Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Maxwell Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 4, 2016
Was an insightful book, Thannks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Great book with lots of examples of real world applications. Not enough explanation of the math, but it does encourage the individual to seek more information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
This book helped me better conceptualize stats as well as fuel my motivation to try and master it more fully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
I thought this book was interesting.
It begins by basically explaining number crunching and then shows a bunch of examples of number crunching and the different ways you can use it.
All-in-all, I thought this book was okay. Interesting, but not great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
Needs to be updated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
Very interesting read. Not boring at all. Full of examples and stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
Great book on the importance of data-driven decision making. While I have always been someone that has let the data do the talking, I haven't found an easy way to explain why. Super Crunchers is that easy way! Below I have summarized some of the important points of the book....

Super Crunching is crucially about the impact of statistical analysis on real-world decisions. Two core techniques for Super Crunching are the regression and randomization.

1. Regression will make your predictions more accurate (Historical approach):

It all starts with the use of regressions, and although this method is a basic statistical test of causal relationship it's still a very powerful tool that I need to re-introduce in my analytical life.

Regressions make predictions and tell you how precise the prediction is. It tries to hone in on the causal impact of a variable on a dependent. It can tell us the weights to place upon various factors and simultaneously tell us how precisely it was able to estimate these weights.

2. Randomization and large sample sizes (Present/Real-Time approach):

Reliance on historical data increases the difficulty in discerning causation. Large randomized tests work because the distribution amongst the sample are increasingly identical. Think A/B testing on steroids that allows you to quickly test different combinations! Boils down to the averages of the "treated and untreated" groups.

Government has embraced randomization as the best way to test what works. Statistical profiling led to smarter targeting of government support

With finite amounts of data, we can only estimate a finite number of causal effects

3. Neural network
Unlike the regression approach, which estimates the weights to apply to a single equation, the neural approach uses a system of equations represented by a series of interconnected switches.

Computers use historical data to train the equation switches to come up with optimal weights. But while the neural technique can yield powerful predictions, it does a poorer job of telling you why it is working or how much confidence it has in its prediction.

Super Crunching requires analysis of the results of repeated decisions. If you can't measure what you're trying to maximize, you're not going to be able to rely on data-driven decisions.

We humans just overestimate our ability to make good decisions and we're skeptical that a formula that necessarily ignores innumerable pieces of information could do a better job than we could.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Overall the book is very entertaining and instructive about the way analysis of large data sets is changing our social and economic landscape. The author shares some deep insights, even for someone experienced in data analysis.

The author makes some logical missteps though. when referring to Sherlock Holme's method as deduction (instead of a combination of induction and abduction), and assuming a normal distribution in asset markets (which has been shown to be a poor model for asset prices). It's a bit nitpicky to be sure, which one might let pass for a book on a different topic, but very strange mistakes to make for a book on data science.

Great, quick read otherwise!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
I'm a geek about data and statistics, and this book is definitely worth the read. What Freakonomics did for corner case statistical observations, Super Crunchers does for state of the art use of statistics. Bravo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Boring and not that informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse