Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great blend of different types of music.
When I first put "Sunburn", by Fuel, into my CD player, I wasn't sure what to expect. I don't usually buy CD's on which only one song has been released. I normally wait for two or three good songs. However, I like the song "Shimmer" A LOT, so I took a leap of faith. I wasn't disappointed. There was a little bit of everything. The first track,...
Published on July 26, 1998

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album !!!!!!!! Too bad they can't pull it off live.
They made the same mistake most bands make, and it's probably the producer that's at fault. They filled in the song so much with strings and massive guitars that it makes them sound weak on stage. I still love the album because they're terrific song writers and excellent musicians, but I just hate to see cover bands sound better than them LIVE on their own songs...
Published on February 11, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great blend of different types of music., July 26, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
When I first put "Sunburn", by Fuel, into my CD player, I wasn't sure what to expect. I don't usually buy CD's on which only one song has been released. I normally wait for two or three good songs. However, I like the song "Shimmer" A LOT, so I took a leap of faith. I wasn't disappointed. There was a little bit of everything. The first track, which is untitled, is a nice hard rock song. I began to expect an overly abrasive band with one "ballad", but that's not what I got. The range of this band is very entertaining and uplifting. Also, it is an enhanced CD, and there are scenes from a small-town concert that are a perfect fit. All in all, this CD has everything the well-rounded music fan could want; not too hard, not too soft, a great variety of nicely written, nicely performed songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuel Leaves A Singe For Late 90's Alternative Metal, October 3, 2004
By 
M. Tefer "matt" (MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
Sunburn is evidence that the late 90's alternate-metal crowd had something that rocks and equally, had something emotional to offer. Carl Bell's songwriting displays an appropriate lyrical diversity which makes the album surprisingly artistic. Brett Scallions has a distinct voice which compliments the lyrics nicely too. Fuel knows their influence which is rooted in the late 70's classic metal. The band has a sound that ripples with a menacing stength and proves to be more than a flash in the pan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burn, baby, BURN!!!!!!!, May 22, 2004
By 
Weak and Weary (If I told you, you'd send hate mail.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
This is an album, by FUEL, called "Sunburn". Of course, you probably knew that BEFORE you read this. But what you might NOT have known is that FUEL, possibly my favorite band in the history of all bands that have ever been bands in history, have "re-issued" this album. This, OBVIOUSLY, means that the album has been re-released, featuring new artwork, new tracks, and of course, new little stickers all over the packaging!

If you're somehow familiar with the original "Sunburn" album, then you've basically been acquainted with this new edition. All of the original tracks are here(duh), and the new tracks include a song written for the Godizilla soundtrack, `Walk the Sky', a fun little ditty that features Jeff Abercrombie`s bass-playing talents brilliantly, as well as a very cool vocal melody that I`ve fallen in love with, just like all FUEL songs. The other new track is an awesome song called `King for a Day', which is a really interesting, mostly acoustic piece with some truly SICK spanish-flavored guitar playing by Carl Bell, and while Brett Scallions` vocals seem a little `edge-less' on this song, he makes up for it at the end of the track. I'm kinda disappointed that the "Sunburn" b-side `Sunday Girl' wasn't included as a bonus track; it truly deserves more recognition than it gets, and I`ve love to hear the song in it`s entirety, as I`ve only heard 1 min. clips, which isn`t enough for any FUEL song.

The artwork is much cooler than it`s original form, featuring the same Chair-man sitting in a room with a flaming floor of fire, but it's organized a little differently with a more illustrated look about it. The Chair-man looks a little more human... rather than a tormented soul experiencing spontaneous combustion... who is now holding a sun instead of a tambourine.

If you don't already have this wonderful piece of plastic, there's never been a better time to get it. Great album, great band, great music. And what else would you expect from FUEL?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even if it doesn't sparkle, it sure Shimmers!, August 1, 2003
By 
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
"Shimmer" received an incredible amount of radioplay, and that was far from an accident; it was poppy, it was fun to sing along to, the guitars were quite supportive (even if sounding a bit optimistic for lyrics of a relatively depressing nature), and of course, the production... well, the production was just what a late 90s alternative song SHOULD sound like, and the entire album had it.
It's songs like "Bittersweet", "Jesus or a Gun", and "Mary Pretends" that represent the album at the top of its game; hard rockers with a bit of angst, but not enough to keep the listener from headbangs and smiles. However, "Sunburn", despite its mellowness and beauty, is just so solid and honest that tons of hardrockers or metalheads could stop and listen/sing along to the lyrics.
Sunburn is a solid, solid album... perhaps too solid. None of the songs are anything original or never-before expressed... the topics, instruments, lyrics, and vocals (however smooth they may all be) are pretty much the same 90s rock we've all gotten used to and enjoy. Of course, the album's still good, if not great... great enough to purchase, and great enough to rock out to for the many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just Tan, Get Sunburn, September 9, 2004
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
Fuel's first album, titled Sunburn, speaks for itself as to why it has sold so well. Every song on the album has a special sound that makes each a unique experience. It has done so well since was released in 1998 that it has spawned a remade version that includes two bonus tracks. If you are questioning whether or not to purchase this cd, please read my review before you decide to pass up on this great sounding band that is in its prime.

The second and third songs on the album, "Bittersweet" and "Shimmer" are songs most people have heard, but probably don't know who even plays them. They've been played numerous times on the radio and still get airtime because each one has such a catchy beat with incomparable vocals. Their fourth song, "Jesus or a Gun" is a heavier song with well thought-out vocals that is also engaging once you hear it. That's the case with almost every tune in this twelve song collection. Each one is attractive to the ear in its own way. The fifth song, "Sunburn", is far and away the best song on the cd and is one of my favorite songs I have ever listened to. It flows from a slow beat with smooth vocals to a heavier one that will capture your interest instantly. You won't have to worry about getting too much of this song either; the words and the tone of it stay with you and beg your senses to hear it over and over again.

Those four songs are a good enough reason to purchase this album. But remember there are still eight other songs to listen to! If you're a fan of modern-day rock, you owe it to yourself to give Fuel's debut cd a shot. I waited a long time to buy it for myself, and being stubborn paid off because I purchased the remade version with better quality sound and the two bonus tracks. They aren't going to remake it again, so now's the time to get your hands on this surprisingly superb album. Your ears will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album by a great band, August 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
Thanks largely to the sheer popularity of the single, "Shimmer", Fuel is no longer a band that no one knows about but rather a band that continues to grow in terms of fan base due to word of mouth and their exciting, energetic live shows. But beyond their powerful live performances, there is some real magic to be found on the studio album as well. In truth, this album has something for everyone from deep, brooding ballads like "Shimmer", "Hideaway", and "Sunburn" to full-on, all-out intense rockers like "Ozone", "New Thing", "Jesus or a Gun", and "Mary Pretends". It is important to note that this album is not flawless and as expected, some of the songs do not always glitter with originality. None could be more true an example than the aforementioned rocker "Mary Pretends". Its main guitar riff, its weak, repitive lyrics all sound eerily close to the tune "Stage" by Live, from their masterpiece album Throwing Copper. Still, this is a debut album and therefore a band that is just finding its sound may be prone to stealing riifs or even song structures from other bands. Still, that being said, much like Live, the album itself connects on many levels most notably in terms of its energy, honesty and real emotions. Brett Scallions, the band's lead singer has a very impressive vocal range. It is not uncommon that he will murmur some beautiful words one instant and erupt with rage and raw emotion the next. Still, their sound is not to be confused with Nirvana's soft loud soft/verse chorus verse leanings nor really any other modern rock act. The guitars do roar, the vocals do resonate and captivate but the real trump card are the band's lyrics, which are penned by Carl Bell, and for the record are more coherent and cohesive than anything Nirvana ever wrote. A song like "Song For You" for example is an excellent song both lyrically and musically. The guitar riff is rather catchy and the lyrics only help to catapult the song past the usual standard lamenting song of lost love. The itself is about a relationship that fell short on both ends, but despite the hurt that has followed, the general sentiment is that it is all "for the best", and that regardless what happened, he just wants the woman to enjoy all that is good, even if it is not with him. Certainly not the typical bitter love song, and Fuel is not your typical love-torn, angst laden rock band. What merit is found on a tune such as "Song For You" can be found numerous other places on the album as well. The word "filler" does not exist here. Every song is solid and carries some serious weight. Even more impressive is that this is a debut album. Some bands might strain their entire careers to put forth something this solid, and Fuel has done it on their first try. In terms of landmark major label debuts, this album is on par with Pearl Jam's "Ten", Nirvana's "Nevermind", Jimi Hendrix's "Are You Experienced?", Rage Against the Machine's self titled debut and Green Day's "Dookie". An aptly named band who is full of energy whose prowess and talent are no longer a secret, Fuel's engine is revved up and their tank is full and they are ready to leave their skidmarks on the rest of the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From these humble beginnings came fame and fortune..., December 19, 2007
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
I remember the first time I heard `Bittersweet' on the radio and thinking that this band, Fuel, may wind up being my new favorite band. It was just so infectious, such a great song. When I picked up `Sunburn' I quickly realized that Fuel was not a one hit wonder either, and as many a fan can attest to, they only got better with age. Fuel reminds me of another radio friendly megaband, namely Nickelback. They came out with an album that was slightly under radar and then they released a single off their sophomore attempt that blew everyone away and made them research their roots. For Fuel that single was the popular `Hemorrhage' but it's on `Sunburn' that we find some of Fuel's greatest tracks to date. `Bittersweet' is one of them, but there are others, many others.

I don't think the name Fuel can be mentioned without the single `Shimmer' mentioned, a single that went on to be one of their most popular. It's one of those songs that always brings a smile to my face. I don't think it's possible to get sick of this song. The title track `Sunburn' has a really nice feel to it. Much like `Shimmer' it's a slower paced song that relies heavily on Brett Scallions' signature vocals. `Song for You' follows this same formula of slowed down verses and uplifted chorus lines, while the closing track `Hideaway' remains slow and almost stagnant through and through. I think it's safe to say that `Hideaway' fails to really impress me. It's not terrible, but it's not memorable, and I'm a firm believer in the fact that closing tracks need to be memorable. And what's up with the mess that is `It's Come to This'? I don't even want to talk about this song.

Now, with all these slower paced tracks there are bound to be some `Bittersweet' type songs burning up the track listing, and the opener `Untitled' does just that, with blistering guitar work and gruff `edgy' vocals. `New Thing' has an upbeat feel to the track with a catchy and chant worthy chorus. The remaining three tracks are probably the best tracks on the album, full force and in your face. `Ozone' has a strange verse and a killer bridge breakdown. `Mary Pretends' is just blistering with a fast paced and intense chorus structure and `Jesus or a Gun' is the track that made me worship this band for a spell. It's the heaviest track on the album and still remains my favorite Fuel song ever recorded.

So, in the end if you are a fan of the band and have yet to grab this album then you are in need to do some CD shopping. If you already have this album then I'm sure you already know how great the CD is. Is it perfect? No. Were their follow up albums better? Collectively, for `Something Like Human' especially is close to perfection, but this album is still well worth the investment, especially now that it's been re-released with two bonus tracks, `Walk the Sky' being one terrific addition to the lineup (a closing track that is, by all means, memorable).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuel Cd has depth and the big hits, October 4, 2000
By 
erik (Cleveland, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
I got this Cd a couple years ago when I got twelve free Cds for joining my club. I got some good Cds from those original twelve, but this one was the best pick of them all. The first four songs are great. Just those four can be listened to over and over. "Untitled" and "Bittersweet" are the first two. You may have heard them, but maybe not. They are both somewhat-hard alternative. The next song, "Shimmer", is much easier. It is probably the best song on the Cd, though. It is a big hit, and you have probably heard of it. The whole Cd is worth buying just for "Shimmer". The next song you may have heard of also. It is called "Jesus or a Gun". It is a little harder than "Shimmer", but I consider it a little easier than the first two tracks. It is a great song also, though. The other song that I think is worth mentioning is "Mary Pretends". It is a great song. About as hard as "Untitled". It is track 9. This whole Cd is great. They change the tempo and that completes the Cd. If you have heard any of their songs and like them, buy the Cd, though, cause the style stays relatively close. It is a great Cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid album., September 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
Often it's believed by the most "knowledgable" Rock fans that if a band is in the public eye, it's no good. Many times that proves to be true, not the case with Fuel, who are truley a Rock band with a throwback that hints towards 70s Arena Rock. Fuel's debut album "Sunburn" is a strong one, each song different from the next, the album flows rather nicely and proves it self to be very listener worthy. It's not amazing nor groundbreaking, but it's good, and in my book that makes it worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally unbelievable, September 22, 2000
By 
Jeff Messman (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunburn (Audio CD)
This CD is, in a word, fantastic. It is definitely one of my favorite CDs ever. As a band that doesn't receive the media attention it should and also one that not many people have heard of, Fuel presents a great CD with a mixture of pure rock tracks and meaningful, emotional rock tracks. The best tracks on this CD are "Bittersweet", "Song for you", "shimmer", "ozone", and "Jesus or a gun". Every song is worth listening to. Get it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sunburn
Sunburn by Fuel (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.