Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the FIRST REVIEW of someone who's actually HEARD this reissue!
That's right, there are two others before mine: one from 2009, which is not only three years before this reissue existed but also for a VINYL issue, which this clearly is not; and the other review is from someone who made it clear that s/he hasn't heard it yet, so it boggles the mind that a product review would be from someone who hasn't yet experienced the actual...
Published on October 12, 2012 by Sean C. Courtney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper packaging
The CD is fabulous, but the paper packaging lacking. The plastic covers are more beautiful and durable. But I'm satisfied with the product and recommend it.
Published 7 months ago by Malcoln Barros Diogo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the FIRST REVIEW of someone who's actually HEARD this reissue!, October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
That's right, there are two others before mine: one from 2009, which is not only three years before this reissue existed but also for a VINYL issue, which this clearly is not; and the other review is from someone who made it clear that s/he hasn't heard it yet, so it boggles the mind that a product review would be from someone who hasn't yet experienced the actual product!

Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) is absolutely among Brian Wilson's strongest productions and clearly, production-wise, points the way to the masterpiece Pet Sounds. The album is full of great tunes, with a lead vocal from every Beach Boy except Bruce Johnston and Dennis Wilson.

Now, for the 2012 mono/stereo review...first off, it appears that Capitol is doing with The Beach Boys what Apple/EMI did with The Beatles -- small digi-paks with the white band on the spine. There are no liner notes other than track listings and notations of which tracks are new stereo mixes. If you own the 1990 or 2001 "twofer" CD with The Beach Boys Today!, this and the 2012 reissue of Today! won't REPLACE the twofer, as you don't have the David Leaf liner notes or the bonus tracks.

The sound, however? Absolutely great -- at least, on the mono tracks. This is, by far, the best-sounding mono release of the album I've ever heard. The clarity and EQ are so clear that there's an edit in "And Your Dream Comes True" that I've never heard before in decades of listening to this music!

As for the stereo tracks? Well, it's kind of hit and miss. First of all, most of the stereo mixes have extra reverb, sometimes to a fault.

But here's a track-by-track analysis of the stereo mixes:

"The Girl From New York City" -- GREAT!!

"Amusement Parks U.S.A" -- very little, if any, stereo separation in backing track, and in fact the backing track just might be mono! The EQ is weird -- just lows and middles on the backing track with hardly any highs, and the vocals are all MIDDLE. Brian's hysterical laughing is hard to hear. Seems like a LOT of reverb may have been added to the vocals.

"Then I Kissed Her" - good EQ that could use a bit more bass, but vocal sounds a lot wetter than on the mono. Is that added reverb, or reverb that was always there but subtle in the mono mix? Hard to tell.

"Salt Lake City" -- very nice mix, but there's a ton of reverb EVERYWHERE.

"Girl, Don't Tell Me" -- This is one of the best-sounding of the bunch. Backing track seems to have slightly more reverb than before, but vocals don't sound any more reverbed than before. Vocals sound mono but the mixing and mastering make the "when I came up to stay with my gran" lyrics noticeably clearer.

"Help Me, Rhonda" -- VERY faithful to the mono. Very bright, very energetic mix. Actually improves the song while being very faithful to the original mix! I used to hate this version of the song, preferring the Today! version...now I love it! Crunch sound after "Help me, Rhonda, yeah" is gone.

"California Girls" -- We've had, what, two or three of these mixes so far? Can't tell which one this is. Sounds good, but much wetter than it should be. Sometimes the volume of the vocals is at war with the volume of the backing track. Still good, though, and worthy of playing loud.

"Let Him Run Wild" -- I know this mix was released before, but...this wasn't the mind-blowing stereo mix I was hoping for for years. Again, there's a ton of reverb that sounds too unnatural to be a remnant of the original mix, and there's way too much middle in the EQ and not enough bass. Still would be interesting to hear a vocals-only on this.

"You're So Good To Me" -- too much middle on the EQ. Vocals are slightly too loud, and the lead guitar is WAY too loud while the other non-drum instruments are barely audible.

"Summer Means New Love" -- very nice mix. Some piano parts at the end that you don't hear in the mono mix come out.

"I'm Bugged At My Ol' Man" -- again with the reverb! Might have been original reverb that wasn't as noticeable in mono, though.

"And Your Dream Comes True" -- another one that I know was out in stereo before. Wow...the guys sound like they're right there in front of you! Very nice.

Overall...if you're dying to hear this stuff in true stereo for the first time, it's not the end-all, be-all, but there are some gems in stereo. The REAL star of this CD (and the Today! CD, I might add) is the mono mix, sounding better than ever!

Definitely worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mono versions a step backwards, Stereo versions a big step forward, October 14, 2012
I've purchased Smiley Smile, Summer Days/Summer Nights and All Summer Long in this new reissue series, and across the board I can say the mono remastering is noticeably worse than on the 2001 versions of these discs. I believe the tapes have lost their integrity, as there's no punch or presence on them anymore. Same engineer remastered both versions, yet the newer one is poor. I must disagree with the previous reviewer about how these mono tracks sound.

That said, the new stereo versions of the songs on this album are really great. Most are truly mixed from scratch (not 'digitally extracted', as some 'stereo' songs on All Summer Long and Smiley Smile are), and sound impressive, which is another reason why I think it's the mono masters that are to blame for the poor mono presentation here (even listening back with HDCD decoded). Nice Japanese-style mini-LP artwork, too. At this point I'd say go with the reissues of albums that were originally presented in mono and are in stereo for the first time, as only buying these for the remastered mono will be very disappointing. "All Summer Long" is a disappointing reissue in particular, please feel free to read about this here if you're interested. Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer days and Summer nights, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am surprised that so few Beach Boys fans have come forward to review these newly remastered stereo versions of Beach Boys albums "Summer Days and Summer Nights", "Today", Smiley Smile", and "Party" therefore I will give it a try. First, though, I want to comment on the 2001 Beach Boys remasters. I must say without a doubt that the Beach Boys catalogue from 1963 -1966 is as fine an "audiophile" collection of music that exists, it is that good. It rivals the catalogues of The Who and The Doors both "remixed". The vocals on all the albums are breathtaking, tremendous dynamic range, and absolutely no background noise. I have to say I am not surprised. I remember listening to the vinyl version of "Endless Summer" back in the early 1970's and noting how good the sound quality was even then. Mark Linnett was already working with excellent master tapes. Maybe some Beach Boys fans could tell me if the master tapes were "remixed" they are that good? Some would nitpik that they lack bass, but that seems to be a problem of the 1960's since many from that era lack bass.

Now regarding the mono releases of "Party" and "Summer Days and Summer Days". I am not a fan of mono. Any audiophile that claims mono is better than stereo is kidding themselves. There are some cases where mono sounds better but they are very few. Instruments are often buried in the mix and don't reveal themselves until you actually hear a well mastered stereo version of the same. That said, "Party" and "Summer Days" are some of the finest mono recordings that I have ever heard. To listen to "Then I kissed her" is to be amazed. "Devoted to you" live is as good as it gets. I do agree with other reviewers in that the remastered mono versions of the catalogue are not as good as the 2001 remasters. Perhaps the master tapes have indeed lost their integrity though 2nd attemps at remastering don't always bear fruit.

Regarding the "stereo" version of "Summer Days" I have to disagree with the reviewer that said there was to much "reverb". I think having listened to the same music in mono for over 40 years and then hearing it in stereo for the very first time tends to color your perspective. I listen to music in both regular stereo and 4.1 stereo and just don't hear it.

I'd like to hear someone else's opinion on "Good Vibrations" from the "Smiley Smile" album. Was this song "digitally extracted" from the mono master or was it "remixed" into stereo by the engineer? The song lacks the clarity of the "instrumental" version. Perhaps the engineer could have dubbed a digitally abstacted vocal over the remixed instrumental track? I know there's alot of assumptions made in that last statement but I just don't know? Either way the song still has very good sound quality.

Lastly, the 1995 stereo "remix" of "Pet Sounds" is as good as it gets in audiophile recordings. I remember listening to this album in the early 1970's and dismissed it as "AM radio" sound quality. Now to listen to it is to be amazed. There is instrumentation buried in the original mix that I never new existed in the music. For the future I am looking forward to the song, "Do it again" and the "Smile Sessions" to get the stereo treatment.

In summation I must say that I am very pleased with Mark Linnett's remastering of the entire Beach Boys catalogue. It compares favorably to the finest recordings out there.

Craig Mudrock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Sound - a must-have!, December 21, 2009
By 
Cory Geurts (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
This is one of several recent Beach Boys vinyl reissues from Capitol. Some of the albums (Sunflower, Surf's Up) have the "newly remastered for vinyl" sticker, while others (Today!, Summer Days, Pet Sounds) boast a sticker that simply says "faithfully restored." The sound on this one is clean and clear, all the original artwork has been preserved (including the photos on the inner sleeve), and the 180 gram vinyl has a nice, substantial feel.

An interesting note about this one - the front cover claims this is "Duophonic Stereo" and the catalog number is listed as DT 2354 (the D is for duophonic). The bottom of the back cover says "Duophonic is an exclusive Capitol electronic development designed to enrich irreplaceable monophonic high-fidelity recordings that have proven their lasting popularity. It brings to these great performances a brilliant new two-channel sound that takes full advantage of the reproduction characteristics of today's finest stereo phonographs."

I remember the original 1960's vintage Capitol duophonic vinyl records that had the "fake stereo" - i.e. a mono recording separated out into predominately bass tones in one channel and treble tones in the other channel to simulate stereophonic sound, usually with stereo reverb added. It was horrid! Thankfully this vinyl release is NOT fake stereo - it is presented here in the original mono format. Which makes me wonder why they even bothered putting the "Duophonic Stereo" banner on this release - it should have just been released as mono catalog number T 2354.

At any rate, these Capitol reissues are a must-have - perfect for vinyl enthusiasts, collectors, and anyone who wants the album artwork in something larger than the tiny CD liner note size. The sound is beautiful - every bit as good as on the Beach Boys double-album CDs, if not better. Plus the packaging and original artwork. I own them all. There's nothing like opening a brand new LP and enjoying the sound of virgin vinyl. You can't go wrong with the albums in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How the remixes were made, December 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What Brian did to create "Today", "Summer Days", "Pet Sounds" and "Smile" was to record the instrumental backing track first on a 3 or 4 track recorder, mix the instrumental track down to mono and copy it to another multi-track recorder to add vocals onto. Some vocal tracks like "California Girls" and parts of "Pet Sounds" were recorded onto 8-Track multi-track recorders at Columbia Studios in Hollywood. Then all that mixed down to mono for the original mix.

The result is having both instrumental and vocal tapes (with a total of 6 to 11 tracks) in the vaults that can be synched together on a computer. That's how Linett created most of these remixes.

The "digitally extracted" mixes used computer processing and EQ to separate a mono track into separate tracks of vocal or instrumental parts that can be remixed into stereo. On "Good Vibrations" this process works wonderful, but I'm not too fond of the remix of "Help Me Rhonda". Listening on headphones you can hear some "watery" sound artifacts and muddiness that the digital extraction produces.

I also thought the remixes have a bit too much reverb. I wish Linett could have used a real echo chamber instead of digital reverb. But I think creating "drier" remixes would have been a disappointment or not faithful to the original mixes. Brian loved Phil Spector's mighty "Wall of Sound" productions and was trying to create something as powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally in stereo!, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm sorry. "Pet Sounds" was not my favorite Beach Boys album. It was this one, followed in preference by "The Beach Boys Today," neither of which were ever issued in real stereo until now, and therefore, not particularly headphone-friendly. It's been a long wait, but well worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Beach Boys album, November 10, 2012
By 
steve_manassas (Manassas, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Beach Boys' "two-fer" of Today/ Summer Days (and Summer Nights), released in 1990, 1997 (Canadian import), and 2001 in the USA, has always been one of my favorites. These titles were also issued as separate CDs in 1994. Now, both of these albums have again been issued separately, with both mono and brand-new stereo mixes. The new stereo mix of SUMMER DAYS sounds magnificent. There are many classics on this album - "California Girls," "Let Him Run Wild," the single version of "Help Me, Rhonda," "Girl Don't Tell Me," "You're So Good To Me," "Salt Lake City," the instrumental "Summer Means New Love" (issued as the B-side of the Brian Wilson single "Caroline, No" (from Pet Sounds (Mono & Stereo Remasters))), and more.

Although the "two-fer" is great, I highly recommend the 2012 version of SUMMER DAYS for the magnificent new stereo mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Summer and memories of Summer, August 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not my favorite when originally released in the 60's. However, nostalgia isn't what is was when we were young. Now, it's one of my favorites. Especially "Let Him Run Wild." Brian Wilson's version on "Imagination" made me want to have the version recorded by all of the Beach Boys.

Even the title is evocative and stirs old feelings, who can forget what the phrase "(Summer Nights)" is all about.

I recommend this album for all of you who remember the teen innocence of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album that is so evocative of their mid 60's sound, November 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Great to have this classic that I first bought in the summer of '65 back in my vinyl collection. California Girls and Help Me Rhonda never sounded so good. The rest of the LP is great too. While not my favorite BB album, as Shut Down Vol 2, All Summer Long would be ahead of this, but certainly a must have for an collector interested in their music, especially from the mid '60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Paper packaging, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The CD is fabulous, but the paper packaging lacking. The plastic covers are more beautiful and durable. But I'm satisfied with the product and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) [Vinyl]
Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) [Vinyl] by The Beach Boys (Vinyl - 2009)
Click for more info
In stock on December 25, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.