Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regular dash cam
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:25 Mins
In the video I used the highest resolution but you won't see that at all because of the changes that occur after one uploads a review.

Pros
* Basic dash cam.
* Comes with mounting gear for helmets, handlebars, cars, arms and underwater.
* Comes with cables for charging.
* Has adapter for microSD card for inserting...
Published 7 months ago by Citizen John

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst instructions ever
If it were intuitive to use the lack of instructions would be fine, but since it consists of two buttons that are magically supposed to do everything it is not ok.

After a day charging, it lasted for less than 20 minutes. I'm guessing I have a dud and will be returning.
Published 6 months ago by Mom Times Two


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regular dash cam, January 5, 2014
Length:: 2:25 Mins

In the video I used the highest resolution but you won't see that at all because of the changes that occur after one uploads a review.

Pros
* Basic dash cam.
* Comes with mounting gear for helmets, handlebars, cars, arms and underwater.
* Comes with cables for charging.
* Has adapter for microSD card for inserting in computer.
* One can use included USB cable to alternately upload to computer.

Cons
* Insufficient resolution for extreme sports.
* Mounting hardware mainly not highly durable.

Using as dash cam
* Can mount in a variety of configurations on dash or windshield.
* Power-record button is very easy to access while driving.
* Record evidence in event of accident.
* Using a dash cam can serve to remind oneself to drive safely.
* Record events of nature.

Summary
This product is well suited as an everyday dash cam. Others may like to use it on a bicycle helmet. Promotions and pricing may vary. The complimentary unit I received did NOT come with a microSD card. This is my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun and useful action camera - you can record and take pictures underwater, and can control it with your phone, March 9, 2014
Length:: 1:02 Mins

This is a neat little action camera. I was offered a chance to try this out and review it by the manufacturer and overall I've been pretty impressed. For such a small device, it takes surprisingly good pictures and video. They're not as nice as, say, what you'd get with a GoPro or a Drift or one of the other big name action camera brands. The detail and the sharpness just isn't there -- I'd say it's great for home video and sharing adventures online and with friends, but it's not near the quality you'd want or need for commercials or theatrical productions. Still, they are quite nice and look quite good, and it comes with all the accessories you need to take photos and video whether outdoors, indoors, or underwater, in either 1080p 30fps or 720p at 60fps.

It's mostly self explanatory, and the instructions are mostly clear enough to follow, even if they were obviously not written by a native English speaker. By the way, since they're not listed here and since someone asked me, here are the size specs on the camcorder (inexact, since it's rounded on the edges): It is roughly 2 1/4" tall, 1 1/2" wide, and 1 1/8" deep. The underwater casing is a bit bigger: just under 3" tall, nearly 2" wide and just over 1 1/2" deep.

I'll try and summarize what I think are the other most important details, and clarify where the instructions are confusing.

1. Setting it up: the first thing is to charge it. The battery is build in, and lasts for just over a couple of hours shooting time. It charges via a standard USB to micro USB cable -- which is included, along with a detachable USB outlet plug, so that you can either charge it from an outlet or a computer. I charged it overnight, but it seems to take just a few hours to charge.

The other thing you need to do for set up is to install a microSD card. I used a 16GB card. There's a little rubber flap on the side that covers up the mini-HDMI output and micro-USB plug. There's also a slot for the microSD card, and a little diagram that shows you which way to orient the card before putting it in.

One thing to note: it's a bit of a pain to remove the microSD card. On most devices like this I've used, all you have to do is press down and release pressure and it pops up. With this one you have to press it down and also pull it backwards. It seems to catch on something, so that it doesn't release unless you press down and jiggle it a bit. I ended up pressing it down with the flat end of a screwdriver and then pulling it back, and then it popped up as I'd expected. Still, it's worth saying that it catches, so that no one just tries to yank it out as that would likely damage the card.

2. Getting it to go: there's a power/mode button on one side and a record button on the other. Press and hold the power button and the red power light will flash and then the record light turns green. That means you are in 1080p/30 video shooting mode, which is the default recording mode. Then you can press the record button and it will record video at 1080p/30. Press the button again to stop recording.

3. Changing modes: you can also switch modes, to record in 720p or to shoot 5MP photos. Once it's on, just press and release the power button briefly and it cycles to 720p mode and then press again for photo mode, and then again to return to 1080p mode. In photo mode just press the record button to take a picture.

4. Uploading your photos or video: the easiest thing, but not the coolest thing, is to upload your photos by connecting the camera to a computer with the USB cable. Then the SD card will appear as an external drive on your computer, and you can go into its folders and extract the photos and videos. If you've shot video or photos to a flashdrive or SD card before. the folder structure should be familiar. An even better way to get your photos or video is to hook this up via wifi to your phone or tablet.

5. Connecting to wifi: here's where the instructions are confusing -- and just flat out wrong --they say "Follow the steps below to connect your phone to the camera: AP software installed on your phone, ispo.APK for android mobile phones, ispo.ipa for the iphone mobile phones...." -- as far as I can tell there is no app called "ispo" but eventually I found the "ISPO-Camera" app and that's the one you have to download (at least on the app store -- I haven't tried this with an android phone).

Once you download it, you need to set up your phone to work with the wifi on the camera. First you put the camera into wifi connection mode by turning it on, and then pressing and holding the record button for about 5 seconds. The record light will turn orange and start blinking. Then go into your wifi settings on the phone and select the wifi network called "a5-000001" and the default password is "1234567890". Type that in and you're hooked up. Once the password is set into your phone, you can link automatically by putting the camera into wifi mode and turning on the ISPO-Camera app.

When you're in the app, you can control all the functions on your camera remotely, without pressing buttons on the phone. You can also see from your phone everything the camera "sees" -- and record what you want when you want. That built in feature makes this camera really handy, and useful for lots of situations.

6. Accessories: the camera has a 1/4" mount on the bottom, so you can hook it up directly to any kind of tripod or other mount system you have. Plus, it comes with a strap on mount and a strap, that allow you to hook it up in a variety of situations, and it also comes with a handlebar mount, for strapping it to a motorcycle or bike or whatever you like. Finally, it comes with a waterproof housing. It looks like it might be waterproof or resistant right out of the box, but in fact it needs to fit into the see through case, which also has a 1/4" mount screw on the bottom and two buttons that will press the buttons on the camera. Of course you can also view things remotely.

7. Control: as mentioned the controls on the camera are very simple -- and just allow you to turn it on and off, switch modes and record. The wifi app allows you to control all of those things, and also the change the white balance settings and the recording frequency from 50 Hz to 60 Hz. It also allows you to change the photo mode from single shot to photo burst. In fast-paced situations, it is nice to be able to shoot several shots in a row and be sure you get the best look at the action.

All in all, this is a reasonably priced, easy-to-use (apart from the confusing instructions) and versatile action camera. The convenience of controlling and viewing your camera via wifi to a phone makes this extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst instructions ever, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If it were intuitive to use the lack of instructions would be fine, but since it consists of two buttons that are magically supposed to do everything it is not ok.

After a day charging, it lasted for less than 20 minutes. I'm guessing I have a dud and will be returning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely inadequate instructions, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If it weren't for the review by N. Anderson, I would be totally mystified by how to use this. The camera is very small (about 1 1/2" by 2 1/2 ") and reasonably well built. The accessory package is generous. But why do they include a 16GB mini SD card if the device "needs the 4-32GB card with speed at and above CLASS 4"? And why can't they tell you that on Amazon so you can buy one at the same time as you order the camera?

If you are considering purchasing this camera, look closely at the 5 star ratings. Notice any similarities in the wording? And isn't it odd that they are all submitted on the same day? This truly looks like a very sleazy attempt by one individual to pump up the ratings. Who would do that but the seller? That itself is enough to make me not want to buy one of these, but I stupidly did not pay attention.

I have followed N. Anderson's instructions and am now trying to charge the camera. I have no idea if it is working, because there is no indication on the camera (as the manufacturers bad instructions indicate there will be). I will update this review tomorrow on whether it charged or not.

THE NEXT DAY..... All in all, a complete disappointment. I would have to assume a 14 hour charge would be adequate, but not a thing happens when I try to make it turn on. Thank goodness for Amazon's return policy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, July 5, 2014
By 
gary kaye (cleveland, ohio USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
UNABLE TO SEE SCREEN IN DAYLIGHT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice video but with a few issues, May 24, 2014
The small size and included mounts make using the camera to record sports, hunting, fishing or using it as a dash cam, easy to do. You can mount the camera onto many different types of items, so that you can record without needing to hold it in your hand. It also comes with a plastic housing to help make it waterproof when needed.

The video the camera records is decent in bright light. However like many action cams, this one doesn't do so well in low light. This may not be an issue for everyone, but if you're looking for an action cam that will work well in low light/fog/evening situations, this one is better suited for the bright sunlight of daytime.

The instructions are complicated and lacking. Some people will probably find this frustrating and may give up before figuring out how to work the camera. I have a few different action cams that we use, since we are a family who does quite a bit of outdoor activities (hunting, fishing, traveling, ATVing, etc). And we mount cams onto all kinds of things, from the front a 4-wheeler to the bow of a boat. And while I've found action cams are not the most complicated devices to run, this one could really have benefited from some clearer included instructions.

Also the battery on this camera does not last as long as other action cams I've used. I'm not sure if it's because the rechargeable battery is not getting a full charge or if it just doesn't hold a charge very long. So while it does have good video, I can see some people becoming quite frustrated with the lack of clear instruction on how to use it and also the shorter than average battery life.

Sample provided for review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Please Help Contacting Maker!!!!, August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this camera and it worked great but then the place where you plug in the USB cord came lose and I can't connect it to the computer. I have tried but can't seem to find out how to contact the maker of this item. If anybody knows the phone number to see if I can get a replacement please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "little" camera, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only thing I was disappointed with was that I didn't get the WiFi. We were sceptical as we left for the Caribbean and wanted underwater pictures. This camera did not disappoint us. We kept shooting picture after picture and were pleasantly surprised when we got home and took a look at what we had. Clarity was great even with the videos. Worth the price in comparison to buying disposable cameras and paying for development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Video Review of the Sunco Action Camera, January 12, 2014
Length:: 4:54 Mins

The Sunco Action Camera is a small rechargeable action camera for anyone on the move. On its own the Sunco Action Camera is similar to most of the other Action Cameras in this range - but the Sunco comes with one feature that is pretty cool -it can wireless connect to your smartphone or other device. This allows you to watch the video remotely, but more on this later.

Notes

- Video quality id better than expected for a camera of this size.

- Creates a wifi network that allows you to connect to devices such as iPhones and iPads - thsi allows for remote viewing of the Action Camera. The Wifi Range seems to be good for 20 to 30 feet.

- Will take video or photos - there are several options for each including a *burst* mode for photos.

- While you can view the video remotely as you record the Sunco is unable to allow you to remotely view in of the files that are in the albums.

- Comes with a case that provides water protection for up to 30 meters (nearly 100 feet)

- Comes with a splash guard

- I like the Velcro straps that are used for the arm bands - as you can see in the video it makes it very easy to strap to devicees.

- Includes a mount for connecting to bicylce or other tyes of tubing

Areas for improvement -

- The set-up is a bit confusing the small screen makes it difficult to navigate through the menus

Final Verdict - The Sunco Action Camera delivers solid video performance in a very small package. I really like the fact that you can connect it directly to my iPhone and iPad and use it for viewing the screen.

4 1/2 Stars

Please Note I received this product in exchange for an unbiased review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wifi is good., January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The wifi feature and remote is awesome. I mount the remote on my bike's handle bar and use it to turn on/off recording the Sunco wherever it is situated in the bike. So convenient.Lot of fun if you like to try things while shooting videos, and perfect if you just want to record experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.