Prime Music

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$2.67 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by jukeboxonline.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
carmelbeach... Add to Cart
$9.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid
 
See larger image
 

Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid

ElefantAudio CD
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40 customer reviews)

Price: $10.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, Sept. 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to your music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 10 Songs, 2004 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2003 $10.00  

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
listen  1. Make Up 3:21$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  2. Now That I Miss Her 2:37$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  3. Misfit 3:13$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  4. Bokkie 3:35$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  5. Tonight Let's Dance 3:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  6. Static On Channel 4 2:18$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  7. Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid 4:18$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  8. Annie 3:14$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  9. Love 4:00$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen10. Ester 2:49$0.99  Buy MP3 


Amazon's Elefant Store

Visit Amazon's Elefant Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid + Laura
Price for both: $21.52

Buy the selected items together
  • Laura $11.52

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 8, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Kemado
  • ASIN: B00008NRL3
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #103,063 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

If you like the Strokes, you should be spending this week’s CD allowance on Elefant’s first full-length recording. This New York- based band has the same angular, punchy guitar and bass, sticky melodies, ennui-filled boy vocals, and pointed lyrics as the Strokes. But with Elefant, you get a little Brit-pop flavor from vocalist Diego Garcia (originally from Argentina but sounding British). Catchy arrangements grab you right away with the opener, "Make Up," and by track three, "Misfit," you know the ebullient style of guitarist Mod is going to stick in your head long after the CD stops playing. "Bokkie" is tailor-made for radio but is completely fresh and irresistible, and in a similar vein, "Love" bristles with a pop energy that’s both understated and relentless. --Lorry Fleming

Product Description

". . . Elefant's throbbing debut . . . the songs are built around insidious dance grooves, which get filled out by excellent guitar work." - Rolling Stone.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fungus August 31, 2004
Format:Audio CD
This cd has grown on me like a fungus, but a good one like mushrooms or something. When I first found out about this band Elefant I was kind ticked off because my band's name is Elefant Grass so I didn't want to listen to it...that really doesn't help you though so anyway I finally did and thought it was ok, that was 2 months ago. Then I gave it another try a about a week ago and it hasn't left my cd player. Yeah there are hints of the Strokes and Interpol but these guys really do sound like their own band. There is an 80's britpop feel to some of it that I really like. It's catchy as as hell and the melodies of some of the songs are almost addicting and I can't stop listening to it. Anyway I'm certainly glad I didn't pass on this.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
27 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Me A Break February 25, 2004
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
"The Strokes". "Interpol". Okay, there, now I'm done with that part of my review. Elefant has released quite an enjoyable record in "Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid". Yes, there are the inevitable comparisons to their aforementioned contemporaries, and of course the ties to those vital 80's influences. The Strokes and Interpol are a couple of my favorite rock bands right now because they reference what I liked about a good portion of 80s rock, and somehow manage to distill it into something fresh. Same goes for Elefant. So all you indie rock purists out there, please stop whining and be thankful that this stuff is actually somewhat popular. Each of these bands has something unique to offer, so I'll just as soon dispense with the whole "Interpol did it first and best, the Strokes are boring/finished, and Elefant is just a poor copy of the others". Please. It's all good, and you know you like it or else you wouldn't have bought it. Besides, would you rather listen to Puddle of Mudd? Liked them the first time around when they were called Nirvana. How about a little Limp Bizkit? Yeah, I didn't think so. Music will move on, and I happen to like this particular direction. If you want something more experimental, don't look at bands like this because it's pop music, and it was designed to be played on the radio. Start your own band or get a copy of Cakewalk and record some weird music on your own PC. Upload it to the internet. Boom, you're a star.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sunlight" shines May 30, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Who can resist being told, "Get up and dance around the room, my eyes are on you"? That's the endearing note that New York's Elefant kicks off on, in their full-length debut "Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid," where mildly poppy garage-rock are given a smoother, more colorful edge.
The poppy, catchy "Make Up" kicks off the album, followed by some solid rock-pop like "Now That I Miss Her," the charming "Love," and the sputteringly spacey "Static on Channel 4." The highest point may be the brilliantly dark and grim "Sunlight Makes Me Feel Paranoid," with its claustrophobic lyrics and bleak tone.
Don't expect anything overwhelming in "Sunlight," but it's undeniable that their stuff is enormous fun. It brims over with exuberance, especially in the tunes that break from the typical rock mold. The tone? Well, that these guys love girls and it's great being around them -- simple, but rather sweet in a first-crush kind of way.
Elefant avoids the pitfalls of boring music by taking basic guitar-and-drums and spicing them up with bursts of sputtering bass, faint shimmers of keyboard, an ear-piercing riff in "Bokkie," and a handful of other flourishes that keep things interesting. It works -- while the music is not overly complex, it does feel layered and polished, without losing the garage-rocker edge.
Lead singer Diego Garcia may be from Argentina originally, but he sounds a bit like a Britpop singer at times; he has a nice, occasionally excellent voice that rolls enthusiastically over the songs like he means every word.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I like it! May 24, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I cannot fathom where the Strokes comparisons come from. I like the Strokes, but this just doesn't sound the same. If we have to do the comparison thing (and apparently we must) I am reminded of the Psychedelic Furs myself. Regardless, the first 7 songs are great, then I tune out the last three. Yes, the lyrics aren't great poetry, but the songs stay with me all the same. And not in that annoying way either.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different than there EP April 28, 2003
By Martin
Format:Audio CD
I bought the 3 song ep with Bokkie, Annie, and Gallery Girl on it. Now that I listened to their first full album they sound different than on there EP. Its still a good sound just not as eccentric. His voice reminds me of David Bowie and not the Strokes. What's with reviewers today and saying everything sounds like the Strokes? Anyways enough of my erreverant babbling, I suggest you buy this album if you want to listen to something different but not something to hard to listen too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tell me your name, Tell me your story...... March 17, 2005
Format:Audio CD
This is a pretty good CD. My sister and I couldn't stop listening to it the first week we got it. I love the heavy bass lines and although the lyrics are simple, they fit nicely. Good, but not great. Looking foward to what they come out with next.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite album of all time
Music is a passion of mine and my taste is extremely varied. This particular album is the only album I have ever listened to from beginning to end on a regular basis without... Read more
Published on March 7, 2012 by ILoveM&M
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant
This album is great for singing to yourself in front of a mirror whilst dancing and making faces. Most of the lyrics lack any depth and the theme tends to be repetitive but that is... Read more
Published on December 5, 2009 by Maricruz
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SERVICE
Yo, I got this CD in three days from California (I'm in Philly). It was in awesome condition, brand to the new. Cats did a good job, I'd buy from them again.
Published on September 10, 2009 by Gary Lime
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD.
I'm a fan of CD's I can pop in and leave on through the last track. This is one of those. I wouldn't say the CD is mind-blowing, but it's catchy and fun with an 80's feel. Read more
Published on January 21, 2008 by Mandi
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!!
This is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time - intelligent, funny lyrics, and a cool 1980's, David Bowie sensibility. What more could you ask for? Read more
Published on June 14, 2007 by Cup of Tea
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD!
Sure, this CD may offer sounds similar to those of the Strokes, but Elefant throws in some of their own moods, sounds, and ideas to a sound that only grazes the Strokes. Read more
Published on November 19, 2005 by Keith N. Mosier
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and Refreshing
I got this a while ago. It's really quite a fun album. The basslines are dreamy, the singer's voice is melodic and lilting. Read more
Published on September 29, 2005 by Benjamin Norman
4.0 out of 5 stars an old friend, a new friend
this cd is so, so good. the first five tracks especially are top. they have great sounds and lyrics that seem familiar, like old friends you grew up with. Read more
Published on September 23, 2005 by tessabine
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of hooks
Yes, they have the New York Sound. I can say that I REALLY don't like the Strokes, but I love this cd, and their 1st ep as well. Read more
Published on August 9, 2005 by Brian Gruidl
3.0 out of 5 stars This is original
plz dont compare this band to anyone just say its diferent and sometimes catchy, i like 4 of there song but after i heard it a few times except for the song love thats a good... Read more
Published on August 8, 2005 by P. Lalli
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category