Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on January 1, 2004
Jeez! I cannot believe some of the overly negative and somewhat paranoid reviews of this amazing set.
I mean,where else can you get so many performances of artists from the 1960's in colour? The picture quality is very good and it's all beautifully packaged in a set looking like a 1960's TV with a 3-dimensional image on the front. The set also has comments and film throughout telling us about the history of the times as well as an interview with Ed Sullivan and his wife.
Now some fans may be disappointed for whatever reason,but for a few to give only one star to this magnificent set,with well over 100 performances by some of the world's best artists,is just over-reacting.
It has nine performaces by Elvis Presley plus many performances by artists such as The 4 Tops,The Supremes(6 performances),The Jackson 5,Stevie Wonder,James Brown,The Beatles(6 performances),The Rolling Stones,The Carpenters,Tom Jones,The Beach Boys,Hermans Hermits,The Association,The Animals,The Mamas and The Papas,Johny Rivers,The 4 Seasons,The Temptations(6 performances),The Rightous Brothers,Smoky Robinson and The Miracles,Jerry Lee Lewis,Buddy Holly,Lou Rawls,Sly And The Family Stone,Jackie Wilson,The 5th Dimension,Gerry And The Pacemakers,The Searchers,Fats Domino,Lulu,Sonny and Cher,Paul Anka,Marvin Gaye,Bo Diddley,The Doors,Jefferson Airplane,Creedence Clearwater Revival,Little Anthony and The Imperials,Bobby Darin Jannis Joplin,Santana and others.
And most of these performances are in colour and this is the only set to have this. The early performances by The Beatles and the 1950's artists are in black and white,but it is very rare to see so many of these artists in full colour.
So those few that are disappointed are entitled to their opinions,but I think that this set is fantastic. To counter one poster's comments,the Hullabaloo set is mostly black and white and has only a few colour performances as the rest of the colour versions were lost. The Ed Sullivan Box Set has many more performances in colour.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
Fun, fun, fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2002
This Ed Sullivan 9 DVD box set contains the best ever collection of music artists singing pop,rock,soul and ballads.The range of artists is outstanding from Elvis(9 performances)to the Supremes,Tom Jones,The Beatles,Smoky Robinson,The Beach Boys,The Four Seasons,The Temptations,Lulu,Buddy Holly,The Rolling Stones,The Carpenters,The Jackson 5,The Animals,Hermans Hermits,Jackie Wilson,The Doors,The Mamas And The Papas and many more.The picture quality is eccellent,very clear. The best thing about the set is that it has so many live performances instead of just miming as some other shows had.I don't know what one reviewer was talking about,but some of the songs on this set are medleys and are meant to be shorter versions.The Sonny and Cher song from 1965 is short,but"I Got You Babe" is hardly a big loss.One big advantage that this set has over the Hullabaloo DVDs is that this Ed Sullivan set is mostly in colour where as the Hullabaloo DVDs are mostly in black and white.At any rate,this DVD set is well worth the money.There is also a trivia track which can be switched on during any performance and information on any particular artist's life and career can be viewed while the artist performs.There is also a discography of artists on each volume and other extras.The set is nicely packaged in a solid box shaped like a 1950's TV.Jay Thomas narrates the history of the times in between performances with other footage of the artists or the news of that year.The Ed Sullivan phone interview with his wife,from 1958,was also interesting.The great thing about Ed Sullivan is that his show presented the world's best artists.
Ed gave the world great value for money.I used to watch his show in Australia as a kid and this set brings back great memories.Buy it,you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2002
I had a ball watching this set! I can only speak for some of the Motown segments that I taped on my reel-to-reel audio recorder back when they were first aired. I can't hear any editing other than some shortening on the intros and exits of the performers. I remember reading somewhere that it was not unusual for the Sullivan show to give a definite number of minutes to each act, and that some performances had to be shortened- and some performers were disappointed. Most were so happy to be on the Sullivan show that they would have done anything to please him. He was a brave man who did alot of good things. But, if you rubbed him the wrong way he could be tough. I really miss him, and this box set has been a terrific way for me to escape back in time and relive some wonderful moments...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2002
Just to clear things up:
This seems to be 24 half-hour (eg 23 minute) episodes of a TV series prepared for syndication (did it ever air?), showing highlights of the Sullivan show over the years. Each episode has a flashy title sequence, with narration and footage from the period or subject covered. Very VH-1 friendly, in my estimation.
The song editing is frustrating, I admit, but skillfully done - in most cases you won't notice the missing verse if you're not listening carefully. And it's understandable - given that they're trying to squeeze all these songs in, together with intros and titles etc.
Anyway, this represents a fine value, considering that Sullivan video just never gets released to the public. I doubt Rhino would have edited it all this way given the option, but I'm sure Andrew Solt Productions got a good deal on the footage, and sold the shows to Rhino "as is," so they couldn't really touch them.
The mastering of these old clips is breathtaking, and the 5.1 mixes (just some reverb thrown on) keep things up to date. If your "purist" hat isn't glued on, take it off and get ready to be entertained.
This is the kind of series that, after seeing a few minutes of it on TV, you'd be scrambling for a blank tape - and struggling (likely in vain) to get all 24 episodes. Here you get great sound and DVD-quality picture, without the hassle. And no commercials.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2008
I love music rock 'n' roll is a big part of my life i'm only 28 years old but i can talk about music all the time and ed sullivan show i think it is the greatest show their is for rock history and the boxset is so awsome thank you for who ever putt this together.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2007
We are very pleased with the way the set has been digitally reproduced and presented, well worth the money for all those wonderfull memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2002
If you grew up watching the Ed Sullivan Show like myself, I've been waiting for years for a compilation like this to come along. You'll savor the remixed 5.1 sound (also includes the original unenhanced soundtrack) and also the excellent digital video transfers. You've never seen the video clarity and sharpness of these performances until you have viewed these DVDs.
In a rebuttal to a couple of the other reviews on this page, all of the performances are included in their entirety as they originally aired. These shows are from the original series that were aired on the VH1 cable TV network. Nothing has been cut from these shows, as far as I can tell. A couple songs were not performed in their entirety by the artists themselves, but that's how they were originally broadcasted. For example, on disc 1, Sonny & Cher sing "I Got You Babe", but watch Sonny Bono as he ends the song half way through (perhaps shortened to save time??; only Ed Sullivan or his producers would know why). On another song, the Mamas & the Papas sing "Monday, Monday", and the song seems to miss the last verse or two, but the group ended the song at that point, as was broadcast. All songs are complete as the artists chose to perform them on the show.
As for the high price of the set, one must consider that for each and every song on this set, Rhino Video has to pay the producers of the program, who in turn had to pay copyright royalties to the owners of the Ed Sullivan Show; also, music royalties had to be paid for each and every song. And this adds up to be a lot when you've got mostly hit songs on this set. With 144 performances, you've got 144 different music publishing royalties and copyrights to pay. This is much different than simply releasing an entire season of a TV series (for example, a box set of "Friends", "The Sopranos", etc.), which is less costly to release because you don't have so many artist royalties and music publishing songwriter's royalties to pay as you do on the Sullivan set.
As for some artists not appearing on the set, for example, the Dave Clark Five, sometimes the owners of the Dave Clark Five's music publishing will not grant the rights for the clip to be used, or the cost was too high, or somehow the rights to include the clip couldn't be obtained from the copyright owners.
(A good example of this is the current DVD release of Elvis Presley's "Aloha From Hawaii" concert whereby three songs were deleted from that edition because music publishing clearance rights were up for renewal and an agreement couldn't be reached, so we, the public, are denied viewing these songs because of that legal technicality.)
This is a dream set that's worth every penny for the excellent video and audio transfers to DVD and of course, all the hit songs included with complete Ed Sullivan introductions of the artists. Your eyes will pop out and you'll think to yourself, I never knew these performances could look and sound so great! Hopefully, there will be another box set forthcoming in the future.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2006
So many DVDs, so many performances! I still haven't checked out all of them yet. A must-have for artists, musicians, and anyone who appreciates and wants to re-live the music of the 60's.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse