Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid information for new eBook publishers
Publishing a book has never been easier and more to the point the number of people involved in the process is now at the bare minimum with no editors making demands you may think unreasonable or wanting to make changes that you are not totally satisfied with in order to publish.

If you are considering writing an eBook to publish for sale or just to distribute...
Published 19 months ago by Neil

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, but boring - will get you started self-publishing
While you can see the author put a great deal of effort into this book, it's not the first book I'd recommend to people who want to self-publish their own book. Others are simpler to read and more straightforward. This is a rambling book which covers the entire gamut of self-publishing. He is unabashedly pro KDP Select, which may not be the best approach for everyone -...
Published 20 months ago by Robert C. Worstell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid information for new eBook publishers, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
Publishing a book has never been easier and more to the point the number of people involved in the process is now at the bare minimum with no editors making demands you may think unreasonable or wanting to make changes that you are not totally satisfied with in order to publish.

If you are considering writing an eBook to publish for sale or just to distribute for free then I would suggest you have a read of this quite excellent book. 42 topics spread across 7 logical sections have been amassed to provide just about everything you need or could want to know about writing, publishing and marketing your own eBook and everything before, during and after these particular processes. Comprehensive is the one word I would use to describe it. I have seen other publications on the same theme that have half or less of the content on offer here. It could be argues there is too much information but I do not share that opinion.

Do you have to be all knowledgeable about book publishing before reading it? No.
Do you have to have thorough and in depth knowledge about computers? No

However, it may still fall in to a band where some people might struggle to make sense of it all as it is quite in depth. Having said that, if you have a little prior knowledge then most, if not all should make sense and get you on your way.

One aspect that I found well explained was on the topic of the cover design, an aspect often overlooked by the aspiring author. I don't want to over-emphasize this section above any of the others but I would draw your attention to it and provides some very useful ideas that you may not think about yourself.

For authors outside of the UK, note the copyright information in section 2, it is provided for US authors only. You will need to find the appropriate details for your country but the principles still apply and something you need to consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Resource, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
Successful eBook Publishing by David Wogahn was an excellent read! I was impressed by the knowledge he displayed, and he was very thorough in explaining the entire process, from having the initial manuscript to pre-publishing to marketing your ebook.

I found it very helpful for him to start with the basics, such as actually explaining what an ebook is, and the devices ebooks can be used on. This part of the tutorial alone would be very valuable to people just starting to delve into ebooks. I have found that, even in today's world, not everyone knows the "simple" technological things that many of us do. Mr. Wogahn did a fantastic job explaining the importance of layout: the design, format, book covers, etc., while maintaining the fact that even if your book is destined to be an ebook, there are still options if you want to have it printed in paperback/hardcover later on.

The author's section on actually creating your ebook was simply invaluable. I think that this would be the most challenging part of publishing a book (for me), and he presented it wonderfully. File conversion, layout, formatting and design are crucial components for getting it "right" and making an ebook pleasing to the eye, and easy to read. He also did a great job showing the importance of marketing. He makes very good points in this; writing an ebook does no good unless you know how to distribute and market it!

I appreciated the content in this book, because I have often thought, "I could write a book!" This book gives me a place to start, and ideas for what to do when I get stuck! Thanks, Mr. Wogahn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A precious guide, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
I'm no professional author. Just like to write a little here and there but do plan to bring out a book of my own somewhere down the line. And this whole e-publishing thing always puzzled me.

What took so long and so much effort in publishing, copying, printing, and logistics in the past can now all be done online. But it does have its own caveats. And just doing it is not equal to doing it right. That was a concern for me looking at a future where my work would be published.

This book is like a breath of fresh air. Not only does it do a fine job of guiding you through every aspect of Ebook publishing but also shows you the best ways of doing each step. It encompasses every single thing from the A to the Z of Ebook publishing, and does so in a language that is so easy to follow.

Guide books are many but books that show you the way and let you carry on with confidence are far and few. And this is one such book. I know it's not easy to write this sort of a guide but the author has done a wonderful job of going where few guide book authors can.

I was impressed by the simple ways in which steps and things are explained here. And if you are looking at having your own work published in this new world of electronic books then this should be your go-to guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Every Author Looking to E-publish, November 13, 2012
By 
J. Drake "Human girl" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
David Wogahn's book is the Holy Grail of successful epublishing. It should be a required read for every small press and independent author looking to publish their ebook on Amazon. Filled with no nonsense nuts and bolts information, it will guide you through the publishing process--from understanding the exploding ebook market to the essentials of the pre-publishing process, to creating and distributing your ebook and marketing it to readers. Seriously, if you do EXACTLY what he tells you to do, your ebook will be successful. It's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, an A-to-Z Guide on eBook Publishing, November 9, 2012
At last, a highly comprehensive guide is available on the topic of eBook publishing. Wogahan has created an A-to-Z guide, one that's packed with must-know info on eBook publishing and then some. I found the content extremely helpful and easy to absorb. This book is a time-saving tool, and a must-have resource guide for any author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opens up the Mystery of Publishing, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
This book gave me a huge insight of how to produce my book for the best sales. It is not about teaching you how or what to write, but how to be an Indie Book Publisher and make your book presentable for Publishers and Marketing Agents. I highly recommend you sit in on David Wogahn's video training course at Lynda.com. The course is the same name as the book.
Hugh Godman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, full of useful tips and good advice, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
Successful eBook Publishing by David Wogahn is what it says on the cover. While no book can guarantee you success, this one has all the ingredience to show you all the main steps you need to take to get your book published as an ebook, and to understand all the nuances and jargon used.

David takes time to explain the process that takes place to get your book published, and goes through the basics such as the importance of layout, design and format of your book. He then moves you gradually to the promotion of you book, explaining the important of book covers, the significance of getting good book reviews, and why having your own author website is so influential.

For someone who has already published a book in print and on Kindle, I found this book to be a useful reminder of the important steps you need to take. Yet it was more than this. It gave me insights into steps I had overlooked, and gave me tips I just had not considered before.

Another jewel in this book was David's decision to bring in experts and write their own articles on their areas of expertise. I thought this was a great touch and added even more value to the book. Perhaps the only thing I missed was a nice wrap-up chapter from him at the end of the novel. It's always good to hear his pearls of wisdom, even at the very end.

Thank you Mr. David Wogahn for a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning book!, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchsed to see how simple it was to become published an ebook. David Wogahn's book showed the process in great detail. Would recommend to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best E-Publishing Guide, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I get to read a book that has a comprehensive collection of valuable information and step-by-step instructions, from creation to promotion of your Kindle Book.

I have to say that this has to be my best buy of the year. The books has more to offer and judging by its price you could not ask for more. This is an A to Z guide for people who are interested in taking a step higher in making or creating their very own Kindle Books, the book even has concise details, with examples and recommendations that are really helpful.

Publishing E-books of your own will no longer be a problem anymore. This book is truly a time-saving tool, and a must-have resource guide for any author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Successful eBook Publishing: The Complete How-to Guide for Creating and Launching Your Amazon Kindle eBook (Kindle Edition)
If you have wanted to publish an eBook but didn't know where to start, this book is for you. Gives the aspiring author everything he or she will need to create and publish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.