Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - although a mistake on how to jump start a car
This is truly a great book. Great gift for a college grad, new son-in-law, wedding party member, or your spouse.

The range of subjects is amazingly broad. There is guaranteed to be something that you didn't know before in this book.

There is one mistake - on how to jump start a car. The tip calls for using standard jumper cables with four clamps -...
Published on March 14, 2010 by W. Ryan

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mostly fluff.
in the kindle edition in particular, there are numerous tables for things the book is trying to relate and they're virtually impossible to read. changing the font size does nothing to increase the size of the text held in the tables. beyond that, the book is mostly fluff. I sat down this morning, glanced through the pages to test my new phone with kindle before heading...
Published 17 months ago by Zep Greenfelder


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - although a mistake on how to jump start a car, March 14, 2010
By 
W. Ryan (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
This is truly a great book. Great gift for a college grad, new son-in-law, wedding party member, or your spouse.

The range of subjects is amazingly broad. There is guaranteed to be something that you didn't know before in this book.

There is one mistake - on how to jump start a car. The tip calls for using standard jumper cables with four clamps - two Black and two Red.

Here is the sequence in the book: (starting from the step # where the clamps are attached...)

5. Red to Positive on fully charged battery
6. Red to Positive on discharged battery
7. Black to ground on metal on the dead car's engine (this step should be attaching Black to Negative on the discharged battery)
8. Black to Negative on the fully charged battery (this step should be ground to metal on the live car's engine)

Why? Because the final connection - the 4th one - will cause a spark. None of the first three connections will cause a spark because the circuit is incomplete. That spark can cause an explosion of the Hydrogen gas that MAY be leaking from either of the car batteries. The final connection should be far away from the battery (either one) as possible to avoid the potential explosion.

Buy the book anyway. It's superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and geat gift, June 23, 2009
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband and brothers for father's day and they loved it. It really makes a great gift. My husband is going to be in a wedding and is going to buy it for the the other men in the wedding party. I am very satified with this purchase and am now hoping they come out with "Stuff Every Woman Should Know".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I now know everything, May 2, 2009
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
This is a straight-forward, easy to read and very concise pocket guide for "guy stuff". It is jam packed with highly useful knowledge. Someone gave it to me as a gift and I have since bought it for a bunch of my guys friends. I recommend it for all guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mostly fluff., July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
in the kindle edition in particular, there are numerous tables for things the book is trying to relate and they're virtually impossible to read. changing the font size does nothing to increase the size of the text held in the tables. beyond that, the book is mostly fluff. I sat down this morning, glanced through the pages to test my new phone with kindle before heading to work and found I'd read the whole book before even getting in the shower. When the book does actually venture into the range of telling you something (beside things like 'you really shouldn't be fighting'), there's a an abundance of wisdom gems like 'in jumpstarting your car, you should consult your owners manual.' so you're seriously paying $x for a book that tells you to go RTFM.

I think anyone considering this book should really reconsider their purchase before getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun little book, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
This is a cute, little, fun present for your boyfriend. He liked it. Go for it!

The information is useful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential "how to" for everything "MAN". This book is a must read, May 4, 2009
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
This book is a fantastic read. I am expecting my first son in about 6 weeks and now that I've read this book, I know I'll be able to teach him all of the things he will need to know to be a man. Whether it's how to change a flat tire, how to make the perfect omelette, or how to build a campfire, this book has the answer, and now, so do I. It is the ultimate textbook for being a guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for every man, April 6, 2009
By 
A. Sokolic (San Clemente, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
Stuff Every Man Should Know has something for everyone....weather it's knowledge of how to handle yourself on the golf course... how to give a speech....tell an appropriate joke or my personal favorite how to let one rip in a public place.... all knowledge every man should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good summary review of SOME of the things every man should know something about., September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
I have always been a sucker for books that are filled with useful tips and information. This small hardcover pocket size 144 page book is filled with interesting and helpful information men should know something about. This is not to say all the information is completely valid or even complete in this brief summary.

One example of very poor advice in this book is on how to throw a punch. I suspect the author has very limited experience in actually throwing any punches and probably got the information from a karate book rather than a boxer's point of view. Pulling your opposite hand back to your hip rather than stressing the turning of the hips and waist as you throw a punch is bad advice. Your opposite hand should be held high next to your face (To block a counter attack) as you use your weight, hips and waist together when throwing a punch. One other important point. If you want to throw a knockout punch you should learn how to drop your weight as you throw the punch. This was one of the secrets the great Jack Dempsey used to knock out his opponents. For more details get a good boxing book or talk to an experienced boxer or other full contact fighters.

In conclusion, this book was fun to read and it did have some very useful and sometimes humorous tips; however, you may want to check out some of the suggestions with an expert in the field.

Rating: 3 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Martial Art Myths)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Graduation Gift!, July 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
Every year I give this book to any boys I know who are graduating from high school. It really is just simple stuff boys need to know, from how to change a tire to how to tie a bow tie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many subjects explained so clearly., March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) (Hardcover)
Thank you for so many helpful subjects and for explaining them so clearly. Really appreciate your work. Wish I had learned all so many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions)
Stuff Every Man Should Know (Pocket Companions) by Brett Cohen (Hardcover - March 1, 2009)
$9.95 $5.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.