Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Summer Bridge Activities®, Grades 1 - 2
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 26, 2013
We have used the Summer Bridge series for all 3 kids for the past 4 years. The books do a great job providing some structured learning for the kids over the summer. Do not expect this to be a summer tutor or be something to advance their skills. What it does well is give your kids some refresher activities to do on a daily/weekly basis just to keep their brains from turning to mush. What we really like about the Summer Bridge series is that there are "extra credit" tasks that really do go beyond their regular lessons, plus there are physical activities for the kids to perform at the end of each week. There are enough lessons to do one every day all summer long - about 15-20 min per page. Or you can group them and have your kids do a couple of hours of work in a block each week. Do not expect this to be something to keep your kids occupied for a couple of hours each day nor should you expect this to teach your kids alot of new things. It is a review / refresher approach that just keeps kids in the habit of engaging their brains!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 23, 2015
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
 I have a few mixed feelings about this workbook. As a supplementary resource book for parents and teachers, it is top notch. This book has resources and activities for many different school subjects and tons of different types of activities. Summer Bridge did a great job of cramming everything that kids are supposed to learn into 150 pages of worksheets.

Unfortunately, the parent or teacher will need to do a lot of prep work, unless the kid is already used to navigating through worksheets without much explanation. Probably about half of the activities aren't explained well enough for a kid to do on their own. I did a lot of this book myself, and I had to look up terminology in about half of the activities. So, as something that a motivated kid would enjoy doing on their own, it falls a little flat. But maybe seventh graders are used to being thrown random activities that they have to look up on the internet before they can do them.

Also, there's an answer key at the end of the book, and a few pages of introduction explaining how the parent should use this book. It's supposed to be used during the three months in the summer, but you could use this at any time, even during the school year. So, this is an excellent resource book, and as long as you're not planning on giving this to your kid and walking away for the summer, this should be a great choice.

Pros:
+Tons of different types of activities
+Has a tear-out page for each day of the summer
+Attractive book
+Great for teachers or parents
+There are different books for each year of K-8, so it's easy to adjust books to the level of your child

Cons:
-Many activities aren't explained very well
-This only reinforces previous learning. This book is just a supplemental workbook, and really doesn't teach anything.
review image review image
11 comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 18, 2015
As a teacher I'm always on the lookout for quality educational materials that can be used both in class, and by my students for at home practice. This Summer Bridge Activities book caught my eye because it is targeted for students to be used during their traditional three month summer vacation, and bridges the gap between two grades by reviewing skills learned in the previous grade, and previewing upcoming skills in the next grade.

One of the most challenging times for teachers is working through the beginning of the year assessments, when teachers must determine how impactful the summer months have been to each students educational progress. The "summer slide" can significantly impact a students readiness for the next grade. However, with parent involvement & a little organized study time this slide can be minimized if not prevented. Summer can be an opportunity for learning that can really benefit a child's readiness for the next school year.

Each bridging grade practice book is very well made, the quality of the paper and cover are excellent, with the paper a proper weight & smoothness with strong clear colors and font styles. Each comes with a skills matrix that is easy to follow and informative. In addition, there's a summer reading list of excellent literature that is age appropriate and can be found on most teacher's must read list for a well rounded student. This is literature that parents will enjoy reading to their child, or for guiding young readers through.

Bridging Grades K to 1
The practice pages are very well organized and are divided into three sections of 20 days each. Each section or month begins with a "Monthly Goals" activity, a "Word List", and thought-provoking character development & fitness passages. Every couple of pages at the bottom, there's fun additions that get kids thinking & moving such as the "Factoid" blurb, the "Fitness Flash", and "Character Check". The daily lessons are numbered, and are logically laid out to first review skills of the previous grade, and then transition into introducing new skills. These are high interest and meaningful lessons presented by using a variety of learning techniques such as matching, cloze (identifying missing letters/words), colorful visuals, sorting, circling, coloring, games, puzzles, and solving problems using guiding arrows, boxes, and charts. Short reading comprehension passages include poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Each lesson is full of colorful illustrations that help make learning fun & successful. In addition, at the end of each month there are fun science and social science bonus activities, as well as outdoor extension activities!

Finally, as with every early elementary bridge book, the Grades K to 1 book provides stickers to track your progress with, thick card-stock cutout flash cards that cover the alphabet, numbers, colors, math symbols, time/clocks, geometric shapes, math vocabulary such as "less than" & "greater than", counting by 10, and all the answers to each lesson. This is truly a comprehensive, high-interest, and meaningful summer program that will please parents, teachers, and students.

Added materials are provided (register your purchase for free access) at: summerlearningactivities.com/sba
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This summer activity book geared for those heading out of 1st grade and heading in to 2nd grade offers a variety of activities to keep skills fresh during those summer months. I like the size of the book, because it looks very doable without overwhelming a student or making them feeling defeated.

The book is broken down into three sections with 20 days of activities, with a few bonus pages thrown in at the end of each section. Each day is the front and back of one page that would take an average student 15-30 minutes to complete. There is an answer key at the back making it easy for parents/guardians to check the child's work.

Daily activities contain four different sections. The sections cover skills such as math,penmanship spelling, word tenses, phonics, telling time, vocabulary, punctuation, reading comprehension, shapes, measurement, money and social studies . There are some science experiments that require typical household supplies.

Math skills include addition, subtraction, number lines, word problems, counting money, and number value.

This book also contains a suggested summer reading list, daily exercise suggestion, suggested outdoor activities and flashcards. The flashcards cover both language art and math skills. At the end of the book is a certificate that can be customized and signed by the parent/guardian. There is also a sheet of star stickers you can use to encourage your child for a job well done.
review image
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 9, 2015
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you are familiar with other bridge books, you already know these are meant to keep your student from forgetting everything they learned during the school year over summer break by completing a short daily lesson. This book is broke up into three sections with each section having 20 lessons (or 20 days of activities), so basically you have 60 days of work in this book. For example, day one includes four math word problems, a short exercise in grouping related words together, and a reading passage over glaciers with six questions for reading comprehension. The math starts out simple enough, but quickly gets into some topics that may not have been covered during third grade. The math lessons included dividing three digit numbers by a one digit number, comparing fractions with unlike denominators, adding fractions with like denominators and reducing to simplest form (for example, reducing 2/4 to 1/2), adding four digit numbers with decimals (for example 4.012 + 3.287), rewriting fractions as decimals (calculating this by dividing), multiplying two digit numbers by two digit numbers (for example 27 x 15), lines of symmetry, angles, comparing fractions with unlike denominators, calculating area, and defining mathematical terms such as vertex, ray, perpendicular, and parallel. The language art lessons included reviewing commas, idioms, pronouns, suffixes, verb tenses, homophones, synonyms, antonyms, rhyme patterns in poetry, and reading passages with questions testing for comprehension. There were also writing prompts for short paragraphs such as If you could be any animal, or what is the best thing about your summer. While I think these lessons are useful, they aren't going to "teach" your child any of this material, but simply reinforce what they have already learned by completing the lessons in the book, so it's strictly for reviewing and practicing, not the actual learning of the material. I homeschool my eight-year old daughter, and I don't intend to use the book over the summer, but go through it and select lessons that apply to the lessons we are currently working on in that particular day's lessons. I think if your child has already mastered most of the math skills I listed above, this would be a great review. It also has health and fitness activity suggestions. There are flash cards printed on thicker stock paper for uses including matching homophones, matching synonyms, learning words with Greek and Latin roots, geometry terms, place value, finding the factors of a number, and understanding equivalent fractions.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
My recommendation on this book depends on what you want it for. It is a really tough book. My child technically did not pass 5th grade, due to many learning difficulties. He has already been held back a year, so we cannot hold him back again. We purchased this book in an attempt to get him caught up with his peers a bit before entering 6th grade. This book is WAY too hard for that. It starts with reviews of the end of 5th grade, which he already did not do well in. It is taking him HOURS of frustration each day to complete the single page per day assigned, and we are only 8 pages into the book. If your student did well in 5th grade and you are looking to just stop the summer slip and help your child to get ahead, this book would probably be great for you. If your kid is struggling, this book will only add to his frustration.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2013
I love these books! The kids, not so much. :)

They have a ton of stuff to do in these books, including a lot of science and hands-on activities that we kind of skip over. I'm mostly concerned with making sure the kids don't lose their reading and arithmetic skills over the summer, so we focus on those (which are the vast majority of the book anyway).

I've used these books for three summers in a row, and once I get the kids at the table, they generally like the activities in the book. There are also stickers and a little certificate in the back (which the younger kids love to get at the end of the summer). I highly recommend these. They can do 2 pages a day in 10 minutes - it's totally worth it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This summer activity book geared for those heading out of 5th grade and heading in to 6th grade offers a variety of activities to keep skills fresh during those summer months. I like the size of the book, because it looks very doable without overwhelming a student or making them feeling defeated.

The book is broken down into three sections with 20 days of activities, with a few bonus pages thrown in at the end of each section. Each day is the front and back of one page that would take an average student 15-30 minutes to complete. There is an answer key at the back making it easy for parents/guardians to check the child's work.

Daily activities contain four different sections. The sections cover skills such as math, vocabulary, grammar, spelling, science, reading comprehension, punctuation, map skills, writing, and geography. There are some science experiments that require typical household supplies.

Math skills include multiplication, geometry, word problems, data analysis, fractions, percentages, measurements, simple algebra, and division.

This book also contains a suggested summer reading list, daily exercise suggestion and flashcards. The flashcards cover both language art and math skills. At the end of the book is a certificate that can be customized and signed by the parent/guardian.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
I started getting this series because my youngest has some comprehension issues. To have her brain go on vacation is NOT an option in my book. I have also used this series for my older daughter. You have to understand that each child is different. That how they learn is vastly different too. Some are tactile learners while others are visual learners. I cannot stress enough on this. So what works for one child, might not work for the other. Plus if you keep your child's brain academically active in summer, if they happen to fall behind during the school year, they will still be ahead or on par with their classmates.

That being said, my cousin who is a teacher recommended this product and explode the code for my youngest in order to help her. We have been using this every year since. We started in kindergarten and now my youngest is going into 6th grade. You have to also understand that YOU NEED TO HELP YOUR CHILD SUCCEED! So if you get stuck then go out and buy yourself "everything you need to know" series. What I do with this series is that I sit at the table with my kids and I either read with my child or I begin to look up the math section in order to help my child navigate the first problem. I make sure that I give her at least 5 pages a day. She used to do 15 pages a day, but this year she can relax a little. I also require my kids to read and write small summaries. Yeah it doesn't sound like fun, but then it only takes a total of one hour the first time to get into the rhythm of it and then about 30 minutes from then on.

Some may argue with "where's the fun!"
"My kid needs a brain break!" "I'm too busy from work and need to relax on my social media and post selfies!" Well, you can take a break from that for your kids sake. They will thank you for it. When we are done, we usually play a boardgame, card game, cook or clean together, etc. You're kids are only young once and once they become teens, they really don't want to hang with you uncool parents. So to be able to spend some time with them is golden and for them to know that you are there to help them, helps them keep an open dialogue with you. I'm serious about that!

Long story short, I LOVE this series. Remember that this series will be a mixture of what they learned in the previous grade and then learning new concepts that they will start to see in the coming year. This will also help if your child had problems with a previous concept and they can go back over it. Just take a deep breath when you get stuck and either buy a series to help you when helping your child or turn to the Internet to help example how to conquer any questions you may have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
I know that summer vacation is supposed to be a break from school, but I have always worried that my kids would forget some things. So I started buying these work books about 5 years ago. They are great because they make it fun. The books have contracts at the beginning that you sign with your kids, a motivating, goal setting contract. There are usually 3 sections in the book, that helps with the goal setting. They are planned out so the kids can usually do 1 page per day. Very doable, and easy. I like that the workbooks help the kids retain what they learned the previous school year, and help prepare them for the coming year. I would definitely recommend these workbooks!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.