Best Books of the Month Shop Men's Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Videos Amazon Gift Card Offer jrscwrld jrscwrld jrscwrld  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing Learn more
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Other Sellers on Amazon
Lowest price: Used - Very Good
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Sosa Media
Seller Rating: (5567)
Add to Cart
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Suk: Symphonie Asrael; A Summers Tale

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, May 18, 2010
"Please retry"
$21.63 $20.54

What's Your Fitness Goal?

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Disc 1:

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Asrael - Symphony In C Minor Op. 27: I. Andante SostenutoRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek15:34Album Only
  2. Asrael - Symphony In C Minor Op. 27: II. AndanteRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek 8:22$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Asrael - Symphony In C Minor Op. 27: III. VivaceRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek12:09Album Only
  4. Asrael - Symphony In C Minor Op. 27: IV. AdagioRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek11:15Album Only
  5. Asrael - Symphony In C Minor Op. 27: V. Adagio MaestosoRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek14:47Album Only

Disc 2:

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. A Summer's Tale Op. 29: I. Voices Of Life And ConsolationRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek14:49Album Only
  2. A Summer's Tale, Op.29: II. NoonRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek 6:15$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. A Summer's Tale, Op. 29: III. Intermezzo - Blind MusiciansLibor Pesek 5:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. A Summer's Tale Op. 29: IV. In The Power Of PhantomsRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek10:45Album Only
  5. A Summer's Tale, Op.29: V. NightRoyal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Libor Pesek14:52Album Only

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conductor: Libor Pesek
  • Composer: Suk
  • Audio CD (May 18, 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Erato Disques
  • ASIN: B003C1AM6G
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #499,428 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Firebrand on June 23, 2014
Format: Audio CD
Of the many available versions of Josef Suk's great funeral symphony, this 1990 recording with Libor Pesek with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic offers the finest overall interpretation and performance. It is all here: power, scale, intensity, sensitivity, eloquence.

Vaclav Talich's recording from 1953 is revered, and the praise has been heaped up on other subsequent recordings, but in my opinion, Pesek's reading is even more complete, equally authoritative, and played masterfully by a very engaged Royal Liverpool. While this sprawling, episodic work gets lost in the hands of most interpreters, there is a structural integrity and beginning-to-end cohesiveness to Pesek's reading that remain secure and true. And within this, the account is gripping and full of idiomatic character. The tempos in this performance are ideal, avoiding the gangly abruptness and sudden shifts that mar many other versions. It is an ideal and satisfying reference recording for the Asrael. The sound is excellent.

Rafael Kubelik's recording with the Bavarian Radio is also excellent, if more angular than Pesek's. Talich's 1953 version, of course, is a standard, if dated and surpassed. My personal favorite alternative is Vladimir Valek's dark, imposing, rougher-edged recording with the Prague Radio Symphony. Charles Mackerras' live 2007 with the Czech Philharmonic is a mixed bag. Vaclav Neumann with the CPO is taut, quick, straightforward. Behlolavek/CPO, Claus Peter Flor/Malaysian Philharmonic and Vladimir Ashkenazy/Helsinki each suffer from choppy and/or odd tempos.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: suk pesek