Customer Reviews


4,681 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,809)
4 star:
 (685)
3 star:
 (119)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elevating The Formula With Smarts, Sophistication, And Uncommon Wit
The courtroom drama has become such a staple of American television, it is impossible to imagine a program with a completely unique approach to the legal genre. Yet, you always hope a show can tweak the formula and give you something you haven't seen a hundred times previously. While USA Network's "Suits" certainly isn't revolutionary television in its casework, it has...
Published on February 18, 2012 by K. Harris

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great new show!
I know I'm "supposed" to like thew characters of Harvey and Mike best, but Louis Litt is my favorite just because he's so weird and sometimes evil. However, the newness is wearing off & I'm getting bored with the Harvey who can do no wrong and Mike who can do no right routine. I wish they'd develop those characters more.
Published 11 months ago by Annette Delaney


‹ Previous | 1 2469 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

150 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elevating The Formula With Smarts, Sophistication, And Uncommon Wit, February 18, 2012
This review is from: Suits: Season 1 (DVD)
The courtroom drama has become such a staple of American television, it is impossible to imagine a program with a completely unique approach to the legal genre. Yet, you always hope a show can tweak the formula and give you something you haven't seen a hundred times previously. While USA Network's "Suits" certainly isn't revolutionary television in its casework, it has brought something quite unexpected to the defense table. Spending more time in the boardroom than in the courthouse, this remarkably engaging show has brought a sense of smarts and sophistication to the proceedings--and trust me, I haven't used the word sophistication to describe a basic cable TV show in some time. A lot of elements work just fine here, but there are two specific things that elevate this show to the next level. First, the dialogue is snappy, genuinely funny and filled with clever wordplay. Second, the two leads (Gabriel Macht and Patrick J. Adams) have uncommonly good timing in serving up that dialogue. Furthermore, their relationship (a blossoming bromance, if you will, of give and take) is electric--a true standout in the television landscape.

The show, like any other, needs a hook to set up its premise. The conceit here is that Adams is a legal prodigy. Unfortunate life choices have derailed his chosen career path and he exists as a typical mid-twenties slacker. When his life starts unraveling, he has a fortuitous meeting with Macht, a successful and brilliant attorney. Macht, a huge egoist, is looking for "the next me" to be his assistant. Adams, of course, fits the bill--just one problem. Despite his vast and encyclopedic knowledge, he's not really a lawyer. But this being television, this is a slight complication which requires some creative navigation. Is it strictly believable? Not particularly. But it is handled in such a fashion that you want to stick with it. Again, credit must be given to the verbal sparring between the two men.

The cases themselves, from episode to episode, don't always break new ground. The show, however, is reliably good fun with a nice bite. I like the supporting cast as well. Gina Torres, as head of the firm, has some nice moments as a sexy and strong professional. Rick Hoffman plays a largely comedic rival and foil to Macht--and while I like him, it's not always a consistent characterization. Meghan Markle is a suitably appealing paralegal that challenges Adams to be a better man. And the show's silent secret weapon is Macht's receptionist Sarah Rafferty, who with just a few minutes of screen time every episode makes me laugh out loud! But still the show would not exist without the easy charm of Macht and Adams, who play off one another to perfection. When they aren't together, you notice the absence. Add the truly witty banter with the undercurrent of rivalry and respect, and this pairing is the best duo to hit TV in a long time! KGHarris, 8/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intelligent, Sparkling New Television Series, August 30, 2011
By 
SUITS is smart, sassy, clever, sophisticated, timely and immensely entertaining! The new series debuted with a full 60 minute story that establishes the characters very solidly, opens pathways for many story lines, and boasts an exceptional cast of fine actors. Here is hoping it makes it as an ongoing series, especially since it is not yet another crime drama! Not that Criminal Mains, The Mentalist, Without A Trace will lose their place among the best show on television, but with all the spinoffs on the crime shows, the available choices have been dwindling lately.

SUITS is a lawyer show. Set in New York (captured, by the way, in beautiful cinematic vistas) it focuses on a very successful law firm, managed by Jessica Pearson (Gina Torres) who balances the talents of her two top lawyers, the smarmy Louis Litt (Rick Hoffman) who is a control freak, and the very brilliant but egotistical Harvey Spector (Gabriel Macht). There is a particularly appealing and very bright secretary Donna (Sarah Rafferty) and a beautiful paralegal Rachel (Meghan Markel) and last but certainly not least by any means there is Mike Ross (Patrick J. Adams) - a young lad who is extremely bright, has a photographic memory, dropped out of college because he took tests for fellow students and got caught, fell into marketing drugs by default for need of money so that he could pursue his dream of being a lawyer, and falls quite by accident into the role of being selected as associate to the brilliant but self absorbed Harvey Spector. This is the team of characters who are destined to provide fascinating substories as they interact.

The dialogue (Aaron Korsh and Sean Jablonski) is clever, bright, snappy, unclichéd, witty, and helps define the complexities of the characters. The pacing is exceptional (directors Kevin Bray and John Scott) and the series has the appearance of a high-end movie - excellent cinematography, expansive development of story in well-selected locations - but most of all this is a cast that is worthy of attention every moment they are on camera. It will be interesting to watch how Patrick J. Adams and Gabriel Macht grow into our psyches: both are exceptionally fine and provide a spectrum of the lawyer personality we haven't seen on a series before. This should be a major hit! Grady Harp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suits is brilliantly entertaining, July 1, 2011
The script, acting, and quality are all flawless, as far as television goes. If you're looking to be highly entertained, then look no further. The subtle humor, creative plot, and enjoyable dialogue entices the viewer more with each passing moment.

If you're into legal shows that include all aspects of human nature, including compassion, then Suits is for you.

Hopefully this show continues to have the opportunity to thrive; it has definitely drawn me in and I won't miss a second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elevating The Formula With Smarts, Sophistication, And Uncommon Wit, August 19, 2011
The courtroom drama has become such a staple of American television, it is impossible to imagine a program with a completely unique approach to the legal genre. Yet, you always hope a show can tweak the formula and give you something you haven't seen a hundred times previously. While USA Network's "Suits" certainly isn't revolutionary television in its casework, it has brought something quite unexpected to the defense table. Spending more time in the boardroom than in the courthouse, this remarkably engaging show has brought a sense of smarts and sophistication to the proceedings--and trust me, I haven't used the word sophistication to describe a basic cable TV show in some time. A lot of elements work just fine here, but there are two specific things that elevate this show to the next level. First, the dialogue is snappy, genuinely funny and filled with clever wordplay. Second, the two leads (Gabriel Macht and Patrick J. Adams) have uncommonly good timing in serving up that dialogue. Furthermore, their relationship (a blossoming bromance, if you will, of give and take) is electric--a true standout in the television landscape.

The show, like any other, needs a hook to set up its premise. The conceit here is that Adams is a legal prodigy. Unfortunate life choices have derailed his chosen career path and he exists as a typical mid-twenties slacker. When his life starts unraveling, he has a fortuitous meeting with Macht, a successful and brilliant attorney. Macht, a huge egoist, is looking for "the next me" to be his assistant. Adams, of course, fits the bill--just one problem. Despite his vast and encyclopedic knowledge, he's not really a lawyer. But this being television, this is a slight complication which requires some creative navigation. Is it strictly believable? Not particularly. But it is handled in such a fashion that you want to stick with it. Again, credit must be given to the verbal sparring between the two men.

The cases themselves, from episode to episode, don't always break new ground. The show, however, is reliably good fun with a nice bite. I like the supporting cast as well. Gina Torres, as head of the firm, has some nice moments as a sexy and strong professional. Rick Hoffman plays a largely comedic rival and foil to Macht--and while I like him, it's not always a consistent characterization. Meghan Markle is a suitably appealing paralegal that challenges Adams to be a better man. And the show's silent secret weapon is Macht's receptionist Sarah Rafferty, who with just a few minutes of screen time every episode makes me laugh out loud! But still the show would not exist without the easy charm of Macht and Adams, who play off one another to perfection. When they aren't together, you notice the absence. Add the truly witty banter with the undercurrent of rivalry and respect, and this pairing is the best duo to hit TV in a long time! KGHarris, 8/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good series !, July 13, 2011
Love the acting, story line and actors as a whole. Based on the genius that was hired by a large law firm and the crazy and twisted goings on of the firm. Very funny and sometimes empowering plots. A must see series if there ever was one. Usually on after burn notice, thur. nights on USA. Great follow up to an already classic in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great new show!, August 12, 2013
This review is from: Suits Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I know I'm "supposed" to like thew characters of Harvey and Mike best, but Louis Litt is my favorite just because he's so weird and sometimes evil. However, the newness is wearing off & I'm getting bored with the Harvey who can do no wrong and Mike who can do no right routine. I wish they'd develop those characters more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suits Season 1, August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suits Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this series. Gabriel Macht is today's generation Cary Grant. I love it when his character outsmarts bad people and Louis Litt.

Please let there be a season 2 and ...................................................:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, September 5, 2011
By 
RedStorm (Alpha Centauri, Milky Way) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suits Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
This show will surprise you. This is an extremely well written show with a great cast. Haven't seen such a good show in a long time. Watch it - you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 26, 2011
I love this show. It is the best original series I have seen in a long time. Thanks USA for actually airing real shows and not crappy reality TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality!, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suits: Season 1 (DVD)
Perfectly satisfied with this product. Came in great condition, also gives you the digital versions so you can take it with you on your iPad, iPhone, macbook, laptop etc AS WELL as the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2469 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Suits Season 1
Suits Season 1 by Patrick J. Adams
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.