Robin non-member

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$2.79 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by Zoverstocks.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Suk: Epilogue, Fairy Tale [Import]

Josef Suk , Libor Pesek , Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra , Luba Orgonasova , Ivan Kusnjer , Peter Mikulas , Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Amazon's Libor Pesek Store

Visit Amazon's Libor Pesek Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product Details

  • Performer: Luba Orgonasova, Ivan Kusnjer, Peter Mikulas, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir
  • Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conductor: Libor Pesek
  • Composer: Josef Suk
  • Audio CD (January 12, 1999)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Virgin Classics
  • ASIN: B00000GCAY
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #511,321 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Epilogue: I. Adagio
2. Epilogue: I. Non troppo adagio
3. Epilogue: I. Vivace
4. Epilogue: I. Andante Semplice
5. Epilogue: II. A Tempo
6. Epilogue: III. Allegro appassionato
7. Epilogue: IV. Adagio maestoso
8. Epilogue: V. Adagio molto tranquillo
9. Fairy Tale: I. About The Faithful Love Of Raduz And Mahulena And Their Sorrows
10. Fairy Tale: II. The Game Of The Swans And The Peacocks
11. Fairy Tale: III. Funeral music
12. Fairy Tale: IV. Runa's curse And How It Was Broken By Love

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
Libor Pesek has been an ardent champion and promoter of Josef Suk (1874-1935): a pioneering feat no doubt, for Suk, as with Vladislav Novak, were among the most important composers after Dvorak and before Martinu. Pesek's first series of Suk's orchestral works features the Czech Philharmonic (Supraphon), commenced between 1981 and 1985. Dated sound, re-packaging, and re-issues, do put dents on the otherwise high value this series garnered, however. But if there's any consolation, it did give us a foretaste of Pesek further involvement with the composer's music, as seen here in the Virgin Classics series.

Pesek's performances with the Czech Philharmonic in Suk's orchestral works are generally sonorous and involving, with rather fluid playing in the brass and the strings full-bodied (indeed, that Czech sound applies here no doubt). And the maestro's approach is very much heart on the sleeves in projection, although arguably with less subtlety than in Virgin. Suk's Suite "Fairy Tale" comes to mind here, where the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic offers us greater nuance and finesse than their Czech counterpart (rewarded by a more transcendent recording that brings out the details more readily). And that quality of the recording is key in Epilogue (1920-1929), where the Liverpool performance is that of vim and vigor, with superb sense of poetry in the reading and the music's kaleidoscopic range of color and mood that is conveyed with admirable sensitivity and unerring perception. Again, the Czech Philharmonic and Chorus is a class in its own (under Vaclav Neumann in his 1986 Supraphon recording). But's Pesek's recording is the benchmark to date. The singing of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir is done with utmost flair and Luba Orgonasova (soprano) as well as Ivan Kushnjer (baritone) sing with warmth and affection.

A disc worthy of attention.
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category