Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raasclaaat!
I can't believe that I am the first person writing a review for this album. Considering dub master Lee Scratch Perry's fame of late, i am surprised, because, and I am a "yardie" "come a "foreign", straight from kingston, and I haf fi tell you, this album. This album. This album is one of the BEST pure dub albums ever recorded. It is pure...
Published on July 23, 1999

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but let's calm down.
Certainly, "Super Ape"'s reputation is at least a tad overblown, even if you're really into this stuff. Perry could be brilliant, and he recorded tons of my favorite reggae tunes. But many of his productions sound like he's utilizing every stray sound effect that pops into his head at any given moment- no thought at all, just doing it because he's a "genius," and no one...
Published on October 18, 2012 by Paul A. Tatara


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raasclaaat!, July 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
I can't believe that I am the first person writing a review for this album. Considering dub master Lee Scratch Perry's fame of late, i am surprised, because, and I am a "yardie" "come a "foreign", straight from kingston, and I haf fi tell you, this album. This album. This album is one of the BEST pure dub albums ever recorded. It is pure trouble. Where Augustus pablo is sublime Lee Perry and the Upsetters(!) take roots dub to the core of the earth into the raw essence of all that is. Yes I. You will end up stopping the cd and taking a break because you didn't know drum and bass could be so tough! Jah bless and guide. If you love dub, then my bredren, drop dis on and kick back and you'll forget you were ever here ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential reggae album, May 11, 2000
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
From top to bottom, this album is full of haunting melodies and flowing riddims. Until a few years ago I thought reggae music began and ended with Bob Marley, then someone played the Upsetters for me, and I devoured it. This album never gets old. If you purchase only one reggae CD in your life, make it Super Ape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Upsetters at their best, February 11, 2003
By 
tgriffi "elproducto" (New Orleans, LA baby!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
This CD incorporates the entire spectrum of the Black Ark sound which was the peak of Lee Perry/producer. This is in the top 5 percent of dub albums. The best thing about this cd is that it has it's own distinct sound (eerie, roots, and mystical). Prince Jazzbo and Full Experience vocals weave in and out of the songs like a dream. This is the one album fans of the Black Ark sound cannot be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you want, March 20, 2006
By 
picaraza (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
I've been buying various Lee Perry/Upsetter compliations and Lee Perry productions over the past few months. I love all that Black Ark stuff, but everything else absolutely pales compared to this.

In a word, incredible.

"Super Ape" is available from Amazon.co.uk. Got it for less than $20 including shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Reggae/Dub Album in the History of the Universe, November 8, 2002
By 
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
Super Ape is the most authentic roots reggae dub album ever. If you can find it, get it. The tracks are chilled out and really trippy. I can't imagine reggae being any better, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Essential!, April 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
No roots reggae collection is complete without this CD, plain and simple. One of the greatest roots/dub albums in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Dub Vybes, June 6, 2011
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this album was when I went to check a bredren back in the days of vinyl and it was playing on the turntable when I walked in...... hot off the press more or less so to speak..... and after listening to Zion Blood and undergound Roots I was totally captivated by the Atmosphere this album created.... it did not have the dig out yuh belly bass lines and the spacious mixes that you would experience listening to King Tubbys who was a dub Impressario in his own right this had a more fuller tighter sound and nuff tings going on within the mix to create a more mesmorizing experience...... Each track has its own individual Identity which still manage to blend together to create a vybe you wont get with any other dub album.......If you are at the beggining of your journey into dub music chill out turn down the lights and listen to this album you wont get this particular experience anywhere else.....you may then realize why they call Lee Perry a genius...... He knows how to build riddim an di man cyan mix a chune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Upsetters - Superrape, April 27, 2009
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
This is a strong album with a very jungle - like feel, supported with haunting horns and flutes and percussions. I love every song, especially Dread Lion and Superrape.Still, this album should not be for some beginners as it may be to deep. To enjoy this product completely, I beleive some reggae initiatition is required to fully appreciate Lee Perry and the Upsetters and the sound they created at Black Ark Studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, August 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
An essential purchase - every home should have a copy of this sublime classic. Lots of spaced out echo and stuff makes this one of the trippiest dub albums ever. Took me ages to find it but well worth the wait since I lost my vinyl copy years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tuff Enuff, May 29, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Ape (Audio CD)
Not a classic? Come on! This is mellow, cool and touched by genius. The latter tracks head towards roots soul and the dub effects are understated and just right... plenty of echo-echo-echo and phhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaase effects. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Ape
Super Ape by Lee "Scratch" Perry (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.