Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pluses & Minuses
All Summer Long is one of the best of the early Beach Boys albums. Very few of their albums were 100% good, and during this period that can be blamed largely on the ridiculous contract they were under, a contract that required 10 albums in 3 years. Under that kind of pressure it is a wonder that this album (and the even better follow-ups - Today and Summer Days) was as...
Published on October 14, 2012 by BrownFingersDibbity

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A remastering step backwards...
After listening to this CD track by track and comparing it to the 2001 version, I have to say the remastering on this new one is truly not as good, unfortunately. My system decodes the HDCD processing (which is present on both editions), so I'm theoretically getting the full listening experience. The mono recordings (only tracks one and two on the original version, as...
Published on October 14, 2012 by Profanius


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pluses & Minuses, October 14, 2012
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
All Summer Long is one of the best of the early Beach Boys albums. Very few of their albums were 100% good, and during this period that can be blamed largely on the ridiculous contract they were under, a contract that required 10 albums in 3 years. Under that kind of pressure it is a wonder that this album (and the even better follow-ups - Today and Summer Days) was as good as it is. But even though there is obvious filler on this album, the filler actually seems purposeful. And it's pleasant. And it's over quickly. And the great songs (the title track, I Get Around, Hushabye, Wendy, Girls on the Beach, Don't Back Down) are among the best the group ever did.
The big positive for this release is that it finally presents for the first time on CD Brian Wilson's original mono mix for the album (the way I first heard it back in 1964). Previous releases used the stereo mix albeit with I Get Around, Our Favorite Recording Sessions, and the title track in mono. Here you get first the mono album, followed by the album in mostly the original stereo (more on that below). The mono mix is clearly superior with much more oomph and great balance, whereas certain instruments in the stereo mix often stick out sounding tacked onto everything else (which they probably were, plus only the stereo has Mike Love's infamous cough during the organ break of Wendy). One great difference with the mono is the ending of Don't Back Down in which the instruments continue playing (they suddenly stop on the stereo) and the fade-out is about 12 seconds longer. Best of all, as with the previous two-fer packages, the disc has been remastered using the HDCD (24 bit) system without limiting or compression, so while the sound quality is not better than the more recently available version, it also is not worse.
The stereo version contains the original 1964 stereo mixes except on three songs. The title track's stereo mix was done more recently and was first heard on the 2006 compilation "The Warmth of the Sun." The stereo mix for I Get Around is listed in the liner notes as a "stereo extraction mix." I am not totally sure what this means but I am guessing the original multitrack tape for the song is lost, and thus someone used modern computer tools to isolate and separate instruments and voices on the original mono mix and thus create a stereo mix from that. This has been done on some songs on the other 2012 reissues (including Help Me Rhonda and Good Vibrations) as well. The results frankly are not impressive, and at any rate you cannot go wrong with the original mono mix. In the stereo portion of the album, Our Favorite Recordings Sessions is again presented in mono. These 3 songs did not receive stereo mixes in 1964 and the original stereo vinyl album had these three in Duophonic aka fake stereo.
One major complaint I must make on this is the lack of liner notes. No essays, no photos, no recording dates, no comments on the remastering process (other than that it is HDCD), no explanations as to what is a stereo extraction mix. Just a list of songs with songwriting credits, and a bit of information as to who produced the mixes. Also there is plenty of room on this CD for bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another very fine Beach Boys album, November 8, 2012
By 
steve_manassas (Manassas, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
ALL SUMMER LONG, The Beach Boys' sixth Capitol album, was released in the summer of 1964, at the height of Beatlemania. It is an excellent set with classics such as "I Get Around" (the group's first #1 single), the title track, "Wendy," "The Girls On The Beach," "Don't Back Down," and more. Originally issued on CD as a "two-fer" (Little Deuce Coupe / All Summer Long) in 1990, then reissued as an individual (mostly) stereo CD in 1994, and then reissued again as a "two-fer" in both 1997 (Canadian import) and in the USA (remastered) in 2001, this new version contains both the original mono and stereo mixes of the album. "I Get Around" appears in stereo for the first time, while the title track (which appeared in mono on the previous CD issues) is the stereo mix from the 2007 compilation The Warmth of the Sun. The novelty track "Our Favorite Recording Sessions" is in mono twice, but since that was mostly a spoken-word track, it would not have made sense to make a stereo mix. This CD is worth owning for the mono and stereo mixes, but keep the "two-fer," if you have it, for the bonus tracks.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Save for The Beach Boys Christmas Album and Beach Boys Concert, this was the last Beach Boys album to be issued in true stereo until 1968's Friends. Brian Wilson preferred mono, and refused to provide Capitol with stereo mixes from this point forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A remastering step backwards..., October 14, 2012
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
After listening to this CD track by track and comparing it to the 2001 version, I have to say the remastering on this new one is truly not as good, unfortunately. My system decodes the HDCD processing (which is present on both editions), so I'm theoretically getting the full listening experience. The mono recordings (only tracks one and two on the original version, as the rest of the album was originally presented in stereo) sound more present, clear and punchy on the older, 2001 CD; they sound less focused and generally weak on the newer version of this CD. Perhaps the tapes have deteriorated too much at this point for them to yield decent results, as the same engineer worked on both versions of these and it's unlikely his fault.

On the other hand, the two new tracks presented in 'stereo' are a slight improvement over the mono presentation. I say 'stereo' because the engineers did what they could, using a process they're calling digital extraction, with the tapes they had to work with. Not great, but an improvement nonetheless. The artwork, using a mini-LP Japanese format, is actually very nice.

I also A/B'd Smiley Smile and Summer Days/Summer Nights, and these were more worthy of being purchased. See their reviews here if you're interested, hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys, the Beginning, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
The harmony is what it's all about and right from the beginning, they were perfection. I like this CD also because you can hear it in mono, and then stereo. To be honest, I prefer mono. You can hear every single harmonized note. In stereo, they blend in the instruments more and the harmony is sometimes distorted. I remember listening to this on vinyl on an album and now you can do the same with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better version available if you can find it, May 12, 2014
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
In the early 1990s I ordered all the Beach Boys CDs as Japanese Toshiba/EMI Past masters issues. All except Pet Sounds had great sound. When I purchase a reissue, I expect the original sound as represented on vinyl of course minus vinyl anomalies such as surface noise and inner band compression. The Tohsiba version wins hands down. Made from US masters, the sound is dynamic and clear, totally true to the Stereo lp. Even I Get Around and All Summer Long are in original Duophonic! The 2012 issue is OK but if you want to experience the original album in stellar sound, seek out the Toshiba/EMI version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I played the hell out of it I am 100% satisfied with the re mastering of both mono and stero ..., September 28, 2014
By 
Fred Cordiano (Brooklyn, new York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
I Purchased the album when it was first released.
And I played the hell out of it
I am 100% satisfied with the re mastering of both mono and stero
No need to rate each song, the music flows, and I feel 14 again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great remaster, January 18, 2013
By 
MacK Archer (Auburn, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
I agree with a previous reviewer: the remastering job on this release is subpar. While I would give All Summer Long four stars based on the music, I would give it one star for the somewhat suppressed and muddy sound. I have listened to the other remastered albums and they all sound good to very good. Too bad, since this is one of my favorite BB albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
Awesome!! A must have for Beach Boy fans!!!You will not regret getting this if you love the Beach Boys sounds!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you very much for sending to Japan., February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) (Audio CD)
At first,in Japan I ordered this album made in USA .But I received this album made in EU.And I could get this album
made in USA.Thank you very much for
sending for Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful addition to any Beach-headz vinyl collection, January 14, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "big azz rabo" (Hialeah-La Ciudad del Fo-king Progreso Asere!!) - See all my reviews
This in my opinion was Brian Wilson's first major work and first major stride towards a creative peak that would reach it's pinnacle with Pet Sounds and Smile. The only throwaway track here might be Carl's Big Chance. Other than that, All Summer Long is all killer, no filler kiddies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters)
All Summer Long (Mono & Stereo Remasters) by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.