Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hayley Mills
Definitely one of Hayley Mills best films. Her fans definitely love it. Burl Ives, Dorothy McGuire, and Michael Pollard are wonderful in their roles as well as Hayley. The sets and music are delightful in this movie about an earlier time when life was simpler and although challenging, much kinder. Hayley does a fine job playing a young lady that is always full of...
Published on February 17, 2005 by C. A. Luster

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sunny Summer Magic
Years ago the Disney Channel ran something of a nostalgia double bill and ran Vincente Minnelli's MGM classic MEET ME IN ST. LOUIS along with the Disney studio's own SUMMER MAGIC. From a thematic perspective, it was inspired programming--both films were warmhearted,unabashedly sentimental family pictures set in the early days of the last century. In terms of quality,...
Published on June 1, 2007 by Gregor von Kallahann


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hayley Mills, February 17, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Summer Magic (DVD)
Definitely one of Hayley Mills best films. Her fans definitely love it. Burl Ives, Dorothy McGuire, and Michael Pollard are wonderful in their roles as well as Hayley. The sets and music are delightful in this movie about an earlier time when life was simpler and although challenging, much kinder. Hayley does a fine job playing a young lady that is always full of optimism. In some respects like the optimism of Bing Crosby in "The Bells of St. Mary's". She charms her way to get what she wants. This color movie doesn't seem to age, since if you didn't know when it was made, you would think it could have been recently. Amazingly families today still find this an enjoyable movie, but then it is an amazing movie. Full of warmth and values of the heart. I recommend it to all, but especially to anyone that enjoys the older Disney classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Magic, January 2, 2005
This review is from: Summer Magic (DVD)
When Disney studios brought together a talented cast, a simple but effective script, and their family oriented production values, the result was often magic. Such was the case with this film, one of Hayley Mills' best.

When we join the movie the Carey family is under difficult times. Margaret Carey's (Dorothy McGuire) husband has recently passed away. Stock investments made by Mr. Carey have added to the family's fiscal woes. As Mrs. Carey struggles to figure out how the family will survive, headstrong Nancy Carey (Mills) has taken matters into her own hands by writing to Mr. Ossium "Osh" Popham (Burl Ives in one of his best roles) to ask whether a certain yellow house was available for rent. That Nancy exaggerated the extent of the family's financial need is temporarily overlooked, but not forgotten. Mr. Popham is more than happy to help the family and invites them to move into the yellow house for a modest rent.

The yellow house turns out to need a fair amount of work to make it livable, and Osh, who is also the owner of the local general store, continues to aid the Careys as they make improvements. We soon find out that Osh has not communicated with the owner of the house, Tom Hamilton (Peter Brown), with respect to all the various happenings related to the yellow house, and we know that at some point there will likely come a reckoning.

Adding to the family oriented fun is younger brother Peter Carey (Jimmy Mathers), who finds a creative way to get his hair cut, and then adopts a dog for the family. Cousin Julia Carey (Deborah Walley) is forced to move in with the Carey's due to financial circumstances with the family she has been living. That well-to-do family and their lifestyle causes a lot of stress in the financially strapped Carey family as Julia tends to mention them far too much.

Other supporting cast members include Una Merkel as Mariah Popham and Michael J. Pollard as Digby Popham. Michael also appeared in an episode of the original "Star Trek" television series.

The movie is somewhat anachronistic as feminism is equated with hiding your true self, particularly in the quest for seeking a husband. Yet, with that same definition of feminism we see strong female roles for Dorothy McGuire and Hayley Mills, so the relatively archaic attitude towards feminism is tempered somewhat.

As with any Disney movie, the realities of life are not completely ignored, and the long-absent Tom Hamilton finally shows up. While the difficult issue of what Mr. Hamilton will do with a family that has become somewhat of a squatter in his house, the ending does provide hope that all will turn out well in spite of Nancy's fears of the "yellow peril."

This movie has a few brief moments that may tinge on unsuitability for younger audiences, but parents should be able to explain those situations. Otherwise, I consider this movie suitable for families including even the youngest children. This movie is a winner that any family will find to be an excellent addition to their video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Film, August 11, 1999
This review is from: Summer Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
After "The Parent Trap", this is Hayley Mills' best movie. It's funny, warm, and will leave you feeling good about life. Hayley Mills and Burl Ives deliver great performances, as does all the cast. This is a Disney classic, a must-see and must-own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flitterin', Flitterin', Flitterin', January 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: Summer Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For anyone who enjoys a good, heartwarming movie - this is the one for you! This is a wonderful story of a family who leaves the city and pursues a life in the country at "the yellow house". This is a movie that I not only enjoyed watching as a kid, but still enjoy as an adult! The happy songs will stick in your head, and you will wish you could live in the same town with Hayley Mills and her family! This is a wholesome, family worthy movie that you will want to watch over and over! I promise! Enjoy the movie - I think it's a Disney classic! If you are a Mills fan as I am, then I would also suggest watching "That Darn Cat".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic "Summer" finally comes to DVD!, May 13, 2005
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Summer Magic (DVD)
SUMMER MAGIC, Disney's sunny nostalgia-fest, makes it's DVD debut in a crisp anamorphic transfer.

Hayley Mills never looked more lovelier than as Nancy Carey, a young girl who helps her newly-bankrupt family move to the small town of Beulah, Maine, and into `The Yellow House'. The arrival of Cousin Julia (Deborah Walley) causes some fireworks, with both Nancy and Julia fighting over the affections of the new schoolmaster, before Nancy falls in love with the mysterious Thomas Hamilton. The story is loosely based on "Mother Carey's Chickens" by Kate Douglas Wiggin.

Burl Ives, Dorothy McGuire and Una Merkel co-star in good supporting roles. Other roles are taken by Eddie Hodges, Michael J. Pollard, Peter Brown, Wendy Turner, James Stacy and Jimmy Mathers (younger brother of Jerry 'Beaver' Mathers)

Hayley Mills and the cast sing the entertaining Sherman Brothers score, including "Flitterin'", "The Ugly Bug Ball", "The Pink of Perfection", "On the Old Front Porch", "Femininity" and the Title Song.

Disney has been `kind enough' to give SUMMER MAGIC the full anamorphic treatment. The 16:9 image is good, if unspectacular. With the studio in the bad habit of releasing most of it's back-catalogue titles in fullscreen, SUMMER MAGIC (one of the most-anticipated DVD releases) in widescreen should be quite an event for fans of this delightful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Finally Comes to DVD, May 12, 2005
By 
L. M Young (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Magic (DVD)
A summertime treat for lovers of old-fashioned movies about people and their relationships to one another instead of innumerable scenes of overwrought special effects. And, hurrah, Disney has released it in widescreen in a beautiful, colorful new version.

The Carey family, left nearly penniless by the death of Mr. Carey and some bad business investments, move lock, stock and player piano to the small town of Beulah, Maine, after lively Nancy Carey, played with all her adolescent charm by Hayley Mills, spins a hard-luck story to the caretaker of the house, softhearted grocer Ossian (Osh) Popham. Even after learning the Careys aren't quite as badly off as Nancy painted--a very funny scene with Burl Ives!--Osh rents them the house and proceeds to help them through the coming weeks, giving son Gilbert (Eddie Hodges) a job and helping little Peter (a bit-sweet Jimmy Mathers) get a boyish haircut so the town kids won't tease him any more.

Just as things are going well, the Careys must take in their cousin Julia (Deborah Walley), a stuck-up miss who refuses to help with the chores and becomes Nancy's rival for the attentions of the new schoolmaster.

This is a lemonade-and-sit-on-the-porch type movie just made for a Sunday afternoon. Ives, Mills, Walley as the "pink of perfection" Julia, and Dorothy McGuire as Mrs. Carey particularly shine, and Ives is very funny as he plays interference between his forthright wife who wants to tell the Careys the truth about their rental of the house.

Oh, and that "controversial" song about femininity? It's actually very funny, because in an age where women didn't have many rights, the girls know exactly how to twist "the system" so they enjoyed more freedom than society allowed!

(When you finish SUMMER MAGIC be sure to grab a copy of the original book, MOTHER CAREY'S CHICKENS. There are more stories about the Careys--and the book includes a sister, Kathleen, who was left out of the movie story--and another family they help, a boy and girl who are neglected by their scholarly father. Julia is a complete pill in the book, too; enjoy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really fun movie!, September 2, 2001
By 
This review is from: Summer Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie!It's got lots of humor, a bit of romance, and some really neat songs like "Beuila" and "Pink of Perfection" and more! I love the part where Gilly and Nancy sings about Julia who's "The Pink of Perfection". I wish I could get more of the Hayley Mills collection! This is a movie you've GOT to watch!! It really fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Femininity! Femininity! That's the way to catch a beau!, August 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Summer Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my most favorite movies! I love the songs. And I can just taste the ice cream and lemonade at the party! If you like Haley Mills and old fashioned values, you just have to get this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great family movie, June 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Summer Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie as a child when it first came out. I loved it so much, even now, all these years later, it still brings back those wonderful memories of a truly enchanting and "magical" movie. My daughter watched it with me several years ago and this movie has since become a summer tradition for us to get together to watch. My daughter lives over two thousand miles away but will be visiting me on the 4th of july, and we have already made plans to put in our "Summer Magic". I hope they will put it on DVD soon, because I will have a copy to cherish along with all of my wonderful memories involved around this lovely movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spans generations, March 2, 2006
This review is from: Summer Magic (DVD)
I loved this movie as a girl and even more when I watched it with my girls. They were constantly singing "walk feminine ... talk feminine ..." and "she's the pink of perfection". They truly loved this movie. I made sure my children always saw all Disney favorites of mine as well as the new ones of theirs. But Hayley Mills was just naturally a favorite. The family situations and caring seemed so real to all of us. They often used some of the lines in their own lives. It's a feel good movie with a lot of heart tugs. The Sherman Brothers music will definitely stick with you. Speaking for myself, it is a wonderful opportunity for our children to get to know the great talent of Burl Ives. It leaves you wanting to live in the "big yellow house".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Summer Magic
Summer Magic by James Neilson (DVD - 2005)
$14.99 $9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.