Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Enough
Basing this on a bit of fact...there is an incipient danger of the forces under Yellowstone one day coming to life and destroying everything for hundreds of miles...this film is better than some though it tends to mix genres in a confusing way. The story opens in the middle of the disaster already happening and then flashes back to two days before and takes it from...
Published 6 months ago by Toni V. Sweeney

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super Eruption: A Solid B-Movie Made Possible By (and for) SyFy
Super Eruption: A Solid B-Movie Funded By SyFy

There are few phrases that inspire so much fear in people. "Direct-to-DVD" is one of them. "SyFy Presents" is another. Sadly, both of those monikers can apply to SUPER ERUPTION, and that's a shame because, as a flick, it works just fine. No, not all of it makes perfect sense. No, not all of it is original -...
Published 12 months ago by E. Lee Zimmerman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super Eruption: A Solid B-Movie Made Possible By (and for) SyFy, August 25, 2013
This review is from: Super Eruption (DVD)
Super Eruption: A Solid B-Movie Funded By SyFy

There are few phrases that inspire so much fear in people. "Direct-to-DVD" is one of them. "SyFy Presents" is another. Sadly, both of those monikers can apply to SUPER ERUPTION, and that's a shame because, as a flick, it works just fine. No, not all of it makes perfect sense. No, not all of it is original - many of the story's central tenets are borrowed wholesale from other films that have served them greater justice. But there's something to be said for a telefilm that knows what it is - a telefilm - just doing the best it can to set up, execute, and deliver a story for Saturday night folks with their butts parked firmly on the couch.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and character. If you're the type of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I'd encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you're accepting of a few modest hints at `things to come,' then read on ...)

A "super volcano" lying in wait beneath Yellowstone National Park erupts, bringing about an end to life as we know it! (And that's only the first ten minutes!) Then, the audience is given the assurance of "two days earlier" and the rest of our story can be told: Park Ranger Charlie Young (played by the always reliable Richard Burgi, whom I've enjoyed all the way back to his days on UPN's THE SENTINEL) and Volcanologist Kate (the lovely Juliet Aubrey) are trying to piece together the puzzle of some unusual events taking place on Earth when Kate receives a Skyped message from the future version of herself (no kidding), warning her of the coming cataclysm.

SUPER ERUPTION erupts right away, focusing on action right as the credits finish. Of course, the downside to this is that the characters get no real introduction (not until about 15 or so minutes into the film) so the audience has no emotional connection to these early catastrophes; however, from a narrative standpoint, it works just fine. In fact, the opening segment does what it can to strike fear into the heart of every viewer, giving the impression that something special could be in the offing once the End of All Things is dispensed with.

Sadly - as you may guess - there really isn't anything all that special or "super" about ERUPTION. It sets up its premise rather quickly - that it's going to deal with the lives of these people trapped near the heart of the blast - and, on that point, it delivers. Much of the pacing of Rafael Jordan's script is kept rather lean and mean, thanks to Matt Codd's `obligatory' direction. It's all served up as a grand catastrophe, and much of it works just fine.

Where ERUPTION flounders - even for a B-TV-movie - is that it tries too hard with some secondary plot elements to be something greater than the sum of its parts. Kate's messages from future Kate are neither all that cryptic, nor do they make much sense, as she's allowed to somehow magically email herself specifics of how to save mankind to her former self. This is a bit of a creative canard that was handled much better the first time audiences saw it in 2000's FREQUENCY, which starred Dennis Quaid as a father communicating with his grown-up son (PERSON OF INTEREST's Jim Caviezel) in the future. Messages from the future sent into the past everyone knows would create an "information paradox" which should cause the universe to implode (and if you didn't know, well now you do), making the future self no longer possible to exist and thus undo the story.

Too much information?

Thankfully, ERUPTION doesn't mince words with "real science." Instead, it's mostly an action/adventure story set in a sci-fi universe. And there's nothing wrong with that.

SUPER ERUPTION (2011) is produced by Marvista Entertainment and Unified Film Organization (UFO). DVD distribution is being handled by Arc Entertainment. As for the technical specifications, the film looks and sounds about as solid as any direct-to-DVD release can these days on a budget; while some of the effects are close to laughable, I never found them unnecessarily distracting from the dime novel story. And - as is often the case - there are no special features to speak of, and that's a shame: it would've been nice to have at least a few actors interviews or bios.

RECOMMENDED. All you need to realize is that this is a Direct-to-DVD release in part funded by the SyFy Channel, and you pretty much have a solid idea of what to expect with SUPER ERUPTION: it's a far from perfect flick heavily laced with sci-fi elements and made with affordable alternative to big budget stars. And - for all its foibles - I had fun with it. I'll give much of the credit to the reliable Richard Burgi and Juliet Aubrey, who as a pair put a wonderfully human face on all of this madness. Had it been anyone else, I may not have enjoyed it as much ... so, at least, the producers got that right!

In the interests of fairness, I'm pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Arc Entertainment provided me with a DVD copy of SUPER ERUPTION by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Enough, February 13, 2014
By 
Toni V. Sweeney (Orange County, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Eruption (DVD)
Basing this on a bit of fact...there is an incipient danger of the forces under Yellowstone one day coming to life and destroying everything for hundreds of miles...this film is better than some though it tends to mix genres in a confusing way. The story opens in the middle of the disaster already happening and then flashes back to two days before and takes it from there. A female scientist is the lead this time with the male lead a very downplayed second. There's the usual plot line of rangers going out and herding people to safety, a few casualties, and the solution, presented with the fact that someone has to go on a suicide mission to stop the lava flow. Nothing new there. What IS different is that the head of the government unit actually works with the scientist and she's also female instead of some belligerent general. Her assistant is the nay-sayer and he gets over-ridden each time...FAST. In the midst of all this, there's a bit of time travel which jars momentarily on the nerves and may cause the viewer to do a double-take. There's a long drawn-out segment in which the solution to stopping the disaster is given and that obviously appears to be simply to lengthen the viewing time. If someone from the future knows what's happening and has the answer, why give part of it, then say, "I'll tell the next section later?" Since the heroine is in am observation tower which is in danger of being engulfed by lava, why not give it ALL right then? Nevertheless, this one is a bit above the other disaster movies because it does buck the cliches a little and because of that I'll give it 4-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the special effects, It's A Movie, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Eruption (DVD)
This isn't a science film, it is cheap entertainment you can get at home especially on a cold snowy night. I bought it and was satisfied with my purchase. I knew exactly what I was purchasing, sure, alot of it went over my head. If you are looking for high brow entertainment, then choose PBS. My taste are of the UPN type, Star Trek Voyager, Seven Days, The Sentinel and so on. I enjoyed the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No 'Dantes Peak' but easy to watch, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a disaster movie aficianado and this was not bad at all. I thought the acting was relatively decent, loved the little plot twist, and genuinely enjoyed the movie. It's no 'Dantes Peak' but if you want to kick back with an unoffensive little disaster movie, this one will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay sy-fi movie, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't say this is the best movie I've watched. I love this type of movie (lots of action), but this one was clearly a low budget version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved all of the leading actors., September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
And the sify thriller really streches your imaginations. Very very good watching. Especialy when you think about it that at one time ago there was actually a real Volcaino under the yellow stone park and it is still very active to day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars syfy 2011, February 10, 2014
this was a syfy movie about 2011 better than most lots of action not much on reality
not worth paying for syfy will probably repeat it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but slow, August 18, 2013
By 
D. M. She (Western Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This story had an interesting twist to it and the actors really tried to make it work. But, honestly, for a disaster movie it is pretty slow moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A movie to be appreciated and enjoyed., July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To me this movie is a real gem. I enjoyed every aspect of it: the story, the script, the acting, the casting, the photography, the time warp, everything. I have already watched it 7 times, and will probably watch it again soon. It's entertaining, stimulating, intriguing. It's even an inspiring way to look at life. I don't judge it, or dissect it. I just merge with it and absorb it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A realistic look at Yellowstone's eruption, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good example of what it would look like for Yellowstone erupts. Hopefully it will be this easy to stop when the time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Eruption
Super Eruption by Matt Codd (DVD - 2013)
$14.99 $9.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.