Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much awesome in one book
If you like flow charts, bar graphs and Venn Diagrams, and recursive charts of charts, and comics and satires of comics, and publishing information about comics, this book is for you! Or if you just plain old like superheroes and books, this book is for you. It was for us!
Published 9 months ago by Ruth Abrams

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for an awesome book, but three because Kindle version is low quality!
Updated review - since my original review the ebook version of this has been updated. Here are my comments in the form of an email to Tim Leong, the author on the update:

OK - so the update is in. It comes in at about 60 MB. I've come to realize that you probably have little to no control over this, you're probably not seeing the ebook before it goes live,...
Published 11 months ago by Robert Usdin


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for an awesome book, but three because Kindle version is low quality!, August 6, 2013
By 
Robert Usdin (Hamilton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Updated review - since my original review the ebook version of this has been updated. Here are my comments in the form of an email to Tim Leong, the author on the update:

OK - so the update is in. It comes in at about 60 MB. I've come to realize that you probably have little to no control over this, you're probably not seeing the ebook before it goes live, so this really isn't your fault. I don't want to sound like a whiner, sour grapes, all that. But I have to be honest with you about this: it is somewhat better - but will still disappoint. The images are now clear enough to read all the text when zooming in. They're still not beautiful by any means like the book, but they are at least functional now.

One thing that is now wrong with it is that all the two page spreads are split into TWO PAGES. So you can zoom in - but if you want to say follow a timeline view over two pages - you have to zoom out - then zoom in on the next page - and then hopefully find your place and pick it up.

So listen - the book is functional. But when I look at magazines that I get on the iPad - even they are far better than this. Entertainment weekly - with less pages - is 100+ megs per issue. Wired is 300 meg an issue. Comics I buy on Comixology can be anywhere from 25-100 meg an issue. So - they've increased the file size to make the images in the book just functionally readable, and that's it. Maybe I just expected too much from this ebook.

Here's where I approach this from: who is the target audience? It's mostly comic book fans, and maybe a few graphic designers and infographics folks. When they get this book - if they get the electronic version - they EXPECT a large file - and heck - they'd probably rather take the large file for the quality. But it seems like Chronicle is probably saying "OK - let's keep the file size small, AND the quality just good enough - so if they REALLY like it - they'll buy the physical version." To me - they want the ebook to be available to say it's there. They don't really seem to care all that much (in my opinion). But we have these devices that display things so beautifully now - I don't know why they wouldn't WANT to have something impressive to show off - "hey look at this book on the iPad - now THIS - THIS is where ebooks can go!"

I'm sure it's frustrating for you to hear this. I really do appreciate that you kept after things with them. I'm going to give up at this point, because I don't think Chronicle gets it. If they did - they would have come out with a 300-400 MB book and not split the two page spreads. Clearly, they do not care about the ebook.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:

Love this book.

However Kindle app users beware - the images in the Kindle version are very low quality. Considering that you will - even on a 10 inch iPad like I have - be zooming in to see the text in the images, this makes the Kindle edition extremely flawed. As an example - on the section on the multiple earths, when zoomed in the image is so poor you can't see the numbers on many of the earths. This kind of thing is present on many of the pages. Unless the quality of the images is increased, I recommend getting the print version instead. I'm hugely disappointed in the Kindle implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, but flawed Kindle version, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This looks like a really cool book. And I'm sure it is. But I opted for the Kindle version, and it doesn't support any sort of zoom function. So you look at pretty pages, but can't read any of the text.

I'd suggest if you're interested in buying this book, buy the old-fashioned paper copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much awesome in one book, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
If you like flow charts, bar graphs and Venn Diagrams, and recursive charts of charts, and comics and satires of comics, and publishing information about comics, this book is for you! Or if you just plain old like superheroes and books, this book is for you. It was for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for your inner comic geek but study it for the graphics, September 18, 2013
By 
D. Kittrell (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Great fun for both comic fans and graphic artists. Some charts are a bit esoteric (to be expected given the subject matter). The thematic color choices on many diagrams are what I find most interesting (sometimes more so than the information content). The connection between color and good/bad/neutral allegiance in comics has been explored before but seldom in so many ways and with such interesting styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative, comical (get it?) and a feast for the eyes, July 17, 2013
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Honestly, I'm not a comic book aficionado. I like the movies, but never read the comic books themselves. Even so, Super Graphic is a really entertaining look at the wide world of comics. The variety of angles and lenses with which Tim Leong has chosen to view comics is astounding - from the different pizza combinations of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, to the travels of Tin Tin, to Stan Lee's favorite nicknames. He takes infographics to another level, as 196 pages is going to have plenty more to please the eye than your usual bar graph and flow chart. This is big data visualized in a fun and informative way. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing use of infographics, July 16, 2013
By 
E. Ahn (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
What an amazing, innovative and unique way of using infographics to tell stories about your favorite comics. Not only a joy to just page through, but also a totally rewarding experience digging deeper into the stories being told. Comic fans, design fans, and just fans of cool books should pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Gave it to a friend as a gift and he loved it. Very detailed, high quality pages. Very satisfied. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Infographics!, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
If youlike minimal graphic design and infographics, u must buy this book. Just amazing book, right to the point and well printed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Resource for Design/Comic nerds, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
This book is a must-buy for anyone who's interests intersect at design and comics. My wife bought one for the coffee table and it has sparked a couple great conversations with our like-minded friends. I'll probably be buying a couple more for gifts this holiday season. Such a unique and cool book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Funny, and Full of More Brilliance Than Your Retinas Can Handle, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Like comics? Get this book. Like well-designed infographics? Get this book. Don't like either of those things? Get this book anyway, you might learn something. Seriously, Tim Leong's 'Super Graphic' provides a whole new way to look at comics, for hardcore fans and n00bs alike. Full of style and brilliant insights. Read it cover-to-cover then leave it on your coffee table - your guests will think you're smart and super-hip.

Full Disclosure: I'm lucky enough to call Tim a friend, but I'd still think this book was awesome even if he was a total stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe
Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe by Tim Leong (Paperback - July 16, 2013)
$18.95 $11.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.