages, my sub woofer would rumble, and there were hisses and scratches. Soft sounds were made louder. Rustling of clothing sounds like sandpaper. After low volume sections, the start of dialogue is loud until the AVC cuts in to control it. Why couldn't they just re-record the sound track as it was? Given the fact that this movie has not been available on DVD until now, it is better to have this in your collection than not to have the Student Prince at all, but be warned. It is more like a second or third generation VHS recording than a DVD. Acceptable but cruddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd Love to be Serenaded by a Prince if I'd Just Lost My Job, October 1, 2001
The title for this review is a reference to the scene in the movie in which Prince Karl's antics in a restaurant result in the dismissal of the heroine, Kathie Ruder, from her job as a waitress. After she turns in her uniform on that clear night, she subsequently has a hostile encounter with the Prince in the street, and shortly afterwards, he breaks into Romberg's immortal "Serenade", which no one to this day can sing quite like Mario Lanza.
While it is regrettable that Lanza lost the title role of this film in in a 1954 scandal that looks like absolutely nothing compared to the O.J. Case, his angelic vocalization is the main course of this colorful, delectable tale.
Edmond Purdom managed to do justice to the part of the prince who walks with kings but until he goes to the University of Heidelberg, has no idea how to keep the common touch. Betta St. John is his very regal fiance who, after being the guest of honor at a sumptuous ball, brings the Prince's lack of warmth and charm to the attention of the king and queen, setting the events of this story in motion. While this colorful film tanked at the box office, it is quite enjoyable to watch because many people can identify to having to drop out of school or a job because of a family crisis, as Prince Karl must during the course of this story. Ann Blyth has a lot of maturity as the love interest who helps a prince grow up, Edmund Gwenn as the jovial Professor Juttner and John Williams as the stuffy Lutz help give the prince a bit of balance as he saunders back and forth between the two worlds of royal tradition and University life. Interestingly, it was around this time that Britain's Prince Charles became the first Royal to be educated outside of Buckingham Palace--a major media event because it was hoped that he would become a better monarch if he was better acquainted with the people he would one day rule.
Louis Calhern is every inch the regal monarch, still maintaing a booming authority in his voice even when he is termianlly ill. Evelyn Varden is his shrewd Queen. In one of his last performances, S.Z. Sakall, the only cast member with a German accent, plays the inkeeper who watches as the prince learns to become a person, but tries to keep the relationship between the prince and his niece from becoming too serious.
In the end the paths of lovers may sever. But "The Student Prince" is a musical that will be remembered forever.Rather than being mournful, however, its motto is ever relevant:" Gaudeamus Igitur".--"Let us rejoice while we are young!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, out of focus, not synchronized, July 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was advertised as as new. It's new in that it is a newly made cheap, poor copy from Korea. Korea makes many good things, but these extremely poor DVDs are not the good things. There's a company in Brazil who buys the copyright and then makes excellent copy DVDs of grand old movies. I have an old VHS of this movie that is demonstably better than this cheap, tawdry, bogus imitation. It was badly out of vocus, movements were choppy and out of synch, and the audio was fuzzy and chopped.

It is an insult to the movie business and the artists to put out this cheap crap and call it "new." It is patently dishonest -- not merely disingenous -- to advertise this as new.

Let's all bug Turner to show this movie on TCM where a better copy may be downloaded that is far better in quality than these pirated excrement.

But it WAS cheap. Caveat emptor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music...Heartbreaking Story, July 31, 2003
By 
I will not recap the story behind this beautiful musical....other reviewers have done this well. All I want to say is be prepared to be delighted by the music and destroyed by the ending of the story. No matter how many times I've seen The Student Prince I end up a whimpering mess at it's conclusion. Very bittersweet and all too real, impossible love situations destroy me. That look on Ann Blyth's face, as the Prince she loves but cannot have visits her one last time, haunts me well after the film concludes, at which time I'm crying like a baby. In fact, as I write these sentences I'm crying again!! Too bad that Mario Lanza was not given the acting role (for whatever reason). We do get to hear his glorious singing voice dubbed with actor Edmund Purdom doing a credible acting job. But it is the radiant Ann Blyth (with her own beautiful singing voice) that steals the show for me, and I'm a gay man!! I only hope the DVD will follow soon.
Recommended for all lovers of romance. Have the tissues ready for the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below average, October 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The DVD was exactly as I remember the movie from the 50's. Delivery was excellent and price was reasonable. However, the quality of the movie was below that to which I have become accustomed. Additionally the movie track, both video and audio, did skip on three or four different occasions, for several seconds, but did correct itself and continue playing after each instance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MAGNIFICENT MUSICAL!!!, August 17, 2005
One of Sigmund Romberg's BEST...and beautifully adapted to film.

That said, WHY ISN'T WARNER STUDIOS TRANSFORMING IT TO DVD?!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The classic that might have been, October 16, 2001
Edmund Purdom does a fine job of lip-synching to Mario Lanza in this beautiful fairytale of a movie. The combination of Lanza's glorious romanticism and Purdom's very British demeanour is an odd combination, but it works - after a fashion. It helps that Purdom was actually singing along with Lanza's pre-recorded vocals - a daunting task for any singer, let alone a non-professional like Purdom. (The actor spent three months practising with the recordings, and commented 20 years later: "It was enough to make you sweat - just listening to the voice.")
It's to Purdom's credit that he persevered, for Lanza's singing is at the very core of this movie. The Serenade, Drinking Song, Beloved, Golden Days and I'll Walk With God are without peer, and represent the pinnacle of Lanza's achievement in English language song. Lanza's timbre was at its most ravishing by this time (1952) and he imbues these songs with such magic that every word sparkles - a feat not lost on Purdom, who later compared Mario's poetic artistry to that of the great soprano Elizabeth Schwarzkopf.
The Student Prince is loosely based on Sigmund Romberg's operetta, with three new songs (Beloved, I'll Walk With God and Summertime in Heidelberg) by Nicholas Brodszky replacing some of the more dated Romberg numbers. The film is a decided improvement on the creaky original and boasts a witty script, replete with memorable one-liners from the screen-writing duo of Sonya Levien and William Ludwig, scenarists for Lanza's The Great Caruso.
Ann Blyth provides worthy support as Kathy, the barmaid with whom The Student Prince falls in love, and the hilarious supporting cast includes such seasoned pros as Edmund Gwenn, SZ (Cuddles) Sakall and John Williams.
Aside from Lanza's absence, what ultimately makes this merely a good movie rather than a classic is Richard Thorpe's uninspired direction. His stolid by-the-numbers approach (ie long shot, then medium shot, then close-up) is at its most obvious during the musical numbers, where he lacks the magical touch that the story - and the music - demands. Still, he was undoubtedly a better choice than Curtis Bernhardt, the "Prussian pickle" (to paraphrase one of the characters in this movie) originally slated to direct, and the real reason for Lanza walking out on The Student Prince.
But watch this movie for its irresistible fairytale appeal, and the magic of Mario Lanza at his extraordinary best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a fairytale, October 10, 2005
I'd had this video for years and can't tell you how many times I watched. It's like watching a beautiful fairytale. The setting, the costumes, the music are all beautiful. The entire cast superb. The only disappointing thing about this movie is that Mario Lanza did not get to perform the part of the prince even though he had recorded all the songs for the movie--it's his voice you hear--and the screenplay was written especially for him. But because he had a problem controlling his weight, the studio replaced him with Edmund Purdom, whom I think did a superb job overall--you can not tell he's not the one really singing. I love Ann Blyth as the leading lady--so lovely and so is her voice. All the songs are beautiful, and Mario's voice is out of this world. I gave my video to Anthony Kearns(one of the Irish Tenors) at one of his concerts and told him they should do a remake of this movie using him as the prince (of course they would have to deal with the Irish accent). As it turns out, Anthony now sings two of the songs from this movie. I recently got another video of this movie from Amazon.com and can once again watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Musical but Sad Love Story !!, October 9, 2005
I finally got the opportunity to purchase this movie, and it is the singing of Mario Lanza that blows me away . My favorites are "Beloved" , "Serenade" and "Summertime in Heidelberg", and "Deep in My Hear, Dear" , everytime I hear Mario sang those songs to Kathie , my heart just melts. Edmund Purdom does make a very handsome prince and very good lip synching too. Must of been a very tough job for him. Ann Blyth was perfect in her role as the barmaid, and what a lovely soprano voice she has!! Edmund and Ann make a great couple and they had very good chemistry working together, no wonder they did a movie together again the following year "The King's Thief" . A must watch for musical lover's fan. 5 stars for singing and acting !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario's Voice and Edmund's Body, July 14, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mario Lanza was slated to star in this great movie. Unfortunately, he gained a lot of weight and was replaced - not just directorial differences, but Lanza's eating/drinking were taking him over - a sad by-product of fame for some. Edmund Purdom is not Lanza but he does make a handsome prince. When I first saw the close-ups, I noticed that the synching wasn't quite in-synch...but one soon forgives and forgets. This is a lovely story with outstanding music - in all, a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Student Prince (1954)
The Student Prince (1954) by Richard Thorpe (DVD - 2011)
$19.99 $10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.