Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addiction is not the only problem, best relapse prevention book I've read.
In research supported by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, tests using PET scans of addict's brains demonstrate that once addiction has been established, the addict's brain physically changes, possibly forever. These changes make it difficult for an addict to learn from their experiences. Psychological processes, such as denial, and neuro-psychological processes, such...
Published on July 18, 2011 by Barbara S. Reeves

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well. 5 pages in. I'm told all I have to do is surrender.
And I quote:

'If we surrender, our disease loses its control over our lives'.

Hmmmm. Where have I heard that before?

A lot of references to following 'The Program'.

That sounds familiar also.

It's AA.

If AA works for you don't bother buying the book. You know all you need to know.

If AA does NOT...
Published 10 months ago by Ben Carter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addiction is not the only problem, best relapse prevention book I've read., July 18, 2011
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
In research supported by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, tests using PET scans of addict's brains demonstrate that once addiction has been established, the addict's brain physically changes, possibly forever. These changes make it difficult for an addict to learn from their experiences. Psychological processes, such as denial, and neuro-psychological processes, such as state-dependent learning, interfere with the addict's ability to retain the needed information necessary to break the bonds of addiction. This is one key trait that all addicts share - they don't "learn their lesson." This is why it's also said in twelve step groups that there is no mental defense against addiction; a fit spiritual condition is our only hope. Allen Berger has written "12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery" to help us stay in fit spiritual condition.

The 12 stupid things are:

1) Believing addiction to one substance is the only problem.
2) Believing sobriety will fix everything.
3) Pursuing recovery with less energy than pursuing addiction.
4) Being selectively honest.
5) Feeling special and unique.
6) Not making amends.
7) Using the program to become perfect.
8) Confusing self-concern with selfishness.
9) Playing futile self-improvement games.
10) Not getting help for relationship troubles.
11) Believing that life should be easy.
12) Using the program to handle everything.

Once we get the monkey off our backs, emotional sobriety is the next step in recovery. Because drugs and alcohol suppress emotions, addicts don't develop the emotional maturity necessary to learn from life experiences. Once the drugs and alcohol are removed, we still have to face the problems we've been running from: severe and incapacitating depression or anxiety, chronic relationship problems, underachievement, unprocessed traumas, insomnia, anger and rage, self-hate, fear of social interactions, inability to pursue dreams, thoughts of suicide, feeling lost and alone, and constantly thinking about using. Many of these problems are what caused us to become addicted in the first place, so if we don't learn how to deal with them, just simply not using is not going to work. These problems are not going to go away on their own.

"12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery" is one of the best relapse prevention books I've read. As every addict will tell you, quitting is easy, it's staying quit that is hard. If you are serious about recovery, and really want to quit, but just can't seem to, you may be making one or more of these mistakes, so read this book and give it another try.

David Allan Reeves
Author of "Running Away From Me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, March 24, 2009
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
Relapse prevention is an often overlooked aspect of recovery. The alcoholic /addict in early sobriety is excited to be clean and sober, often riding the so-called 'pink cloud'. This almost euphoric feeling can instill an over confidence and exuberance that may cause the addict to fail to recognize early signs of relapse. Without such awareness and hence preventative measures, relapse can creep up on the individual. By the time the signs are clearly evident, the relapse is in full effect. Relapse happens long before the drug, drink or behavior is picked up or acted upon.
Regardless of what stage of recovery you are in, this book can give you an awareness that might just save your life.

John Derry,
Director,A Home Away, Addiction Recovery Retreat
Kelowna, BC, Canada
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allen Berger, February 1, 2011
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
Length:: 1:47 Mins

Hope you enjoy the review...but I really hope you enjoy the book! It was a joy to read! You can learn more about me at addicted-to-recovery.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are never too many steps.., June 20, 2011
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
I have been in a Twelve Step Program for more than thirty years and this is one of the best books I have read about relapse...It has answered many unanswered questions in a direct and easy to understand manner...It is very enjoyable reading...not like a textbook. I have learned some valuable things about this addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User Friendly Tool for Those in Recovery, May 4, 2008
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
A well-written, user friendly book that allows both individuals who are new in recovery or who have been in recovery for years to focus on the issues that are truly important in recovery. Dr. Berger interlaces his own personal recovery experiences with the wisdom that he has gained as a clinician over many years and created a book that is sure to provide hope to many in recovery. Overall, an excellent book for individuals in recovery and for clinicians who seek to understand their clients more fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any library catering to addicts needs this, December 12, 2008
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
To grow in recovery, emotional growth is key - which means facing up to defeatist attitudes and understanding how sobriety is placed at risk. Common beliefs can easily sabotage recovery: Allen Berger provides tools with insights on how change happens and how a daily program can help tailor and direct change to avoid messing up the recovery process. Any library catering to addicts needs this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Stupid things that mess up recovery, March 25, 2008
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book for anyone at any stage in their recovery. It is easy to understand. It gives another way to look at an old problem "How to maintain recovery". As someone who has worked in the field of addiction medicine for over 30 years I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Support is key..., January 3, 2010
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
I tried for years to go-it-alone. Getting sober is easy, to stay sober, support is key. Read all the books you can get your hands on - this is a good one!

Get to a 12-step support group. 12 years ago, that is what finally helped me to get clean and sober...and stay clean and sober.

Blessings on your journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, May 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
I recently read 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery by Dr. Allen Berger and it is one of the best books on recovery that I have read. As I am in recovery, this has been very insightful into the complexities of the disease of addiction. I plan on using it as a one of my daily life tools and am already sharing it with other people in recovery. Thank you so much Dr. Berger, I plan on reading more of your books and look forward to helping others with the knowledge you are giving us.

Grateful to be sober.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, January 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son who has been in recovery for over 9 months, he is a grateful member of NA and says that this book is excellent in the different perspectives and examples and he believes it is an asset to anyone in recovery, it is simple to understand and as well to apply. HE LOVES IT and is sharing it with others in his support group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery: Avoiding Relapse through Self-Awareness and Right Action
$14.95 $12.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.