Customer Reviews


1,115 Reviews
5 star:
 (527)
4 star:
 (173)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (257)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


338 of 377 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughing on the outside
Michael Moore is a muckraker, an American original, and a versatile and funny man. He has written a noisy and important book. Despite its jokey title, it's about lots more than "stupid white men." Moore is righteously indignant about out current American state of affairs: the huge disparity between rich and poor, racism, pollution, unemployment, sinking...
Published on February 19, 2002 by Eileen G.

versus
79 of 106 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rantings of a Proletarian Poser
While I agree with many of the issues addressed in this book, I couldn't ignore the sanctimonious and condescending manner in which it was written. Moore, perhaps unwittingly, repeatedly talks down to his target audience, namely me. Being a working class liberal, I found many of the author's remarks offensive, many of his facts skewed and many of his arguments...
Published on April 17, 2003 by Randall Di Giuseppe


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

338 of 377 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughing on the outside, February 19, 2002
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Michael Moore is a muckraker, an American original, and a versatile and funny man. He has written a noisy and important book. Despite its jokey title, it's about lots more than "stupid white men." Moore is righteously indignant about out current American state of affairs: the huge disparity between rich and poor, racism, pollution, unemployment, sinking educational standards, women's issues, American violence and media culture. (When he likes someone or something, you know it, too.). He supports his opinions with facts and figures. Helpfully, he includes specific instructions to readers who might want to contact their Congressional Representative (an act that Moore asserts can be quite effective), organize in their own communities, and intelligently make a difference.
Moore's first and easiest target in this book is the current administration and, in his view, wholly illegitimate ascendancy to the Presidency of George W. Bush. Moore is irate about what he views as Bush's appalling lack of "Presidential" qualifications, his untruthfulness regarding his past, and his vast array of family and financial connections. Moore's retelling of the stealing of the election, via the delivery of the Florida vote before the election ever took place (by the pre-Election day illegal disenfranchisement of thousands of Democratic voters) will shock readers. Although ignored by US media when it broke, it is factual, and it is appalling.
Moore's style, unfortunately, is part student activist and part class clown. This clash of roles is at times a hindrance to his effectiveness. He is funny, and he loves to kid around, but at times his humor is slapstick - which didn't always work for me. He sometimes tends toward sarcasm, or volume (he will use all caps, for emphasis) which isn't really necessary given the importance of his message. In addition, disconcertingly, the book's tone changes midway through. In the first half Moore supplies the reader with a variety of important lists: "How to Stage the Countercoup," a sensible how-to for community organizers; "Survival Tips for White America," which is a serious discussion of ways to end racism; and the useful "Guide to Student Rights." Inexplicably, though, halfway through this book his lists change, and become jokey. "How to Use Less Gas," for example, has among its bullet points "Siphon gas from parked cars at airports," "Hitchhike," and "Live in your office or place of work." His chapter on gender issues is very funny, but I'm not quite sure why it's in the book. He is serious, but then he jokes at times about surviving global warming, recycling, and gender issues, too - at the expense of his thesis, which is that things are messed up and badly need changing if the people (_all_ the people) of the US are to thrive.
This an important book with more than several messages toward advancing an old institution Moore thinks is definitely worth saving: American democracy. "Stupid White Men" is deadly serious in places, and funny in others, and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


228 of 258 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Page-turning comedy - Moore tells the truth, February 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Whether or not you agree with Moore's political analysis, his views on economic racisms, and his contempt for the status quo - you WILL laugh. The facts can't be disputed, and he dispells just that - facts. This book SHOULD be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


885 of 1,020 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh, But Learn, and Make Those Changes, February 19, 2002
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
_Stupid White Men_ by Michael Moore was supposed to be published in October, but the copies printed in September were going to be shredded, since the publisher thought that humorous attacks on President Bush and his partners would not be welcome after 9-11. There was a quiet campaign to get it to readers, and HarperCollins eventually did the right thing: it has released the book unchanged and uncensored, and Moore has said he admires the courage it showed in doing so. You don't have to be a fan of Moore's famous anti-corporate, anti-racist, and anti-conservative views to appreciate that this is a real victory.
You would be right to assume that "President" Bush (as Moore likes to call him) will not be pleased by the book. Some of the chapters now have sort of a quaint ring, like "A Very American Coup," which explains what really happened to give Florida to Bush in the last election. It's not a matter of chads or butterfly ballots. Bush's brother and his aids were able to purge the polls of black voters, who would have turned out for Gore. It took the BBC to uncover this story, and by the time the American papers got it, no one was very interested. There is plenty more sleaze to this tale, which Moore obviously enjoys telling, and if you want to check on what he claims, he gives references at the end of the book; there are few humor books with a "Notes and Sources" section. It may no longer be unpatriotic to poke fun at the current President, but Moore does not restrict himself to Bush bashing, being equally tough on Clinton and Gore. There are wonderful shots fired here, and a good laugh on almost every page. Bush's inaugural parade came up against protesters armed with eggs and tomatoes and "Hail to the Thief" signs at the point in the parade when the brand new President usually gets out and walks. "Then, suddenly, the President's car bolted and tore down the street. The decision had been made - hit the gas and get past this rabble as quickly as possible. The Secret Service agents running beside the limo were left behind, the car's tires splashing dirty rain from the street onto the men who were there to protect its passenger. It might have been the finest thing I have ever witnessed in Washington, D.C. - a pretender to the American throne forced to turn tail and run from thousands of American citizens armed only with the Truth and the ingredients of a decent omelet." A hilarious letter to President Arafat advises him to initiate mass nonviolent civil disobedience, rather than to keep drawing blood; if this advice had been taken, could the Palestinians be in any worse shape now? About the conflict in Northern Ireland, his advice takes on that of Swift's "Modest Proposal": "This nonsense has gone on long enough. I have a solution that will bring permanent peace to the area: Convert the Protestants of Northern Ireland to Catholicism....Naturally, most of the Protestants won't want to convert - but since when has that stopped the Catholic Church?... All you need is a little water to pour over any Protestant's forehead, and then repeat the following words: 'I baptize thee in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost, Amen.' That's it! It takes longer to join Weight Watchers!"
It is going to get hard for Moore if things change to the way he wants, for he will have to make his humor out of less urgent and deadly matters. But he is pushing. "If you're finding yourself in a massive fit of rage and start itching to put this damn book down and call your congressman / woman, then folks, do it." He then gives easy access numbers and e-mail references, and it is hard to believe that some readers are not going to do just that. His calls for getting involved on school boards and within other branches of local governments are just what people should be hearing and acting on. If you want good laughs about serious provocation, and serious advocacy, this book is tops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


528 of 618 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand up and fight for America and I will stand up with you, February 19, 2002
By 
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Michael Moore has an uncanny knack for speaking up just when he is needed most.
Over the past year or so, I've read quite a few books about the stolen election, lack of media freedom, foreign relations, and plenty of books that have some liberal agenda to them (environment / bio-food / political repression of dissent). After reading all those books, I've sort of developed a defeatist attitude. Positive, progressive change looked so distant and remote that I only seemed to want to know more, but not do anything about it.
....
Many conservatives feel that liberals are weak and don't like to fight. These conservatives have obviously never been to a Michael Moore reading or a Ralph Nader rally. Democrats of the last few years have been silent, even though they are a majority. In violation of the old proverb "let sleeping dogs lie", Bush II and his far right policies have aroused us and we have begun fighting back.
Every chapter in this book attacks the policies of the last three presidents plus our current governor. To all you republicans reading this, his numero uno target happens to be Clinton. Imagine that, someone criticizing a member of his own political party. I think you republicans should try it once or twice.
In the chapter "Democrats, DOA," Moore indicts the democratic party for its rightward drift. He even rattles off a list of offenses that sound like Bush II but are Clinton policies and directives.
In "Idiot Nation," a chapter on the sad state of education and knowledge of foreign affairs in America, Moore takes on Bush's education policies and gives us a lesson in current heads of state around the globe.
The best chapter though has to be "We're Number One." In it Moore challenges our perceptions about the world and he offers funny yet serious insightful commentary on international current affairs. It also contains a wonderful open letter to Arafat asking him to stop the violence and adopt the tactics of Gandhi or Martin Luther King Jr. and act nonviolently. He says that if Arafat and the militants will do this and Israel still keeps bombing and repressing them then the world will see the truth and the Palestinians will win. But if they keep bombing Israeli Jews, then (due to the understanding that Israel fears, rightfully so, that they are targets for elimination once again) he will have to stand with Israel.
I look forward to the book tour, it should be interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


212 of 248 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Moore Has Done It Again!, February 19, 2002
By 
ADAM STANHOPE (Kingston, Massachusetts USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
This book is the Michael Moore we all know and love. This book is sure to please fans of Michael's humor and of his politics.
This book was a page turner from the moment I opened it. I was literally on the edge of my seat through most of it, especially the chapter where Michael and his rag-tag group of Latin American freedom fighters scaled the fences surrounding the Groom Lake Air Force Base and engaged in hand-to-hand combat with armed government men driving tinted window sedans without license plates. I wept for his fallen comrades.
Easter is coming and I can think of no more appropriate gift for the children or other loved ones in your life than a copy of this fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a satirical revelation regardless of Enron, February 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Moore has really taken the leap. It's about time, in this sound-bite, corporate controlled media and political culture of ours that we can get an erudite, disturbing, and necessary critique of what our nation has become, and what the future holds if the average citizen doesn't get a clue or angry enough to experience a revolution of the mind. The quality of life on this planet-- economically, politically, and ecologically-- is endangered by the select few we all too often idolize or condone. If you are a true conservative, you value "freedom from" i.e. negative freedom. If you are a true liberal, you value "freedom to" i.e. positive freedom. Moore's book should appeal to readers of both viewpoints; it speaks to simple common sense about how democracy should be the true golden rule (when it sadly has not been that in a long, long, time). I would say that along with Pete Hamill's PIECEWORK, Moore's book depicts, analyzes, and critiques the state of modern American civilization better than any pundits on TV-- conservative or liberal-- can or dare to. Hopefully, a 21st century Great Awakening will ensue, before it is too late. Lastly, those who have trashed this book have a smug, nefarious agenda; either they have not read the book or they lack the capacity for introspection, reflection, and empathy (the same "elite" who didn't get Swift's "Modest Proposal" three centuries ago still exist-- how sad). The revolution will not be televised, especially if the title characters have a say in it. Thank God for Michael Moore! Read this book, and pass it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth shall set us free, February 24, 2002
By 
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Finally someone speaks the truth. Hopefully all of those who are purchasing the book read it not just for its humor but for the facts it conveys. These details are both revealing and shocking, not only in how our current "leaders" obtained their positions but also the extent to which these crimes extend. Mr. Moore, please keep up the good work and come to Dallas when you can. Kudos to Harper Collins for eventually releasing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Democracy!, February 24, 2002
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
This book is a cry for democracy, for truth, justice and even the America Way. Michael Moore is obviously a huge fan of freedom and peoples' rights, he is a patriotic American who loves his country and hates the thing sthat are done in it's name.
His style is easy to read and yet packed full of detail and research.
Buy this book if you love democracy and want to know what your politicians are really doing for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What every American needs to know--even elephants!!, February 23, 2002
By 
Cindy Elavsky (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
What makes this book an excellent expose of the American culture as we DON'T know it, is because is isn't written by a staunch Republican OR Democrat. Michael Moore is a man who deserves his OWN party, The Moores. We want "moore" from our politicians, and we expect "moore" from the people in charge of our country.
Don't go into reading this as, "just another lefty trying to bring down the righties." Mr. Moore just wants to make it known to all of us that there are a lot of bad, scheming people out there who are trying to run our lives for us -- Republicans and Democrats alike.
If anything, read this for the information. You may dismiss it with a closed mind, if you so desire. But if you insist on remaining so naive as to think corruption doesn't rule the world, then it won't matter if you read this book or not. Your stubborness makes you blind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, funny look at what's wrong with our country, February 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation! (Hardcover)
Michael Moore has done it again! Here is an entertaining book that makes the bitter truth a little easier to read. It's a very funny look at the ugly manipulations of the corporate takeover of the US. Every chapter provides plenty of food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stupid White Men ...And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation!
$25.95
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.