Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for boys learning to read
Great for a 6-year old learning to read. Good content, good pics, and maintained his interest unlike some of the other learn to read books.
Published on September 15, 2008 by Russell Samuels

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ZZZzzzzzzz
Been buying a lot of level 1 & 2 superhero, star wars, indiana jones, curious george books and a few other miscellaneous ones to read to my 4 year old son. Until this one all have been at least mildly entertaining to both the child and the parent. The story in this book is about as complex as a pop-up book for a 2 year old. We don't have really high expectations for...
Published on December 2, 2010 by JustMe


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for boys learning to read, September 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
Great for a 6-year old learning to read. Good content, good pics, and maintained his interest unlike some of the other learn to read books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars son excited to see the book, June 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
My son does not love to read, but was excited to see this book. He loves the Justice League. So few of the super hero books are at a level that he can read. I hope they make more like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ZZZzzzzzzz, December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
Been buying a lot of level 1 & 2 superhero, star wars, indiana jones, curious george books and a few other miscellaneous ones to read to my 4 year old son. Until this one all have been at least mildly entertaining to both the child and the parent. The story in this book is about as complex as a pop-up book for a 2 year old. We don't have really high expectations for these books either, but there are many, many other books at this level that are much more interesting than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't want to make this a Marvel vs. DC thing..., January 9, 2013
By 
dark54555 "dark54555" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
...but there is a better series of childrens books in the Marvel universe. More on that in a moment.

Compared to Super Hero Squad: Meet the Super Hero Squad! (Marvel Super Hero Squad Readers), this book at least has a plot. It's not much of a plot, but there's a plot (but on the contrary, offers little to no introduction to the characters or their backgrounds). That being said, as others noted, it's better as a "learning to read" book than a "superhero bedtime story" book.

If you're looking for "superhero bedtime story" and aren't a diehard DC fan, Marvel (post Disney acquisition) has a series of books that are exceptional. See The Amazing Spider-Man Storybook Collection (Disney Storybook Collections) for a Spider-Man story collection (by far the best deal) or any of the individual character books like The Mighty Thor: An Origin Story or The Incredible Hulk: An Origin Story or The Invincible Iron Man: An Origin Story (there are many others, and they should be easy to find using Amazon's "Customers who bought this also bought" section). I haven't seen anything featuring DC characters (Batman, Superman, Green Lantern, etc.) that are similar to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Boys, August 25, 2010
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
My daughter Is crazy about superheroes and just loved this book. Don't make the mistake of thinking it's just for boys it's perfect for any young reader. I only wish they had included Wonder Woman like the Comic does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 31, 2009
By 
S. Feldman (Virginia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
We love this book, has all your popular DC superheroes. Nice to have one at Level 1, most are 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five year old likes it but not his favorite, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
My son likes the lego super friend books better, but this one is okay. One plus with all these books in this series is that he spends a lot of time looking at the pictures by himself. Always nice when little kids pick up books on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for New Readers, April 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
With exciting tales of superheroes, and being a Step 1 reader, my 6-year old could read this one all by himself on his first attempt. He has happily read through it many, many more times, and was excited to add it to his "library." Great book for those interested in Superheroes and are just learning to read on a K-1 reading level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Toddlers Learning To Read, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
I babysit a 3 year old, who has always been a fan of books, but has now started trying to read them on his own for the first time "to see what Batman is up to". A great success for fans of the DC superheros at this age who are either learning the ABC's or starting to pick up word recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four year old likes it., March 10, 2010
This review is from: Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
My four year old son asks me to read this to him quite a bit. He loves super heroes. It will be good to have when he is able to start reading himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading)
Super Friends: Flying High (DC Super Friends) (Step into Reading) by Nick Eliopulos (Paperback - May 27, 2008)
$3.99 $2.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.