Trade in your item
Get a $0.37
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Sugar on Snow Hardcover


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$9.95 $9.89 $12.25

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Age Range: 5 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten - 4
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton; First Edition edition (January 6, 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525469109
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525469100
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 10.1 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,471,168 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

PreSchool-Grade 2-An overview of a special spring harvest in the Vermont woods. Seth and Ethan help their parents collect sap and make maple syrup. Seth is particularly excited about his chance to drive the small tractor that pulls the collecting tank to the sugar bush. From rising at dawn to eating fresh maple syrup drizzled on snow late in the evening, the boys pitch in with the tasks required to turn maple sap into a golden treat. The afterword summarizes a Native American legend about maple syrup and briefly describes current technology that simplifies sap collection. The illustrations of wildlife and the woods are clear and engaging. Each text block is accompanied by a close-up of a bird or animal, often enlarged from the scene on the facing page. However, the people have a static, somewhat idealized quality, as though posing for tableaux in an outdoor clothing catalog. Less nostalgic than Marsha Wilson Chall's Sugarbush Spring (Lothrop, 2000) and Jessie Haas's Sugaring (Greenwillow, 1996), Rossiter's book demonstrates how a family can contribute to a process that generates its own sweet rewards.
Kathy Piehl, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

About the Author

Nan Parson Rossiter is the author-illustrator of Rugby & Rosie and The Way Home.

More About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Nan Parson Rossiter's adult fiction is often compared to the work of Nicholas Sparks - especially her first novel, THE GIN & CHOWDER CLUB. She hopes readers who enjoyed GIN & CHOWDER (or those who haven't discovered it yet!) will look for the same characters in the Christmas anthology, MAKING SPIRITS BRIGHT. Nan's second novel, WORDS GET IN THE WAY, is an uplifting story about a single mom whose young son has autism. Her third novel, MORE THAN YOU KNOW, touches on the bonds of sisterhood and the tragedy and despair of Alzheimer's, and her new novel, UNDER A SUMMER SKY, will tie them all together in the spring of 2014.

Nan is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and is also the author-illustrator of several books for children including, most recently, THE FO'C'SLE: HENRY BESTON'S OUTERMOST HOUSE, called "a lovely vision of one man's communion with nature" by Publisher's Weekly.

Nan lives in rural Connecticut with her husband and two handsome sons.

To learn more visit www.nanrossiter.com

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D. Blankenship HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on February 5, 2010
Format: Hardcover
This is one of those works that I classify as a very nice little read and is certainly worthwhile, but at the same time, can not get overly excited about it. I not the kids, while they enjoy it, do not go back and give it a second read as they do so many books. That being said though....

This is a rather simple story of a family in Vermont, a modern family, harvesting the sap of the Maple tree during sugaring time. The interaction between the husband, wife and tow young boys is quite good and the story line, while uncomplicated...to the point of being a bit simplistic, is good and you get a warm fuzzy feeling as you read the story. The book does give a very nice overview of the sugaring process as would be found on a family farm. We are not talking the high tech gathering methods of today, but then we are not in the nostalgic mode that we would fine in Little House in the Big Woods either.

The strongest part of this work are the illustrations which are very well and professionally executed. I suppose I enjoyed the paintings of the various forms of wildlife noted in the forest during sap gathering times as much as anything. The author is an excellent artist and has captured the mood of the story and place perfectly though her illustrations.

The text is quite well done and easy on the eye and mind. It tells a warm story of a family cooperating together...getting a job done as a loving family unit. This is always a good message.

The author concludes the work by recording a Native American legend as to how it was discovered that the sap of the Sugar Maple Tree is a good thing.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By bjms on April 26, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is just a sweet, lovely story with beautiful illustrations. I would recommend it to anyone, but particularly people in the New England area.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa5aa4b88)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?