Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Go Wrong With This One
Every since the original Nintendo came out, Super Mario Brothers has been a favorite game for many people. The sequels were just a popular, just as much time wasters, and just as much fun.
When Nintendo released their new, better system (which is what, two or three generations old now), they knew they'd have to release these modern classics to convince people to...
Published on November 25, 2003 by Mark Baker

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars never buy a used game!
This game worked for all of a day! This is one of my favorite games and I was excited to play it but the plain was so short lived.
Published 4 months ago by Julles


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Go Wrong With This One, November 25, 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
Every since the original Nintendo came out, Super Mario Brothers has been a favorite game for many people. The sequels were just a popular, just as much time wasters, and just as much fun.
When Nintendo released their new, better system (which is what, two or three generations old now), they knew they'd have to release these modern classics to convince people to upgrade. But they were smart about it. Instead of releasing them for the Super Nintendo as separate games, making people balk, they took advantage of the better format and released them all on one cartridge, with better graphics to boot. To sweeten the deal, they included "The Lost Levels," a new, harder version of the original Super Mario Bros. not previously available in the states. And they included the ability to save your game or continue on that level when you die, something I greatly missed in the originals.
Ok, I confess, I've never actually beaten any of these games in spite of the combined years I've had them for the original and Super Nintendo's. But I have had loads of fun over the years playing these games. And with four great games on one cartridge, how can you possibly go wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 GAMES OF MARIO!!!!, July 10, 2001
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
This game is the best game in my Nes series next to Donkey Kong(1994).You can play Super Mario Bros.(#1),Super Mario Bros.2,Super Mario Bros.3,and The Lost Levels(#4).This game is better than the Nintendo editions since they have better graphics and you can save games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Power!, April 29, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
If you don't already own this game then you should hurry up andfind it somewhere because it's too good a game to miss.I should know.Let me tell you a bit about this game.
The game consists of four levels on a blue background which you shouldn't really pay attention to.You should pay attention to the names of them so you can go to school and brag about how far you've gotten in the cool Mario game when you havn't done anything at all.Anyway the names are:Mario Bros.1,Mario Bros.2,Mario Bros. 3 and the lost levels.It's really highly advanced isn't it?Now onto Mario Bros.1!
No.1 lets you control Mario.You ran along a nice laid path hopping on enemies and leaping over gaps.You can get your Mushrooms to make Mario bigger and flowers to let him shoot fire.With one baby tiny detail.If you get a game over you restart at level 1-1.And if you were at level oh say 3-1 or 4-1 then start howling.But being such good players you shouldn't really get a game over.Is it like the old game?I don't know.
Mario 2 is somewhat differant than 1.See you can controle Mario.Then theres Luigi Marios green dressed brother.Princess the blonde girl in a pink dress.And toad a little guy in a BIG hat.Chose one of these brave characters and make them collect cherries.Throw turtle shells,Vegies and enemies at your enemys.Also there are door creating potions and 'shrooms' that make you bigger.Oh and a POW that knocks every enemy of the screen.It's all high-tech stuff.

Mario 3 is very high-tech.Control Mario through a place where you can move from one level to another.Or one castle to another.Or one Mushroom house with a hidden object inside to another.Plus theres some COOL new stuff to collect.Feathers and P-feathers make him fly,mushrooms make him bigger,stars make him invisible for a while,flowers make him shoot,boxes play a lullubye,frogs make him hop,clouds let him skip levels and whistels let hi...oops thats Highly Classifyed Information.
All I can say is that if you use them you can travel.Frequent Flier Miles if you find lots.
Now the Lost Levels are a bit tricky.Also they've never been on any other game before and they won't be in the future.One game only!Any way it's sortof like 1 only when you get a game over you don't start at level 1 again.A good thing too because it took me ages to complete the last stage which is level 4-D!The castels from number 4-8 are a bit differant but I like the lightning!
This was one of the first games I got and I loved it alot.I highly recomend it.MARIO POWER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Old School! (That's a good thing!), July 17, 2003
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
I used to love this game when I was a little kid! It's cool because it is actually 4 games on one cartridge! Super Mario Bros., Mario Bros. 2, Mario Bros. 3, and Lost Levels. The best mario is still Super Marioworld though(sold on a separate cartridge.) There isn't much else to say, except these were the good mario games before they came out with the less-than-exceptional N64 ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Classic Games & A New Addition, January 4, 2001
By 
"jlinhrst" (Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
Super Mario All-Stars can be summed up simply as this: A great revamping effort done by Nintendo that combines the first three Super Mario games as well as a new game, titled The Lost Levels, that had previously only been released in Japan. Super Mario All-Stars is a great addition to an SNES collection, considering you were a fan of the Super Mario series the first time around. The save feature comes in handy at times, giving you four slots per game in which to save your progress. A great play for a real Super Mario fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Mario games in one! Mama-mia!, November 18, 2004
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
Super Mario All-Stars has 4 great NES Mario games, along with enhanced graphics, sound, music, and an added save feature! The games are:

Super Mario Bros: The one that started it all! This game is just plain fun!

Super Mario Bros. 2: Japan didn't want to release the real Mario 2 in America, because they thought it would be too hard for us! So they put a Japan-only game named, "Doki Doki Panic" and added Mario characters to it. Although it's the oddball of the series, it is pretty fun!

Super Mario Bros: The Lost Levels: The REAL SMB2. This game is HARD! It's like SMB with some neat twists! You can be Mario or Luigi. Mario has medicore jumping power, but great traction. Luigi has great jumping power, but mediocre traction.

Super Mario Bros 3: Although not my favorite Mario game, [I prefer SMW] this is the best of the four. Mario has some cool powerups, tons of levels, and new challanges!

Got an SNES? Then get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good game, November 26, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
This is a good collection of NES remakes for the super nintendo. The graphics are much better than the nes version. You also have the ability to save your games also which is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's-a Super Mario, and it's-a Super Fun!, February 21, 2001
By 
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
It's four great games from the NES Super Mario Bros. series given a 16-bit facelift. The best of the bunch? I'd have to say Super Mario 3 since it was the biggest SMB game (until Super Mario World came out). And the REAL Super Mario Bros. 2 FINALLY comes to the SNES! The only drawback is the omission of the "Minus World" bug from the original Super Mario Bros. game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEWEL!!!!, September 4, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
i bought from this action a couple weeks ago and im amazed dude just trust me on this one it rules!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mandatory addition for any SNES library, November 9, 2003
This review is from: Super Mario All Stars (Video Game)
Super Mario All-Stars(1994). A revamped collection of the first three Super Mario NES games, plus a Mario game that was never released in the U.S. until now.
Just this past summer, I finally bought a SNES and started collecting all sorts of games for it. I guess you could say that I was more of a Sega Genesis gamer back in the 16-bit era, but since then I've seen that both systems bear their own strengths and redeeming qualities. One of the games that should be bought first for the SNES is Super Mario All-Stars, a greatest hits collection of the NES Mario games with revamped graphics and sound. How does it fare? Let's see:
POSITIVES:
-Like I said before, there are 4 games with around 100+ levels combined which makes this game a bargain of a deal. That's a lot of play time for anyone who wants it.
-Now you have the ability to save each game at each world. To those who normally have a hard time with Mario games, this feature helps gamers get accomodated with each of the different games.
-The graphics have been revamped to look spectacular. Now there are scrolling backgrounds and all the characters and enemies look better than ever.
-Even with the revamped look, every aspect of each game remains intact, from the levels to the placement of coins and enemies. The difficulty is also the same.
-Lost Levels (originally the Japanese SMB2) is a welcome addition, and proves to be a great harder extention of the original SMB game.
NEGATIVES:
-Although the graphics upgrade is nice, the new sound and music here are plain bad. The SNES has much better examples of great music quality, and the music here just sounds bland. Not downright horrible, but compared to the NES original music, it's quite a letdown. As A. Paul Melin stated, the sound effects are also quite dumbed down.
-By including the save system, some of the challenge factor is lost in the games.
-I agree, I would have rather had the NES originals compiled here as opposed to the newer versions. There were some unneccesary additions to some of the games, such as the background "Bonus" icon in the underground parts of the first game.
-As it was stated elsewhere, if you already own and beaten each of the first three Mario NES games, there is very little else new that you will find other than the Lost Levels game.
THE BOTTOM LINE:
If you've never played the first three Mario games and you only have a SNES, make every effort to hunt down this great collection. It's got a few flaws, but otherwise it works well. They offer plenty of playtime to the average gamer, and it makes for an excellent addition to any SNES library. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42e9e1c)

This product

Super Mario All Stars
Super Mario All Stars by For Super Nintendo (Super Nintendo)
$289.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.