Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

205 of 247 people found the following review helpful
Many kids

Enjoy Christmas

They like it a lot

And this film

Is about the Grinch

Who did not

The film gives the background, and fills in some blanks

The Grinch as a child was subjected to pranks

He fancied a Who, with the name Martha May

He tried to impress her and to his dismay

They laughed at his efforts, his gift and his face

So he destroyed the classroom and fled from that place


He moved to Mount Crumpet

And made him a home

While the green hairy creature seethed under the dome

Until one cold day at the town Christmas party

When young Cindy Lou showed him how to be hearty

Then Mayor May-Who went and spoiled all the fun

By taunting the Grinch 'til he came all undone

He went up his mountain, and he started scheming

And when he was through he was smiling and beaming

He'd ruin their Christmas; he knew what to do

Revenge is the sweetest when it's overdue

If you've read the story you know how it ends

How the Grinch stole that Christmas from his former friends

So what happened next?

I won't give it away

This Christmas this movie will show every day

So if you're a Grinch you can run, but not hide

As you try to stifle the feeling inside

Just gather the kids for a clean yuletide treat

Merry Christmas to all!

(Now this poem's complete)

Amanda Richards, December 10, 2006
2323 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2000
The new film version of the classic tale "How The Grinch Stole Christmas" has gotten mixed reviews. I went in with my hopes down, not excited by the frenzied trailers and reading comments like "gross out humor" and "charmless"...
In the week that it's been out, I've seen it twice and I'm going back a third time after Thanksgiving dinner...
When all is said and done, "The Grinch" is a wonderful movie; true to the original while taking justified liberties and expanding it, and maybe providing it's own, new unique riches the book and the animated version don't have. This film has been quite unfairly lambasted and compared. I'm sure no one will argue that Charles Dicken's "A Christmas Carol" is more of a classic than "The Grinch," How many versions of THAT do we have? With how many variations and elaborations, from Bill Murry to Mr. MaGoo?
Taken on it's own terms, "The Grinch" is a new holiday classic, hillarious and moving. Jim Carrey is magnificant; absolutely hillarious while always portraying the Grinch as a three-dimensional character, one who (believe it or not) is a grown child nursing a long buried wound. When it comes time to bring that wound to the surface and heal, it's a perfect and moving combination of Carrey, Ron Howard's direction and James Horner's score. Carrey, I think, deserves an Oscar nomination.
Visually inventive, wonderfully acted, it is the best fantasy film in a long time.
A Christmas movie that makes you laugh so hard so consistantly and then move you to tears by the end? Bah Humbug, critics and nay-sayers. A new classic for all ages, for all time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2002
Its the classic tale of the hate-filled outcast who with time grows to be accepted into society. In this instance, the Grinch, a hideous abnormality that lives off his passion for yuletide misery, is eventually persuaded from obscurity to join the Whos in their picture-perfect village. Under the layers of leathery green skin, Jim Carrey is instantly recogniseable as he writhes and extends his facial features to the limit capturing the loveable rogue stature perfectly. Ron Howard's takes charge of the direction and provides an magical yet comprehendable depiction of the dedicated Whos as they prepare for the festivities. Its not laugh a minute entertainment but it is inventively produced and provides a credible reproduction of Dr Seuss classic childrens stories. Hilarious in parts and cringeworthy in others, this is family fun encroaching upon the the best in DVD entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2001
For all you Christmas lovers this would be a great film for you. The Grinch is a great film which everybody enjoyed. Children under the age of five might find The Grinch abit frghtening to look at but there is no need to be scared.The Grinch is a nice monster once you get to know him. This film really gets you in the Christmas mood. It would be a great film to watch on Christmas Eve.
I really, really really enjoyed the film. My mum and dad did as well. I can tell you that there not a film person, but they liked this one especially. I would say this is the best film I have seen. If you haven't seen the film yet, you must get it on video.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2001
Why is it that Hollywood moviemakers seem incapable of understanding the simple fact that works that start off as drawing art (be they in the form of stills or animated cartoons) have a tough time translating to the live action format? It didn't work with "The Flintstones," for instance, and it works even less well with "How the Grinch Stole Christmas," Ron Howard's labored and lumbering attempt to bring the whimsical Dr. Seuss classic to the big screen. Unlike the beloved half hour animated version made for television in the 1960's, this non-animated edition ends up burying the wise and witty tale under gobs of overproduction. Despite the best efforts of the costume designers, set decorators and makeup artists in bringing the Grinch, the Whos and their village of Whoville to life on the screen, the sad fact is that what appears charming on the two-dimensional printed page can often become grotesque when transferred to the more three-dimensional world of live action filmmaking.
Even more detrimental than the film's garish visual style is the fact that the beautiful simplicity of the streamlined tale has been padded out and stretched to the breaking point to fulfill the demands of a 105-minute running time. Although the film adheres fairly closely to the original plotting in its final third (even using a portentous recitation by Anthony Hopkins of Dr. Seuss' original rhyming text), the first hour or so is overloaded with dreary subplots involving the various Who characters, a silly flashback showing how the Grinch came to hate Christmas, and enough Jim Carrey shtick to make us wish he had never left "In Living Color" to embark on a movie career. Much as I have loved Carrey in some of his earlier filmic efforts, I must say that his act is fast losing much of its original freshness and charm. Not that he can be forced to shoulder all the responsibility for the film's failure, since the writers, Jeffrey Price and Peter S. Seaman, have neglected to provide a single line of witty or creative dialogue to go along with the stunning makeup, art direction and special effects. It's a particular embarrassment when the screenplay shifts between the soaring ingenuity of the Seuss poetry and the flatfooted triteness of the Price/Seaman prose. The grinding of the gears becomes almost audible.
One wonders why an industry, which used to do so well by Christmas in the past ("It's a Wonderful Life," "Miracle on 34th Street," the various versions of "A Christmas Carol"), seems to have had so much trouble lately putting together a decent picture with a yuletide theme. In fact, in the past 20 or so years, Hollywood has managed to produce only one film with a Christmas theme that can truly be called a certified classic. I am speaking, of course, of the wonderful 1983 film, "A Christmas Story," the only work that has been able to successfully combine the gentle cynicism of the modern world with the sweet sentimentality one traditionally associates with the holiday. Perhaps that perennial delight will forever stand as the one exception to the cold crassness of overproduced and over-budgeted dreck like "Jingle All the Way," "Santa Claus - the Movie" and "How the Grinch Stole Christmas," which, by their very nature, drain Christmas of its childlike magic and charm. Now more than ever, "A Christmas Story" is the yuletide tonic we yearn for and need.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2009
Well, can't say much more than the above reviewer about the actual movie itself. I am going to go into a bit more detail about the actual product though.
The double pack (Blu-Ray + DVD) is nice for me, as I sometimes watch movies in the bedroom where I only have a standard DVD player. Not much can be said about the DVD, it's just, a DVD really.

How many of you have loved a movie, and can't wait to watch it in HD? Well I think we have all had good AND bad experiences with this. Sometimes colors are left behind, frame rates are messy, and my favorite-terrible sound quality... Not something we want to see/hear when paying top dollar for the newest and "best" format. Then there are the jaw-droppers. You just can't believe your eyes and ears. Are you sure we aren't in the theater? Now that's what we want!

Okay, enough rambling on about Blu-Rays in general. Lets cut to the chase. The Grinch on Blu-Ray is good. Not horrible, not spectacular. You will be impressed, but not blown away. Is the Grinch one of your holiday favorites, like the above reviewer? Then GET THIS BLU-RAY! Is it just "another movie" that you like to have around and might only watch once in a blue moon? Then stick with (or just rent) the DVD version.

Well, that's all I've got to say about Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 24, 2001
Pretty much all of us know the classic Dr. Seuss story about the Grinch, a somewhat green meanie, who wants to stop Christmas from coming to his local neighbor's, the Who's. Ron Howard's film version starring rubber faceman Jim Carrey simply takes that story and adds a bit more to it (to fill the extra hour and twenty minutes of running time as opposed to the original cartoon version's 25 minutes). I for one love the backstory that was created. I always wondered why did the Grinch hate the Who's so much. What made him hate Christmas? These questions are answered quite well with some well imagined backstory of the Grinch as a child who actually grew up among the Who's, only to be ridiculed and made fun of for his strange appearence and unique behavior. It seems that the Green one became interested in a young girl that another boy liked (and who ultimately would later became the Mayor of Whoville). The film evens goes on to have Cindy Lou Who (who's given a bigger part in the film) question her family's values of what Christmas is really about...presents?...buying stuff? that's all it's about?..she wonders. It is she who realizes the good in the Grinch and crusades for him to be head chairmeister at one of the Who celebrations. I'm not sure what other people were really expecting, but this is pretty much what I thought the movie should and would be like. The sets and costumes are amazing..very Seussian! And Jim Carrey?...Well, I personally believe that Jim is great in everything he does and doesn't recieve enough credibilty by critics and certain moviegoers mainly because of where he came from (i.e. comedy and Ace Ventura: Pet Detective, the film that made him a star). I think critics that gave the film a bad review missed the whole point and probably need to watch fewer films 'cause they're obviously burntout! All I can say is the fans have spoken, which is why, despite lukewarm reviews, the film went on to become a huge hit and success back in November of 2000! I will still of course watch the cartoon version, but this version will also find plenty of time in my DVD player as well!
My only gripe with the DVD is that certain special features are too short or missing. The "Spotlight on Location" is barely over 7 minutes long. There are about 5 such featurettes included on the DVD that run between 4 to 10 minutes long. With such an interesting story like "The Grinch", a 60 minute or longer documentary should've been made to really take us inside not just the filming process, but the world of Seuss and Whoville as well. The other disappointment is there is no audio commentary included. I had almost expected one from director Ron Howard, who had always done one for previous Universal Pictures Collector's Edition DVDs (Apollo 13 & EDtv). I really wanted to know more about just how stressful it was on Jim Carrey to wear the Grinch costume. From interviews I've seen by Howard on Late Nite talk shows, Carrey became so tortured that he ripped the mask off his face and walked off the set. He was in the makeup chair everyday for 92 days straight. They had to get a Navy Seal team leader to instruct Carrey on ways of dealing with torture just so he could finish the shoot (no joke). This kind of story deserves much more insight, which is why I'm so disappointed that no commentary is available on the disc. So whenever people say Jim Carrey wasn't good as The Grinch, I scoff and say, "he went through torture to make that movie!" Some people are just hard to please. But don't let it ruin your Holiday Spirit! Add "The Grinch" to your collection today. And catch the special sneak preview trailer of E.T. The Extraterrestrial on this DVD (just before the movie begins), coming only to theaters in March 2002, with added footage, new special effects shots and more!
The Grinch - It's not easy being green.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2002
While Ron Howard is one of the best directors of our time, Jim Carrey is surely one of its most gifted actors. While he hasn't yet mastered the subtleties of dram, he is like human Play-Dough, easily able to mold into the most unusual of characters. The Grinch, while an odd, even uneasy character, may be Carey's most challenging role to date, due in large part to the mountain of makeup the transformation requires. Within the green fur and facial prosthesis, Carrey literally becomes the Grinch, enough so that Dr. Seuss's own widow personally approved of the production.
The unexpected treat in this film is the sweet on-screen relationship between the Grinch and Cindy Lou Who, played perfectly by 6-year-old Taylor Momsen. While Carrey is a delight to watch in his crazed Grinch routine, by the end of the movie even the Grinchiest of people will likely feel their hearts growing three sizes. While perhaps not a holiday classic, "The Grinch" will take an honored place in our Christmas viewing traditions, and should be a welcome addition to any DVD collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 25, 2010
This movie is absolutely awesome on blue-ray! You can really appreciate the costumes and the colors more than on DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2000
First of all, let's get the inevitable out of the way... This is NOT the beloved Chuck Jones cartoon everyone grew up with. No one set out to make that film... No one set out to destroy it, either. This grinch flick is it's own... er... animal. Using the original tale as the guideline, Ron Howard's big-budget event movie is more the story of How the Grinch Became Grinchey. Taken on that level, it works well.
The story's plot centers around the charming Cindy Lou Who's search to find Christmas. Surrounded by a Whoville filled with shoppers and decorators, Cindy feels empty about the holidays. The only other Who that shares her distaste for avarice is none other than the green, grouchy resident of Mt. Crumpit. Her investigations lead her to the Grinch, and becomes the catalyst for the Grinch's journey back to Who-dom.
Some may find the back story disrespectful to the original tale, but I did not. In fact, I feel this movie could not have been made without this fleshing out of the characters. Those who disagree should know that Dr. Seuss' widow had FULL approval on the final product, and she is very proud of what has been done.
This movie is irreverently funny, but Jim Carrey's massive abilities pull off the Grinch's transformation. I was surprised that a film that broke the fourth wall so often could be so charming. But you really believe in the characters, and you cheer for them as they realize the true meaning of Christmas.
Those looking for solid holiday fun would do well with this movie... It's a magical, imaginative, colorful, and lushly scored work of art. Take the kids... though there is two or three unnecessary bathroom jokes to beware of... and enjoy the holiday season.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Elf (Infinifilm Edition)
Elf (Infinifilm Edition) by Will Ferrell (DVD - 2006)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.