Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Easy Ice Cream
My mother-in-law had this ice cream maker and liked it, so I bought one. It works great! After you mix up your ice cream it only takes about 20 or so minutes to make it. Let it sit for a few more minutes to harden up a bit and it's ready to serve. For it's small outward size it sure makes quite a bit of ice cream. We have used this little ice cream maker at home and while...
Published on August 10, 2011 by Dedra S.

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible design
I've been making ice cream for a long time, using many different ice cream makers. Of all the ones I have used, this is the WORST. Maybe if you used crushed ice this would work, but if you use ice with cubes larger than a dime, watch out. If a cube get's jammed in the bucket, the motor pops off. It did this to me multiple times until I gave up and borrowed a friend's...
Published on September 26, 2011 by Man Thursday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Easy Ice Cream, August 10, 2011
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
My mother-in-law had this ice cream maker and liked it, so I bought one. It works great! After you mix up your ice cream it only takes about 20 or so minutes to make it. Let it sit for a few more minutes to harden up a bit and it's ready to serve. For it's small outward size it sure makes quite a bit of ice cream. We have used this little ice cream maker at home and while camping and it is easy to use and clean. It takes up very little storage space compared to other ice cream makers that make 4 quarts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever. Period, September 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
I've been eating homemade ice cream at least once/month for the past 40 years (not an exaggeration), it's a Sunday family tradition and we have all types of machines, mostly the wood barrel, expensive ones (where the metal rusts from the salt) and as a consensus, everyone agreed over labor day weekend, that this ice cream was by far the fluffiest, lightest, most ready-to-eat after freezing that we have ever had. No change in recipe, just a change in machine. I bought a second one today just in case they stop making it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
we are in love with this product, used it twice and we are just very happy with this purchase.we received it in a timely manner also.i would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible design, September 26, 2011
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
I've been making ice cream for a long time, using many different ice cream makers. Of all the ones I have used, this is the WORST. Maybe if you used crushed ice this would work, but if you use ice with cubes larger than a dime, watch out. If a cube get's jammed in the bucket, the motor pops off. It did this to me multiple times until I gave up and borrowed a friend's maker. I wonder if they actually used this maker before they tried to sell it. Very poor design. I will be returning it to the store. I would give it 0 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't buy again, July 4, 2013
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
Worked OK the first time, but when the motor stopped, the ice cream was still a bit soupy. No worries, though, because it was the first time.

The second time? Not so good. It got jammed 2-3 times, so I dumped the bucket out, reloaded the canister and the ice and salt. Then the motor (the male part) wouldn't line up with the top of the canister (the female part). I got it on the best I could, but within seconds of turning it on, those parts (very cheap plastic) were stripped and while it would spin the canister, it did so with a big hiccup.

Turns out, it wasn't spinning the canister correctly, because after about an hour of freezing, I suspected something was wrong. I took the motor off and opened the canister: the dasher was frozen in place and the ice cream toward the wall of the canister was frozen solid -- the rest was goop.

I've used it twice have have given up. I will return it to the store and hopefully, can find a better model at a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER!, July 8, 2012
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
An utter waste of time and money. I followed the instructions to the letter and it jammed the first time out within 45 seconds. I patiently replaced the ice and rock salt and again re-packed the ice cream maker with ice and rock salt and again it jammed.

I cleared the jam and it jammed again within 30 seconds. Clear. Jam, Repeat. Remove half the ice and rock salt and same thing in the event the motor wasn't powerful enough if I over packed it and, guess what: clear, jam, repeat. It didn't matter if I used crushed ice or cubes. Finally, an hour later and completely frustrated, I have given up.

This is the first time I have bought a Sunbeam applicance in ten years-I think it will be another ten before I try-and I'll make sure everyone I know how bad the quality is for Sunbeam.

Do NOT waste your time and money on this pathetic appliance-otherwise you will have frustration, unhappy children and no homemade ice cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Before It Breaks, April 10, 2012
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
I've owned 2 of these and had the same issue with both, so it's no fluke....there is a gear inside that a tip breaks off of rendering the machine worthless....it's such a waste because of this tiny part of the gear. So it's like a bic lighter at this point...it's not like u can order a new gear from Gears Are Us.....what a waste of materials.....3 cheers for China....Boo Boo Boo....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oval Design is Faulty for Ice Creamaker, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
I have been making icecream for over 30 years and this is one of the poorest bucket designs. We found that the ice cubes locked the icecream maker and it jammed several times, even after putting water in the bucket to allow it to move more freely. I found the motor unable to churn the device and was extremely disappointed, it took forever for it to freeze because the oval design of the bucket did not allow for even distribution of ice on the sides that would allow it to freeze evenly, a round bucket design is superior. I took it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
Do compare to similar products and share how long you've used this product.Do explain why you liked or disliked this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says it is..., December 4, 2012
This review is from: Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue (Kitchen)
I was looking for an easily portable ice cream maker to take overseas. My friend had a larger one of these and it worked great with all the right adapters for African electricity. This was smaller, but the same type. I'm looking forward to using it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sunbeam FRSBCB40-BLS 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker, Blue
$29.99 $28.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.