Suck It, Wonder Woman! and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.99
  • Save: $4.71 (31%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by BaySideBooks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item has been gently used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek Paperback – January 18, 2011


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, January 18, 2011
$10.28
$1.91 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek + Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Price for both: $21.63

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "What If?" by Randall Munroe.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin (January 18, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312583761
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312583767
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.6 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (86 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,186,306 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Turn to page 92 now!”

- Garry Shandling

“A book only Olivia Munn could write. Better read it now; everyone’ll be talking about it tomorrow.”

- Stan Lee

"This book so good. You buy now. Okay, bye."

- Olivia’s mom

"If Citizen Kane were a book, this would be it."

- Jon Favreau

“She’s part Asian! And I like sushi.”

-Masi Oka

"This book confirms why Olivia has garnered a massive supportive following--she's fearless, honest, relatable, and truly funny."

-Elijah Wood

 

About the Author

Olivia Munn is an actress and comedian. She has an ucoming role on Aaron Sorkin's HBO dramady The Newsroom and is a correspondent on Comedy Central's The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Rolling Stone named Olivia one of the "Best Characters on TV" in 2010, saying she's "sarcastic and fearless ... with razor-sharp self-awareness." GQ named her one of the "113 Funniest in America." She has been voted to the #2 spot two years in a row on Maxim's Hot 100. Vanity Fair said, "It was damn near impossible not to be charmed by her... instantly likable.” She was anointed the "Queen of Comic-Con." The Washington Post has said that Olivia "cultivated this... with dry wit and a wink...swift and sharp with her improvised lines... Olivia was never at a loss for her place -- or for a one-liner." The New York Times, LA Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Magazine and USA Today have all shown their support of her sardonic humor. Known for going above and beyond to show her appreciation to fans, who she calls “more like friends than fans," Olivia says, "They've given me this amazing opportunity and life and I am beyond grateful." Raised between Oklahoma and Tokyo, Japan, she now resides in LA. 

More About the Author

Olivia Munn is an actress and also the television host of the popular G4 program "Attack of the Show." Known for her quick wit, impeccable timing, and self-effacing approach to comedy, she is the face of the G4 network and a hit with audiences everywhere. Entertainment Weekly put Olivia on their "2009 Must list," The New York Times and USA Today have shown their support of her sardonic personality, and Rolling Stone listed her as one of the four reasons they loved G4. Olivia has graced the cover of numerous magazines and is regularly seen on all of the major blogs. Her candor and loyalty to her fans established a following so fierce she's been anointed "Geek Goddess," "Queen of Comic Con," and "Leader of the Nerds." Raised between Oklahoma and Tokyo, Japan, Olivia now resides in LA.

Customer Reviews

What it is, is funny, sarcastic and witty.
M. Aaron
I won't go to great lengths comparing the three women; I'll just say those two women are comics, and Olivia Munn is not.
Amazon Customer
The stories are short enough to be interesting all the way through and it makes the book easy to read in short stints.
David A. Moen

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

186 of 216 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on October 16, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I have always enjoyed G4's "Attack of the Show", and the extremely beautiful Olivia Munn has always been a big reason. I bought this book hoping it would be a collection of humorous essays in the vein of Sarah Silverman or Chelsea Handler. What a disappointment. I won't go to great lengths comparing the three women; I'll just say those two women are comics, and Olivia Munn is not. Olivia is primarily known for wearing sexy costumes and claiming to be a hot female geek.

Olivia goes to great lengths to make us feel sorry for her exclusion for different cliques starting in kindergarten. She comes off as completely self centered and unaware that this is a normal part of childhood. She also needs someone to tell her that nobody feels sorry for the ugly duckling once it has become a well paid, famous, frequently lusted after swan. Not exactly the tear jerker she seemed to think it would be. Revealing that she was a cheerleader and model during her school years also takes a lot of the sting out of her self pity.

Another annoying habit Olivia gives in to is revealing the ugliest traits of the nameless high powered Hollywood directors and producers she tried to court favors from in her early career. It astonishes me when a girl who jumps into giant pies in a French maid uniform for a very comfortable living whines about being pursued by the very men she has gone to great lengths to meet in hopes of having them forward her career. It's the natural order of things for her to take things from them, but offensive if they try to take things from her.
Read more ›
12 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Wicked_Smaht on December 28, 2011
Format: Paperback
To be honest, I didn't give two figs about Olivia Munn either way when I sat down and read this book. Sure, I was aware of her co-hosting "Attack of the Show", she was on some sitcom for awhile (until it was cancelled) and I think I saw her on The Daily Show once or twice. Why would I read this book if my knowledge of her was so limited? Well, basically, it's because I get a guilty pleasure out of reading books written by celebrities (or ghost-written by other people with celebrities or vaguely looked at before a celebrity slaps their name on it) and, usually, the more useless a celebrity, the more unintentionally amusing the book. This book seemed like a prime candidate because it seemed like it would fit this last category so well. Olivia is a celebrity that is celebrated by geek culture, but for reasons that completely baffle me (maybe it's because I'm older and cool - which is not the target demographic for "Attack of the Show" and, ostensibly, Munn herself.)

From the first sentence of the introduction ("Yeah, so, I wrote a book.") to the closing line of the introduction ("f--- everybody who was ever mean to me"), I knew I was in for a treat because this was going to be a book with absolutely nothing to say for the next 288 pages. I got excited... and maybe even peed a little. Essentially, the book is broken up into three types of chapters: ones that are little anecdotes from Olivia's life, ones that pander to the geek crowd and ones that are total BS designed to waste paper. It would seem to me that most people would be interested in the first type, mildly amused by the second and totally baffled by the third.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Tevis Fen-Kortiay on November 5, 2011
Format: Paperback
The author spent her early life and modeling career going by her real name, Lisa Munn, but these days goes by her fancier middle-name, "Olivia." She's pretty enough to earn a good chunk of her income from men's magazines. Olivia pretty + men will laugh at even the weakest jokes of women they hope to maneuver into the sack = Munn suffers from the misimpression that she's not only funny, but professional comedian-caliber funny.

Munn is so above-average looking and so unfunny that I find myself cringing when she appears on the Daily Show, and perhaps uncharitably wondering which producer is sleeping with her (or more likely, hoping to sleep with her). In fact Munn has only made me laugh once, in the dark segment about her physically-abusive mother. People who have given up on attaining fame through talent or hard work can sometimes trade their privacy and dignity for the infamy of Reality TV, but if that's the path Munn is choosing, she's selling herself short. She's not only pretty but charismatic enough to vault over that fame-cesspool.

Munn frequently bills herself as a geek girl, which has ruffled some feathers due largely to her apparent lack of acknowledgment of her extreme body-privilege and her apparent contempt for the less fortunate. In Jedi Junkies, literally every one of her "jokes" is to bad-mouth Star Wars fans as presumed virgins who have never touched a breast. My goodness! An insult is not the same thing as a joke, lady. The strategy of bad-mouthing your fans while claiming to represent us could perhaps use some rethinking. Munn's only convincing nerdish attribute is that she seems to be genuinely emotionally dissociated/socially retarded enough to not realize that in her own book she strongly comes across as an unpleasant person.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?