Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nature Power vs. Sunforce Comparison
So, if you're like me and are comparing the Solar Step Lights - 2 Pack to the Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) you've come to the right review. I bought both and have them side by side doing their duties in my front yard lighting up a partial shaded garden path.
These two items are nearly identical in shape and construction and have about the same light...
Published on July 1, 2012 by Christopher M. Fuller

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
These lights are quite small and aren't powerful at all - they barely lit the spot few inches away. I guess they are usable to mark dock edge but that seems to be their only use. Another disappointment is that they turn on way before it's dark, so they stayed on for only a few hours after dark. They look much better on the picture than in reality, white plstick edges make...
Published on September 20, 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nature Power vs. Sunforce Comparison, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
So, if you're like me and are comparing the Solar Step Lights - 2 Pack to the Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) you've come to the right review. I bought both and have them side by side doing their duties in my front yard lighting up a partial shaded garden path.
These two items are nearly identical in shape and construction and have about the same light output and run time which is quite good for lighting a path. I did not take them apart to see if they had different quality components inside. Here are the differences:
The Solar Step Lights - 2 Pack version has a brown painted case and the light is somewhat warmer in color (more yellowish)
The Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) version has a brushed steel case and the light is somewhat cooler in color (more blueish)
the difference in light color temperature is very small and may vary in each batch of units made, they both use white LEDs.
When deciding on which one to buy, I would say the only discernable difference is the case color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good design, well made lights, September 16, 2011
By 
A. B. Trevor "Wyndover" (Adirondack Mountains, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
Ordered these to mark our boat slips at night. Mounted them on a wall with the solar cells pointing up. They appear fairly rugged (metal frame, not plastic), and work great - LED's provide bright light all night even on cloudy days. We'll have to see how well they stand up to a few years in the weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the deck / dock stairs or walkway, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
install easily. As advice goes from another post on solar lights - get the 2000mAH batteries from Amazon Basics - replace them with the 2000 mAh batteries. You will be surprised how much better solar lights perform. This works for all AA solar lights - improves performance both in light output and length of time they run.

I used the box these came in to make a template for the mounting screws. just align the top and a side and use a nail or screw to mark where the holes are. then you can use the template to mark on the wood where you want it installed. remove the template, and install screws almost all the way in, slide the unit over them. If it's loose, then tighten the screws a little more.

I have 14 of these on my walkway going to the dock - they do a great job. Not extremely bright, but good enough to light the walkway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, September 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
These lights are quite small and aren't powerful at all - they barely lit the spot few inches away. I guess they are usable to mark dock edge but that seems to be their only use. Another disappointment is that they turn on way before it's dark, so they stayed on for only a few hours after dark. They look much better on the picture than in reality, white plstick edges make them look cheap. I think they are really overpriced for the look and usability, should be $5 a piece maximum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
These solar lights work great, they are much smaller than pictured but worked out well for our boat dock. Plan on purchasing more in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars price on here is outrageous!!!, August 6, 2012
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
I bought several packs of these for my deck at Menard's and need a couple extra so went ahead and looked here. The ones I bought at Menard's were $5 something for 2!! If you want to save money go to Menards to buy these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent quality. Needs extra waterproofing. I used RTV ..., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
Decent quality. Needs extra waterproofing. I used RTV silicone. Also, throw the batteries and buy new ones. I suggest Tenergy AAA low self discharge, they also have higher mAh rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Lights, July 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
Been installed for about a month now and they work great. Others at the marina admire them and are going to purchase. Nice and bright. Mounting option could be a bit better.

Update: Year Two and bought a couple more. One light failed and had to hot wire across the on/off switch to get it working again. Still happy with the lights. Got four on my dock now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, May 16, 2014
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
Complete garbage. Step on them in your flip flops or bare feet & the housing will bend & lense will break. We bought 8 of them. Within a few weeks more than 1/2 of them didn't work any more. A year later, 2 are still working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Trying to be Green..., February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
I got these (4) to light up some pathways at night while trying to be ecologically sensitive.

Initially, I was pleased with the results - good light (albeit the cold LED glow) which came on at dusk and lasted well past midnight. Mounting them on a stone surface was a bit difficult but I found a good adhesive from DAP that did the trick. Now I had light where needed with very little effort.

All was good for several months then I noticed one was not working. Since I'd ordered a few extras, I replace it. Then a few more went out after another month or two so I dis-assembled one of them and tested the battery - it was bad. Same with all the other failing units. Upon closure inspection, the housing was beginning to weather quite a bit.

I guess the weather here in Texas was too much for these units. This gets to the challenge with solar - reliably storing the energy. Batteries and heat are not the best of companions. The plastic around the aluminum housing didn't fare much better. Note, I've had quality outdoor lighting for many, many years and these are the first units where the weather has degraded their quality so quickly.

The concept is great - low profile solar lightening where you need it - but this product doesn't quite measure up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sunforce 84507 Solar Dock Light, (Pack of 2)
$39.99 $26.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.